We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Barely in the Luxury Category” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Jefferson, Washington DC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Jefferson, Washington DC
Ranked #4 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just Barely in the Luxury Category”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Location of this hotel is excellent for seeing the major sites of Washington DC and the building does have great character being built in 1923. The hotel was renovated in the last 5 years, and the suite was quite spacious, but the bed is horrible. About as comfortable as a bed from 1923. Quill, the hotel bar, was lively at night but might of had something to do with the time of year. It looked like a lot of late corporate Christmas parties. Also, the food at the hotel's multiple restaurants comes out of one kitchen, so it's pretty much the same across the board and really isn't anything special. The one thing to beware of is the terrible concierge. If you are looking to get a recommendation for a restaurant, trust me, use the reviews on Trip Advisor, it will do a much better job of making suggestions. We left every restaurant they booked for us completely disappointed and found their knowledge of local attractions was pitiful. Overall, comparing the price of a suite ($779 per night + 14% tax) with what you got, I would say it's acceptable, but not great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlobalLuxuryTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear GlobalLuxuryTravel,

I appreciate you taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. While I am happy to read that you enjoyed our location and found it convenient, I was disappointed to read that there were elements of your stay that did not meet your expectations. I apologize that you found our beds to be uncomfortable as they are all rather new. I was also disappointed to read that you did not find our menus to be special. We do have different menus for all of our outlets and while some of the dishes are similar in multiple outlets, due to the fact that we are a small, 96 room property and do have a smaller kitchen than other properties, most of the dishes are unique to each. I will be sure to follow up with the concierge team regarding their restaurant recommendations.

I do hope that if you are in Washington, DC again, you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

David Bueno
Hotel Manager
Dbueno@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    107
    37
    11
    7
See reviews for
219
489
59
202
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

This property and accommodations rival any luxury hotel anywhere and it beats it. Why? Welcoming service, historic charm and modern technology. From the understated exterior, on to the room we stayed in, we experienced refinement not stuffiness, just elegance and impeccable appointments with manners. The international staff is most welcoming with a friendly smile and hospitality at the ready. Loved the location, loved the amenities. I would highly recommend it to the discerning traveler looking for charm, comfort, cleanliness, elegance, luxury and location equipped with all the required modern touches and a pleasant genuine smile and hospitable service from its staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Maria B,

Such kind words for The Jefferson, thank you! I am happy that you had a positive stay with us and that you enjoyed all of our amenities and received a level of hospitality that exceeded your expectations. I will be sure to pass along your kind words about our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back, should you find yourself in Washington, DC again.

Sincerely,

David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

I cannot give a higher endorsement for service and elegance. The facility is perfect and the staff simply outstanding. I brought my finance with me for a working weekend to squeeze a little celebration of our engagement and it was perfect. The concierge was exceptionally helpful for requests. A standout moment was when we had a drink before heading out to dinner. The engaging young lady in the bar discovered we were recently engaged, offered to call ahead to the restaurant to which we were heading, and when we arrived there was a special, celebratory menu printed for us. When we returned, a bottle of champagne in the room. Loved it.

Room Tip: Entry level rooms are a bit cramped, but the bathroom is spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ande S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights over Thanksgiving 2013, with our 7 year old son. We really liked this hotel.

We tried room service for breakfast, Plume Restaurant and also the more casual bar/restaurant and all were really good. The room felt luxurious, though a little tight with an extra roll-away bed for our son taking up a lot of the spare space (sometimes we had to climb over the bed to get to the bathroom. We also had a view of a brick wall. The ambience of the hotel and great staff made up for the annoyances though. The beds are super comfortable and the concierge organised a couple of lovely restaurants for us.

I really liked this hotel, and we liked the location, and would recommend for couples especially. If staying with kids, maybe ensure you get a larger room.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jones2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear jones2,
I appreciate you positive feedback about your recent stay at The Jefferson. I was happy to read that you and your family felt welcomed and well taken care of while you were in DC, and that you enjoyed all of your dining experiences while on property. I do apologize for the size of the room and the view; as a hotel in the middle of the city, our views are sometimes blocked by other office buildings in the area.

I do hope that should you and your family find yourselves in DC again we can welcome you back!

Sincerely,

David Bueno
Hotel Manager
Dbueno@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

If you are looking for a beautiful hotel to stay in with amazing staff then I would recommend The Jefferson. From the moment you walk into the hotel till the day you check out everything was wonderful. We got a suite and got an amazing deal as they were having a spacial on their suites. The room was very spacious and the two full bathrooms were a pleasant surprise. The room was immaculate upon entry and the twice day housekeeping ensured it stayed that way throughout the week long trip while we were there. We found ourself at the Quill bar for drinks a few nights and lunch - the service and food were both amazing! The staff really goes out of their way to ensure the hotel guests have everything they need and the concierge (Sargent?) and one of the bell man were just so friendly and helpful. I highly recommend staying here and plan to every time I am in DC.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TessieTumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel. Great service, great people, wonderful room. Room service/hotel restaurant is expensive but worth every bite. Car service is available for close trips. The concierge gave great recommendations for close by activities and restaurants. Doormen are always helpful, friendly and available.

Room Tip: I had the smallest room in the hotel. No bathtub but a wonderful, comfortable, cozy room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TX-TraveLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Spent the night at The Jefferson for a quick staycation and absolutely loved it! First and foremost, the service at the hotel is impeccable. From the moment the valet greets you at the car, quickly assisting with your luggage, you know this is a special place. The lobby is small and unassuming- instead of a long counter, you are welcomed to sit at a desk to complete check in, a very quick process.

Truthfully, our Classic Room was a little tight, but for one night, it was more than adequate and very comfortable. The picture on the website is a good representation of the size (though our room differed slightly from the floor plan). Despite the size, it is thoughtfully laid out and there are a lot of amenities: Bose alarm with iPod docking; 2 desks with chairs; valet to hang jacket and slacks; 2 large bottles of water; and very comfortable bed, with down comforters and great pillows. Though we did not use, they have free wi-fi, local and long distance calls, complimentary shoe shine and a garment pressing. It seemed like they thought of all the details. Prior to check in, they contact you for any additional services you may want. We pre-ordered a bottle of champagne and cheese plate and it was waiting for us in the room when we arrived.

The bathroom extremely spacious- lots of room to move around. The large soaking tub (with bath salts), separate shower, separate WC. The roomy shower was terrific- rain shower head with great water pressure. The sink had a magnified make-up mirror and also had enough space for toiletries and hair appliances. Comfortable robes and, yes, slippers (why do so many hotels forget this?). The in-mirror tv was quite the novelty-- we want one! Evening turn down service was impeccable-- linen turn down, refresh towels, waters opened and prepared bedside, slippers at the bed, and of course, chocolates on the pillows.

Sadly, we did not have dinner at The Plume this stay, though it is by far our favorite restaurant in DC. Going there is always outstanding and is the complete dining experience. For this evening, we logged more time in the hotel bar, Quill (before and after dinner)- the bartenders and servers were warm, friendly, and professional. Classic piano bar-- LOVE IT! We also had breakfast the next morning at the Greenhouse-- generous breakfasts with attentive service.

We absolutely would recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L&JinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear L&JinVA,

I was thrilled to read that you had a great visit at The Jefferson during your staycation! I will be sure to pass along your praise for your overall experience in Quill and throughout the hotel.

Since you live close by, we hope to welcome you back soon, perhaps this time for dinner in Plume!


Sincerely,

David Bueno
Hotel Manager
Dbueno@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel
The Watergate Hotel
#8 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson, Washington DC

Property: The Jefferson, Washington DC
Address: 1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Jefferson, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Jefferson, Washington's second most prestigious address. Distinguished, sophisticated and discreet, this 99-room luxury boutique hotel exemplifies all that its namesake, Thomas Jefferson, held dear -intricately thought-out design, twenty elegantly appointed suites, the most modern amenities including a petite spa, culinary excellence and exceptional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Jefferson, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jefferson, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Jefferson Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing