We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #87 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Great Location, within walking distance to the Metro. I was a bit nervous about the hotel after reading reviews, however much to my suprise I could not have been happier with the accomodations. The room was very clean, beds and linen very comfortable. The large bathroom was a plus. I received a great deal through priceline, and again after reading reviews I anticipated getting a room that was right next to the elevator and a lovely view of the roof, which is exactly what our room was. We will definently consider the Madison for future trips to DC, the staff is exceptionally friendly.

The only negatives are the parking is 40$ per night, and the breakfast in the hotel is a little pricey. Eat across the street at the the little cafe, much cheaper and great selection

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikkajer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,097 - 2,103 of 2,347 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2011

We booked through Orbitz and wanted to indulge a little so we selected this hotel which was a little upscale and expensive.
Nevertheless, it was at a good location since we wanted to go to the National Mall, and watched the fireworks on 4th of July without having to take the Metro when it was too crowded. Also, we wanted to go to Dupont Circle for some food...so this place turned out really good.
It's a little walking distance to the nearest Metro station but it was walkable...which brought us to other places, such as the zoo and the Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception.

Room Tip: Clean, nice, and comfy beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lil_cat_meow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

I stayed at the Madison hotel the weekend of July 31st with my sister and her friend in a huge suite. Staff was curteous, hotel was immaculate and the location was prime. Two blocks from red line and within walking distance to all the museums, white house and washington monument. For night life, there are plenty of pubs, clubs and dupont circle around the corner. The only observation was the interior decorating could be upgraded, which apparently was already in the process so hoping to visit when this is complete.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimro18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

The service was great from start to finish! The rooms were clean, extremely comfortable, and I got an excellent night's sleep. I will definitely be back to stay in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieS87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The staff at Madison were so nice and helpful. The beds were quite comfy making a good nights sleep. The hotel was quiet. We had breakfast (buffet) and it was quite delicious. The only thing I was disappointed in was the rooms cleanliness......I liked the hotel but probably won't stay their again because of that. : { .....too bad because this hotel would be an awesome hotel if their standard of cleanliness was like their standard of customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueheeler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Overall a pleasant stay. Room comfy and well equipped. Loved the iPod radio and charge! This is a hotel that understands that the little things matter.

It's a little busy with business folk but they allow dogs to stay and is such a friendly place.

The gym is awful for those who train seriously. I mean, come on Madison just a few more bits, another bench, hamstring machine or dip bar....

Overall a great stay. We enjoyed Washington from this hotel and loved the free wine in the evening. Bonus

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrPThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This was such a plush hotel...Beautiful and some homey...The beds and linens were so awesome. The location was fabulous so close to the White House and close to the metro. Every trip back to DC we will stay here. 1 thing, the breakfast was not the best and was very expensive. Eat elsewhere!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tazzy310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Darcy Washington DC, Curio C...
#88 of 141 in Washington DC
247 reviews
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#99 of 141 in Washington DC
3,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,380 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,765 reviews
Hamilton Hotel Washington DC
#57 of 141 in Washington DC
2,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701 (Formerly Loews Madison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#41 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $115 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated retreat with historic charm, The Madison, a Hilton Hotel is just steps from K Street, and only blocks from the White House, the city’s convention center and two Metro stations. Walk to Dupont Circle and McPherson Square. This heart-of-downtown location makes the hotel convenient for sightseeing, conferences and business. We are five miles from Washington National Airport. Our service-centered hotel boasts PostScript Restaurant and Lounge, fabulous event space for up to 500, a sauna and steam room in the health club, and some suites with balconies. We are also family- and pet-friendly. Each guest room, suite and accessible accommodation has free WiFi, a flat-screen TV and comfy bathrobe. On higher floors, our suites offer free premium-plus WiFi, a coffeemaker and a sofa bed in the living area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing