We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and stylish stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Jefferson, Washington DC
Ranked #5 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful and stylish stay!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

There are many things to commend The Jefferson. There are many small touchs such as complimentary iced-tea near reception every day in summer, lovely house-made shortbread (cranberry and thyme), complimentary bottled water, fold-down service, stylish bathroom amenities and extremely comfortable beds. The staff were professional yet friendly and extremely thoughtful. The staff showed us great kindness during a personal event that affected us. The concierge service we experienced (Lynn) was amongst the highest quality service we have ever experienced, so helpful! There is also access to a "house car" within a 5 mile radius.

We had a King Room and whilst the room was a little tight for space with such a large bed, this was not an issue when your in DC is to visit the many sites. The Jefferson was a wonderul oasis at the end of long days walking in DC!

Room Tip: If a view is important, ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TazTraveller_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    112
    36
    12
    7
See reviews for
224
500
58
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Came into DC from Chicago. A city which was unknown. Looked into Trip Advisor and the first name on the listing was The Jefferson. Placed a call, booked a room and hopped into the taxi. The hotel is located very close to the White House. Was greeted on arrival, and was offered iced tea too. The rooms are pricey no doubt but the service, ambience and cleanliness is well worth the dollars you spend. Lynn at the concierge desk is an absolute sweetheart. He is so efficient!!. He helped us find an Indian restaurant close by, gave me a print out of the map and also printed out directions. I was mighty impressed. We were in DC for just 2 days and had a lot of ground to cover. Lynn to the rescue again. He booked us on to the hop on hop off tour bus, armed us with the print outs and sent us off with clear instructions. Didn't get a chance to sample any of the restaurants at the hotel, but, judging by their overall standards it must be impressive. The bellman and busboys (Abdul) are also extremely courteous and polite. The rooms were an absolute treat. Clean and classy. Fluffy towels, large bath robes, beautiful pillows and a divine bed. What more does a weary tourist need? I wish I had more time to luxuriate in the rooms (the suite room where we were booked was a treat). The spa too looked great but couldn't experience that bliss because of tight schedules. Strongly recommend this hotel if you like class and warmth. The hotel does not have a pool, but, who needs a pool when it rains crazy because that is what happened when I was at DC. Thank you Lynn for making our visit so memorable!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rashmirao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Checked into the Jefferson for a 3-day anniversary celebration. We had a premier King room, which was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and well-appointed. No bathtub, but the shower was great. As noted by others, there was a TV in our mirror, which we actually found quite handy. I ordered flowers for the anniversary and the hotel provided us with complimentary champagne and chocolate covered strawberries -- a very nice touch. Staff were uniformly responsive and helpful. The restaurant, Plume, is a little expensive for what you get, but the food is very good, the service appropriately attentive and the ambiance excellent. The bar is small, but pleasant, with an outdoor patio. There are some very nice nooks and crannies for reading, if desired. Location is good but it is a bit of a walk to the mall (it took us about 20 minutes to walk to the Newseum). Overall, would highly recommend for a relaxing and/or celebratory stay. -- Seagull

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seagull522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Everything about this hotel is oriented around service, and it re-calibrated my idea of what true service and hospitality is. I was impressed with the knowledge, competency, and professionalism of the staff from the initial call to the hotel to check rooms to when I drove away after the stay.

The Jefferson distinguishes itself from its peers with the little touches. A personalized greeting card in the room, available personal butler services, 24 hour room service for travelers; all this offered services are what set The Jefferson apart from your typical hotel chain.

In terms of value, this hotel is a solid win, with several room types within reach for average budgets. It is definitely not a budget hotel, so travelers looking to move on the cheap should probably take The Jefferson out of consideration. However, it is definitely not a high-end luxury hotel that is out of reach of the average citizen.

Everything about The Jefferson is clean and spotless, both in terms of hygiene and design, and the location within the heart of D.C. can't be beat, with easy access to Dupont Circle, the National Mall, the White House, and countless other attractions.

I had a standard room, and it came with all the standard amenities and much more, such as an oversized bathtub with a stand alone shower, dual sinks, and a massive closet for storage. It was clean, elegantly decorated, and absolutely spotless.

Perhaps my only gripe with The Jefferson is that there was no pool on site, and that you had to go to the nearby University Club. That that's a petty grievance overall.

Overall, this is an amazing hotel with service that is second to none. It's not exactly a place for kids, but it's service, quiet elegance, and grace are perfect for travelers or couples looking for an exceptional experience in hospitality.

Room Tip: Call the hotel personally and ask about what is available. All rooms are exquisitely decorated. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aerimis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Without a doubt the best hotel in Washington DC! After much debate whether we were to stay at the Hay Adams or The Jefferson, I decided to stay at the Jefferson because of the great reviews read on here and boy did I make the best decision. Not only is the hotel absolutely stunning the service is nothing short of perfection. We arrived on March 14th and stayed for 4 nights, check in was a breeze, while we checked in the bell man showed me all the antiques and documents singed by Jefferson hung on the wall of the lobby and gave me a little history lesson. We arrived at our room to lovely surprise of a bottle of wine and a cheese platter with a lovely note from the hotel. We stayed in a Deluxe King Suite with soaking bath tub the room was the perfect size cozy in the bedroom and a massive bathroom with shower and two sinks. The beds where very comfortable that at times I didn't want to leave my room. Everyone was friendly and helpful the concierge recommended great sushi places and where I can do some shopping. Another great feature was the town car they provide. We really took advantage and it was free of charge. We ordered room service a few times and the food was great. I also really enjoyed the turn down service some nights they even give you little treats in bed like chocolates! Great Hotel would 100% recommend and I can't wait for my next visit

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

A hotel that is all class in a nice part of DC and in walking and bike rental distance to everything. Exceptional service, clean rooms and that touch of class that makes your feel like a valued guest. Lots of options for meals nearby if you want to avoid the hotel facilities. I would stay again if the price was right.

Room Tip: Used the book and pre-pay deal. Saved 40%.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kilowhiskey224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

After a very disappointing few days in an Upper West Side hotel we were absolutely delighted with the offering at this completely charming hotel.

From the first experience with reception to the time 3 days later we could not fault any aspect. The room was extremely cosy and comfortable (without being too compact). The staff were very professional, courteous and very approachable.

We has cause for a celebration and had a meal for 4 in the in house Resturant "Plume". Again the whole experience was outstanding.

I could waffle on, but I'm sure you can gather that I could not recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orthosurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,125 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#15 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
#6 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson, Washington DC

Property: The Jefferson, Washington DC
Address: 1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Jefferson, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Jefferson, Washington's second most prestigious address. Distinguished, sophisticated and discreet, this 99-room luxury boutique hotel exemplifies all that its namesake, Thomas Jefferson, held dear -intricately thought-out design, twenty elegantly appointed suites, the most modern amenities including a petite spa, culinary excellence and exceptional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Jefferson, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jefferson, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Jefferson Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing