We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three nights at the Jefferson”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Jefferson, Washington DC
Ranked #5 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Three nights at the Jefferson”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Jefferson. The location was good. We like walking but public transport was close if we needed it. Staff were polite and friendly. Our room was lovely and we appreciated the bottles of water, shortbreads and chocolates which were in our room when we arrived back at the end of each day. We didn't eat at the hotel as we like to find our own places to eat when we visit a new city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malioz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    114
    36
    12
    8
See reviews for
227
511
57
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, CA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful and historic: I heard many stories of the famous and infamous who've had meetings and meals here, but I was made to feel just as important. It's an intimate boutique hotel with a lot of class. My room was large with a luxurious bathroom. Loved the light and airy restaurant but the cozy bar with friendly and knowledgeable bartender was the best! I'm already looking for an excuse to go again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breezeedeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2013

we spent a recent weekend in DC for our 10th anniversary. the front staff:unflappable. the concierge: made things happen. the room staff: quality. the restaurant and bar staff: words do not justify.

go and make yourself happy for a weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roberty1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear roberty1945,

Congratulations on your recent anniversary! On behalf of the staff, we are delighted that you chose to spend this special occasion at The Jefferson and that you had a great stay. I will be sure to relay your kind words to the rest of our staff.

Here’s to celebrating many more anniversaries at The Jefferson!

Sincerely,
Robert Jenny
Director of Operations
rjenny@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommended by a number of friends who would know, and they were right. Very friendly and competent staff. Small,l beautifully appointed, yet still very comfortable common areas. Our room facing 16th was light and airy and featured a extremely comfortable king size bed. Quill, the house bar, turned out to be a nice place for an end-of-day cocktail, though we found the service to be very inconsistent -- fantastic one night, indifferent the next -- and the food to be, we'll, indifferent as well. A highlight for us were the many original Thomas Jefferson documents displayed on the walls of the common area. Oh, and one of the great wine lists anywhere. We would definitely return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Steve S,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I was happy to read that you came to us through recommendations from friends and that you were pleased with your room and found our beds comfortable. I will be sure to speak with our Director of Food & Beverage regarding the inconsistencies you found with the service and the food in Quill, as it is our goal to ensure that each visit to our lounge is an enjoyable and pleasant experience.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Sincerely,
Robert Jenny
Director of Operations
rjenny@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Jefferson is the finest hotel we have stayed in in DC, and it is one of the finest hotels we have stayed in anywhere. Our suite was spacious and elegant, but very comfortable. The beds were especially comfortable, and we got a great night's sleep. Every part of the hotel is first-rate, beautifully maintained. And the staff is very friendly, but not intrusive, and very helpful. All requests were fulfilled promptly and fully. The location also is great, in the center of DC, but, as one reviewer noted, approximately three blocks from the nearest Metro stop. All in all, we couldn't have had a better experience, and we definitely will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear David S,

On behalf of the staff at The Jefferson, we'd like to thank you for your kind words about your recent stay with us. I'm glad that you had positive interactions with our staff and that you enjoyed our beds and had a restful sleep.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Robert Jenny
Director of Operations
rjenny@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Elegant in an old style way with high tech touches like television in the bathroom mirror, red light/green light door lights, and a door bell! (I thought it was the phone ringing at first, but the bell man was delivering champagne and chocolate covered strawberries :-). Dining at the Plume was my first 5 star experience - expensive, but totally worth it. The hotel car was almost always available to ferry us minimizing our taxi and metro expense. The concierge (Chris) was so wonderful I felt like he was our BFF by the time we left.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street would be best - lots of honking in DC
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast Kingdom, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel is just the hidden gem that the vast majority of reviews suggest. Clean, quite, elegant, with superb service. Conveniently located near many DC locations and attractions (although a several block walk to the nearest Metro stations). The room was spacious, immaculately clean, and opulent feeling, with a nice large modern bathroom. Very quiet property too, with a small, boutique like feel, which is a wonderful change from the mega hotels that are so common today. Staff are equally impressive, with their customer service and attention to detail. You really won't go wrong with The Jefferson.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank McBragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Tomas J,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at The Jefferson. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff to be professional and detail oriented.

On behalf everyone at The Jefferson, we look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Robert Jenny
Director of Operations
rjenny@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
1,252 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
338 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 141 in Washington DC
1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson, Washington DC

Property: The Jefferson, Washington DC
Address: 1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Jefferson, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Jefferson, Washington's second most prestigious address. Distinguished, sophisticated and discreet, this 99-room luxury boutique hotel exemplifies all that its namesake, Thomas Jefferson, held dear -intricately thought-out design, twenty elegantly appointed suites, the most modern amenities including a petite spa, culinary excellence and exceptional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Jefferson, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jefferson, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Jefferson Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing