We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very upscale” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jefferson, Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Jefferson, Washington DC
Ranked #3 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Very upscale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Upscale. We stayed for several nights in May 2013. On May 8 there was some kind of an official event on the premises and the President of the United States himself participated. Thanks God we were travelling that day and didn't get under examination by the Security Service (not that we have something to hide, but this is never pleasant). Concierge called us one day before the event and warned that the whole block will be blocked by the Security Service and we need to have IDs on us to get inside. But all in all this is really classy hotel. Top notch. The concierge looked so important at his working desk as if he was an executive VP of some major investment bank on Manhattan. I was always in doubt whether I have to say "hello" to him or better not to bother such an important man. But the service was great. The room service very nice (I liked that they offered an option of salad instead of french fries with the club sandwich - healthy choice!) The room was exceptionally clean, the linen and all materials and furniture in the room were of really high quality (then again I would be surprised to have anything of lower quality for such price). Great minibar. The room itself was not large, but OK. The bathroom was great and very comfortable. Walking distance from the White House and the National Mall. Great place to stay, if you can afford it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxim_bobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    99
    35
    11
    7
See reviews for
199
462
56
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Caveat- we were a banquet. I did not stay in a room, so that eating should be n/a. This hotel is in the middle of the city, close to everything, and DC the way DC has always been. It is elegant, full of history, and beautiful. The staff were amazing and efficient. They were there when we needed them and invisible when we didn't need them. The food was wonderful! Inventive and tasty, each course complimented the next. I was, remarkably, not hungry or stuffed- it was just right. I highly recommend this venue for intimate banquets. Our group was 50 people.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed at the Jefferson for 5 nights in April 2013. Our room was clean, good size and excellent amenities. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking for a classy hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clazman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We found a great deal for a room at TheJefferson in DC and my wife and I checked other travelers opinions on TRipAdvisor.
Not only were the reviews on target but we loved the room-the concierge-the location-the service
A total winner!!not only was the. Hotel great but our deal included parking and breakfast-both are a tremendous value
You have to stay at the Jefferson if you are. Going to DC

Room Tip: Stay away from the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmmorea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent a weekend at this hotel for a quick getaway. It is a beautiful hotel in a quiet neighborhood approximately six blocks from the White House. We reserved a Deluxe King room which was very nice and the bed and pillows were extremely comfy. The television in the bathroom is a nice touch when you are getting ready in the morning. We particularly enjoyed The Quill bar and Luca made a fabulous mint julep (it was Kentucky Derby Saturday) and we really enjoyed speaking with him! Because The Plume restaurant was closed on Sunday we had dinner in The Quill's bar outside patio, a truly spectacular setting. Our waitress was wonderful and the food was delicious. All the staff were very helpful and we did enjoy our time there. For future reference, the Deluxe King room we stayed in was not how it is described on the website's floor plan for that room and was located in an alley not a rooftop or city view. Unless you are lucky enough to be given the bigger Deluxe King I would reserve the smaller Premier King. The Plume restaurant is closed on Sunday and Monday and the house car is not available on weekends and when it is will not go to either Union Station or an airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nph24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonDC, General Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear nph24,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, but in particular that you found our staff very helpful and wonderful. Our team takes great pride in providing genuine service and it will be my pleasure to share your comments with them. I did want to apologize that our web site’s floor plan description did not match your impressions of the room. As a result, I am reviewing all of our room descriptions to ensure we are providing guests with a more accurate depiction. Thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Jefferson, on any future visits to Washington, DC.

Robert Jenny
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent one night here last week. It was a fabulous experience! This hotel is a class act, from the time we checked in until the time we checked out. The place is absolutely spotless and the service impeccable! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kab2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed in March for three nights and the Jefferson was upto its usual high standards. I was not as happy with the location of my room as it was quite noisy on the corner of the hotel, but otherwise excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SmallWallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,050 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,913 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson, Washington DC

Property: The Jefferson, Washington DC
Address: 1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Jefferson, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Jefferson, Washington's second most prestigious address. Distinguished, sophisticated and discreet, this 95-room luxury boutique hotel exemplifies all that its namesake, Thomas Jefferson, held dear -intricately thought-out design, twenty elegantly appointed suites, the most modern amenities including a petite spa, culinary excellence and exceptional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Jefferson, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jefferson, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Jefferson Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing