We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Boutique”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Jefferson, Washington DC
Ranked #5 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Five Star Boutique”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I came back to the Jefferson for our second time. The rooms are beautiful with a large bathroom with a soaking tub and separate shower. The service is top notch. There are so many people here to respond for such a small property. Also, a great location to walk to do many different areas.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NG1058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    112
    36
    12
    7
See reviews for
224
500
58
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stanmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2014

The most impressive aspect was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The hotel was spotlessly clean and so comfortable. A wonderful oasis to return to after touring all day. I would not look for another hotel in Washington.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Roy A,

I’m so pleased that you chose to stay at The Jefferson during your visit to Washington, DC. I will be sure to pass along your kind words about the friendliness of our staff!
Should you find yourself in the states again, we hope to welcome you back to The Jefferson!

Sincerely,

David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

I can't remember if I reviewed this hotel before. My son is going to George Mason University and I will be coming back, over and over.

Upon arriving? We were remembered from our last visit by the doorman. (Okay, I'm a good tipper) The staff is gracious, gentile- as one would expect from the south- and professional.

The room is gorgeous. Nice size, and due to our revisit, we were upgraded. Luxurious linens, towels, and old style furniture with a modern twist. I love the suit hanger in the room. And there is a butler on demand. A butler. It is the south. Okay, I'm a little uncomfortable with a butler, but it is a nice option.

Overall, this is a great hotel, not crazy expensive like the Ritz or 4 Seasons, and while I love staying at those places? I find this hotel to be all the experience of those and far more comfortable and personal.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sgwhitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Was impressed by the customer service experience here. Everyone from the butler(Abdul) great job to the restaurant stuff was on point when it came to customer service. I stayed in a small room 320 sq ft but i planned on been out touring most of the day and using the hotel as a resting point...if i had known how reasonably priced their food was i would have had dinner every night. The place is 7 blocks from a big bus stop-Red line and 4 blocks from the Yellow line. Its also 7 blocks from the white house, and eat at the Peruvian place Las Canteras in Adams Morgan neighborhood their Yuca and Mahi mahi is to die for. he grilled fish at the hotel restuarant is pretty good to.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Supu N,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay at The Jefferson. I’m pleased that you had a positive experience with our staff and that you received impressive customer service. I will be sure to pass along your comments to Abdul and our restaurant staff!
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Connecticut 06027
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

My stay at the Jefferson was just about perfect...from Ahmed to Karen to Frank; everybody treated me like I belonged there! So, my point is: first class service with NO attitude or snobbishness. Lovely outdoor patio as well.

Also, by far the most comfortable hotel bed ever...and what a beautiful room, slippers, robe...and they even pressed my slacks - for free. Overall, I would not stay anywhere else in DC. The Jefferson is spotless with the nice touches one would and should expect.

Room Tip: My room was next to the elevators - but I never heard them. My advise is to speak with the kind folk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Matthew R,

I’m so glad that you were able to take advantage of some of our complementary amenities including our free garment pressing during your stay with us. I will also pass along your flattering words to the team!
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western qld
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We recently had two nights at the Jefferson and it was an amazing experience from the early morning check in to our departure. It has a wonderful old world feeling with beautiful period decor. The amazing huge bath tub was a delight. Staff were very welcoming and efficient and nothing was too much trouble for them.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyC46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

The Jefferson is gorgeous. Everything is done to a T. All the staff are very courteous. The rooms are classic. We had a room with 2 queen beds for the four of us, and it was quite spacious. The washroom was perhaps the best part of the room, adorned in marble, with a TV in the mirror, nice robes and slippers. One little criticism, the complimentary morning coffee was very strong and perhaps not always fresh, and although the mini muffins were a super nice touch, they would always run out and not get replaced. Overall, we loved our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlo9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Carlo9999,

I appreciate your comments regarding you recent stay at The Jefferson, DC and am pleased to read that you and your family had a memorable stay. Thank you for your comments regarding the complimentary morning coffee and muffins in the lobby; I will be sure to follow up with the food and beverage department to make sure this is more closely monitored.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

David Bueno
Hotel Manager
Dbueno@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#1 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,125 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
#6 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson, Washington DC

Property: The Jefferson, Washington DC
Address: 1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Jefferson, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Jefferson, Washington's second most prestigious address. Distinguished, sophisticated and discreet, this 99-room luxury boutique hotel exemplifies all that its namesake, Thomas Jefferson, held dear -intricately thought-out design, twenty elegantly appointed suites, the most modern amenities including a petite spa, culinary excellence and exceptional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Jefferson, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jefferson, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Jefferson Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing