We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay at DC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Jefferson, Washington DC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Jefferson, Washington DC
Ranked #4 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Ca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect stay at DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed at the Jefferson 3 nights, and it was perfection! The hotel is very elegant, old style. The library with green velvet sofas makes you feel like you are on "gone with the wind" movie :)
The piano bar has fantastic drinks and the same vibe.
The room and bathroom were good size and equally elegant as the common areas and the beds were so comfortable!
I can't say enough about the staff. Everyone, front desk, doormen, bar staff, driver, and concierge were nice, friendly, super helpful, and made us feel special. Thank you! You all rock :)
Location is excellent as well. Two blocks to white house, and 3 blocks to Dupont circle.
This was my first time at DC so I was rushed trying to see as much sites as I could and didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel. I hope I get to go bak and spend more time enjoying this little slice of heaven!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellover034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    107
    37
    11
    7
See reviews for
219
489
59
202
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I decided to act like tourists and go to DC (even though we live 20 miles away) to spend our 22nd anniversary weekend. We chose the Jefferson based on the good reviews, classic design and location.

The hotel did not disappoint. Waiting in our room when we checked in at 3 pm was a chilled bottle of sparkling wine accompanied by chocolate covered strawberries as an anniversary welcome gift. The hotel itself is immaculate with a very friendly and attentive staff, lovely rooms and extremely comfortable beds. The bathroom, with Italian marble, along with a TV built into the large mirror, was a delight.

We also spent some time over this two day stay in the bar which is quite nice with both indoor and outdoor seating. Again, the attentive and friendly nature of the hotel staff and bartenders was evident. The Jefferson doorman even arranged a free sedan ride to our dinner with their hotel car when a taxi was not immediately available.

Overall, our experience at the Jefferson was excellent and we would highly recommend it to others who seek a similar "classic" style hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Robert T,

We are so glad that you chose The Jefferson as home base while exploring your city over your anniversary weekend. I am thrilled to hear that you had a positive experience both in Quill and with your interactions with our hotel staff overall. We do hope that you “staycation” with us again!

Sincerely,
Robert Jenny
Director of Operations
rjenny@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 6 nights and it was perfection in every sense of the word. Was expecting a big 'front desk' check in, but it was 2 small desks in a beautiful setting, none of the rush you get with bigger hotels. The staff were friendly and efficient, particularly Ally, the 'I Prefer' guest service manager who sent us a celebratory bottle of fizz with chocolate covered strawberries - divine. Our room was beautiful, spacious and decorated to the highest standard. The bathroom was equally lovely with a very large shower (2 sinks would have been nice but not a problem). Breakfast in 'The Greenhouse' restaurant was plentiful with a great menu to choose from. The staff at breakfast were lovely and friendly, particularly Edwin and Gilberto who always had a big smile! Only criticism was that 'Plume' the restaurant was closed for refurbishment during our stay, which we weren't informed about prior - we had planned a romantic dinner but were disappointed to find out about the closure. However, Danny who worked in the 'Quill' bar was extremely helpful in recommending another restaurant called Proof - he sorted a reservation for us and it was perfect. All in all, we had a perfect stay and wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel for anyone wanting luxury in DC. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: No swimming pool, but a beautiful spa - why would you need a pool though as there are so many fabulo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pearlydiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Generous sized rooms, even though bathroom on the small side, great location, clean as a whistle, excellent service. Highly recommended. Walking distance to all the major sites. Would definitely stay there again when in DC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoingApe4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear GoingApe4U,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post about your recent experience at The Jefferson. I am happy that you were pleased not only with our convenient location to many of Washington, DC's historical landmarks, but were also impressed with our level of service. It is our goal to ensure that every guest that stays with us has a positive experience.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Robert Jenny
Director of Operations
rjenny@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed for a night at the Jefferson to celebrate our anniversary. The hotel is elegant in every respect. All the staff members were wonderful and welcoming. Our cozy room was beautifully appointed and very comfortable. We were pleasantly surprised by the anniversary treats we found there -- including champagne. The hotel is close to the National Geographic building, with its excellent exhibits. Also very close is the 14th Street corridor with its now many restaurants. The White House, K Street, and the Mall (with the Smithsonian Museums) are within walking distance. We had breakfast in the hotel's lovely dining area. Breakfast had numerous delicious and inventive choices. There is 24 hour room service (we did wish there was a tea/coffee-maker in the room). The Jefferson definitely deserves the excellent rating it has gotten on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveledall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear traveledall,

On behalf of the staff at The Jefferson, we'd like to thank you for choosing to spend your anniversary with us. I am glad that you were able to enjoy all that Washington, DC has to offer within walking distance from the hotel and that you were pleased with our breakfast selections in the Greenhouse.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another celebration!

Sincerely,
Robert Jenny
Director of Operations
rjenny@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed there end of July with my 2 girls in order to visit Washington DC. This hotel is very well located at walking distance from all site seeing place (White house, Smithsonian museums, ...).

First class employee will do everything to make your stay enjoyable. When we arrived my girls were offered a small teddy bear.

The concierge know all the place to go and the 2 restaurant he recommended us were just perfect. Breakfast is amazing and very good, room is beautiful but quite small

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frédéric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our family of four (teenagers 17 and 19) spent three nights at The Jefferson for our first trip to DC. We absolutely loved the hotel! The location on 16th and M is just about 4 blocks from the White House which is perfect for walking to most places. It is also within walking distance to a number of good restaurants. The service was exceptional in every way. The reception desk was very helpful with directions, late checkout request and also accommodating us with a rollaway bed for one of our teens. The concierge staff provided great suggestions re: restaurants, use of the Metro, etc. The doormen were very helpful, friendly and enthusiastic, not at all pretentious. They had cold waters available when we returned from long days of sightseeing and also offered good suggestions about restaurants in the area. The Jefferson also offers iced tea/lemonade in the lobby during the day and coffee/tea and muffins in the morning which was a wonderful service. On our departure, one of the doormen went out of his way to try to hail a larger cab for our family to get to the airport. We stayed in a deluxe suite, corner room with a view of the Washington Monument. The room was gorgeous with much attention to every detail and very comfortable for our family of four. The housekeeping service was especially exceptional; there was always an ample number of towels, toiletries, etc. and the room was immaculate. We would absolutely stay at The Jefferson again when we return to DC. It is certainly the nicest hotel in which we have ever stayed! The only small issue we had was with some of the traffic noise at night which did interfere with sleep on occasion, even though we were on a higher floor (5) Overall, an amazing hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor(6,7,8) to avoid some of the traffic noise. Corner suites are beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel
The Watergate Hotel
#8 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson, Washington DC

Property: The Jefferson, Washington DC
Address: 1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Jefferson, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Jefferson, Washington's second most prestigious address. Distinguished, sophisticated and discreet, this 99-room luxury boutique hotel exemplifies all that its namesake, Thomas Jefferson, held dear -intricately thought-out design, twenty elegantly appointed suites, the most modern amenities including a petite spa, culinary excellence and exceptional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Jefferson, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jefferson, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Jefferson Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing