We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Excellent Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #73 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Great Location and Excellent Service!”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

What stood out for me at this hotel was the great service & personal, professional staff. I felt taken care of from when we first entered the building to when we left. The rooms were very nice, we were in a large room with a balcony outside. The location was very convenient to things, a few blocks from the white house and close to some good restaurants and shops. Overall a great stay and we will be back next time we are in DC!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellemn73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,077
    701
    240
    93
    62
See reviews for
535
544
78
700
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

What a nice experience. My wife and I went to DC for a wedding and also had other family in the hotel. From the first, we were struck with the warm greeting from the staff. The overall feel of the hotel is elegant without being stuffy.
During our stay most of the other guests appeared to be from a political convention that was taking place. So I wondered if we might be out of place traveling with a toddler. But we felt quite welcome and were given some great suggestions of places nearby for a nice meal. As infrequent visitors to DC, it was fun to overhear a the parting words between a senator and a group of people who were White House staff (I didn't recognize anyone).
I'd say this was a great location for sight-seeing-- the White House and Capitol Mall are walkable if you're in the mood. I'd stay there again next time I'm in DC.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbnixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I stayed at this hotel on my first business trip to Washington. I stayed just one night. The hotel turned out to be a good choice. The room was very spacious and clean. The breakfast was excellent. The staff very helpful and friendly and overall I was very satisfied.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2323Smiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Great hotel in the DC area! Conveniently located near White House and McPherson Square metro station. Close walk to Dupont Circle nightlife and restaurants. Very friendly staff! Would definitely recommend this hotel to all!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cageking1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2011

My brother got married in the area and we extended out trip by a day and stayed at the Madison Hotel. We just loved it. We stayed in a very spacious corner room. The staff was very curtious and helpful offering very useful information before we asked for it. The amenities were lovely. The hotel is centrally located to great restaurants, the White House and Musuems. I plan to stay again next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csmtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The wifey and I spent a week in DC and upon looking for a hotel that was central to the White House and other attractions; we were having issues finding one that was affordable. The Madison had a special and we were unsure to book based off its feedback. But after not finding anything that looked nice, we gave them a try and they delivered. Staff was great; room was clean and typical size. Just four blocks from the White House, three from the metro. It has a good restaurant and plenty of places to eat nearby. CVS very close for water and room snacks. Wi-Fi is not free up in the room but is in the lobby so we’d have a drink and check emails, book/plan excursions. We were really happy with our stay and the price compared to everything else we found in the same area. Would recommend!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfreund72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We where just four blocks from the White House and the Metro.
Hotel was clean, comfortable and well kept. The restaurant recommendation where great. We ate at Lincoln's and the Comissary - loved them both.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theyasinefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,611 reviews
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#90 of 141 in Washington DC
898 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#37 of 141 in Washington DC
404 reviews
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#59 of 141 in Washington DC
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing