We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with what we found.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #86 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We found a comfortable, quiet, well-appointed room for two. This hotel is centrally located (just a few blocks from the White House and other sights) with a helpful staff. The restaurant was fine for dinner and breakfast, as well as a place to enjoy an early evening cocktail. We couldn't be happier with our stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMadison, Public Relations Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2011

Thanks for your comments, we really do appreciate them. We hope that you can make it back soon once our new restaurant, the Federalist, opens this fall (2011).

Sincerely,

Chris Gieckel
Director of Public Relations
The Madison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,027 - 2,033 of 2,303 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2011

I got two rooms last-minute during a recent weekend, one for me and wife, and one for my father-in-law who was visiting from Japan and had never been to DC before. We all loved the location, which was four blocks from the White House - and perhaps even more importantly, two blocks from a Starbucks and CVS. We were impressed by the service, which is not easy to do for Japanese people considering how their nation has raised customer service to an art - but when my father-in-law called down for a toothbrush and toothpaste (as those amenities are provided in all Japanese hotels but not American hotels so he didn't know to pack them), a staff person was at his door in literally 3 minutes with the complementary items, which was much appreciated. All our interaction with the staff was pleasant and helpful. They also made a really excellent restaurant recommendation.

And while this will not be of relevance to most travelers, we were able to book our rooms on the top (15th) floor and they were excellent: spacious rooms, tastefully appointed, with ample living-room space, nice TVs, and best of all, HUGE balconies with a view of the Washington Monument.

If location and friendly service are important priorities for you, I recommend this hotel. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: 1501 and 1511 had large balconies with a table and 2 chairs on them, it was nice to be able to step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PwopyChulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMadison, Public Relations Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2011

Thank you for your very kind review of the Madison. We're so happy to hear that your stay went well. It really is such a compliment that you're ranking our service right up there with a Japanese hotel. That's very exciting to share this news with our staff.

As for the 15th floor, that's one of our little known secrets at this property. All of our rooms on the exterior side of the hotel on that floor have a large terrace with table and chairs. Some of the other attractions you can see include: The Jefferson Memorial, the Washington National Cathedral, and the Basilica of the Shrine of the Immaculate Conception @ Catholic University.

On behlaf of the staff at the Madison, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Chris Gieckel
Director of Public Relations
The Madison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Booked w points and was to be a 4.5 star hotel-it was the smallest we have ever stayed in-no room at all to move-shower handle cut my finger -not a pleasant stay w a 2 yr old

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RepRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMadison, Public Relations Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Thanks for your feedback on the Madison. We appreciate your honesty. Our rooms are typical of the average size that you will find in Washington DC. They range in size from 215 sq. ft. up to 1,700 sq. ft. for our penthouse room. It's unfortunate that you felt cramped during your visit, especially while traveling with a toddler. Should you choose to stay with us again, I might suggest upgrading your room to a luxury or grand category for a nominal fee. These rooms have at least 50-100 sq. ft. of additional space compared to our standard rooms.

I would also like to point out that booking travel with credit card points has its values and limitations. While you are rewarded with travel, often credit card agents are unfamiliar with individual hotel properties or even room types, limiting their ability to find a room that’s best suited for you. For the most accurate information about a property, always visit their website or call the reservations department to confirm room types and sizes. At an independent property like the Madison, the reservation department is housed within the hotel, letting them share the most knowledge about the product.

As for cutting your finger on the shower handle, I really can’t explain that. It seems like an odd occurrence that we haven’t experienced before. I sincerely apologize and will have our maintenance team inspect all shower handles for sharp edges and replace them immediately.

Kind regards,

Chris Gieckel
Director of Public Relations
The Madison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

This was a last minute booking for a last minute trip. I booked an anonymous 4 ½ star at an attractive rate on Hotwire and was delighted to find it was the Madison. This is a signature Washington Hotel with a fine reputation. It also is a hotel of historic significance and/or notoriety -- it served as the venue for meetings of the neoconservative “Madison Group” in the 1980s.

Location: Convenient to the White House, Farragut Square, K Street lobbies, and Massachusetts Avenue think tanks. A five block stroll to Farragut North Metro.

Room: Moderately large, very well furnished, and immaculate, with normal accessories including comfortable robe, large flat screen, and decent coffee. One quibble – curtains did not block light or assure privacy. Well appointed public areas.

Service: Front desk staff were efficient and cordial. While waiting in the lobby, I overhead the concierge offering excellent advice on dining options, attractions and transportation to guests unfamiliar with Washington.

Hint on Rates: The Hotwire rate for the Madison was $100 less than a Marriott Wardman convention rate, $50 less than the Washington Hilton and Beacon, and the same as the very unappealing Harrington Hotel. Out of curiosity, I went online later on the same day. The Madison website was offering rooms at a bit less than the Hotwire rate and the Marriott Wardman website offering rooms at $80 less than their “discounted” convention rate. Morals of the story: Compare rates from hotel websites as well as prepays like Hotwire and Priceline. Do not assume that discounted convention rates are a good buy.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aversetospam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMadison, Public Relations Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Thanks for your kind and extensive response on TripAdvisor. It really does touch on a lot of points that we try to get across to our guests - impeccable service, comfortable rooms, and a great location.

With regards to your one quibble, I just want to be sure you were aware of the secondary curtins behind the see-through ones. If extended across the windows, these will definitely ensure privacy and darkness while you sleep.

On behalf of the Madison staff, I would like to thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return visit in the near-future.

Sincerely,
Chris Gieckel
Director of Public Relations
The Madison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

The Madison is a comfortably-sized urban hotel with the elegance and charm that "civility" required before Mac-hotels became the accepted norm...A door man who (usually) opens the door for you, a gracious, well-lighted lobby with comfortable conversation areas, generally punctual elevator service and attractive hall ways. In October, 2011, construction on the hotel restaurant was apparent, but not disruptive. the room was fresh, generously-sized and nicely appointed.

Room Tip: You may want to stay away from the street sides (15th and M, NW) but we had no problem with street n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We had such a wonderful weekend! Attentative staff, very friendly and quick to fix a billing mistake. We were pleasently pleased to be upgraded to a Penthouse room after correcting the billing mistake. The staff was very friendly and our room was very clean.

Great location and 2 blocks from Lincoln, where we had a great small dishes dinner and unique drinks.

There was expensive parking next door costly wifi charges, but we were not in our room much and used our smart phones for GPS or asked hotel staff for reccomendations.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMadison, Public Relations Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2011

Thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear about the billing error but very pleased that it was quickly resolved to your satisfaction. With regards to the internet, the Madison is exploring changes to the fee structure that should be rolled out shortly.

I'm glad you liked Lincoln too. It's been a great addition to our neighborhood. Did you check out the floor while you were there - it's made of pennies.

On behlaf of The Madison's staff, we look forward to welcoming you back when we complete our multi-faceted renovation for this coming spring.

Sincerely,
Chris Gieckel
Director of Public Relations
The Madison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Great location. Excellent staff and service. Expensive parking and wifi charges. Good deal through Priceline.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_beez_md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Darcy Washington DC, Curio C...
#101 of 142 in Washington DC
192 reviews
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#28 of 142 in Washington DC
1,725 reviews
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#96 of 142 in Washington DC
3,185 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701 (Formerly Loews Madison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $120 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated retreat with historic charm, The Madison, a Hilton Hotel is just steps from K Street, and only blocks from the White House, the city’s convention center and two Metro stations. Walk to Dupont Circle and McPherson Square. This heart-of-downtown location makes the hotel convenient for sightseeing, conferences and business. We are five miles from Washington National Airport. Our service-centered hotel boasts PostScript Restaurant and Lounge, fabulous event space for up to 500, a sauna and steam room in the health club, and some suites with balconies. We are also family- and pet-friendly. Each guest room, suite and accessible accommodation has free WiFi, a flat-screen TV and comfy bathrobe. On higher floors, our suites offer free premium-plus WiFi, a coffeemaker and a sofa bed in the living area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing