We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent across the board.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Jefferson, Washington DC
Ranked #5 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent across the board.”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Jefferson ticks all of the boxes. Excellent location, rooms and staff. Hard to find a fault. Special mention to Lynn and Chris at the concierge desk. They could not have been more helpful, they provided great assistance in organising sightseeing trips and booking restaurants. Their input made our trip to D.C. memorable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillipjames00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    114
    36
    12
    8
See reviews for
227
511
57
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great, comfortable stay at the Jefferson. Love entertaining in the restaurant, incredible service and food.
With all the travel, I came down with a sore throat and the staff couldn't have been been kinder. The room service and hot soups were fabulous. The concierge referred me to a nearby doctor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PPBNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The Jefferson seems to have got its balance right. It is clearly a hotel of choice for business people, being located centrally and providing the full range of services, but it also worked extremely well for us as tourists to the capital, being comfortable and quiet, and with a very helpful concierge. Not only did the concierge do some research for us on how to get to and from Mt Vernon, George Washington's nearby country estate (we highly recommend taking the river cruise there, with the bus/train back), but also secured us a table at the wonderful Martin's Tavern in Georgetown, which we highly recommend (make sure you walk round Georgetown and the old canal locks beforehand, it’s an intriguing and historic place).

The room was well appointed with a great view down 14th Street towards the White House, though probably not quite big enough to comfortably take the king size bed in the middle of it. Why do hotels insist on king beds? Frankly we’d prefer to sleep closer together and have a bit more space in the room itself. We enjoyed drinks at the bar on a couple of occasions, and were impressed not only by the size and quality of the wine list, but the enthusiasm of the waiters as they advised on not only best wines, but best value. And there was the really nice touch of a separate library, cosy and appropriately furnished, that was available only to house guests. We ate dinner there one night, exhausted after walking around Washington's sights, and it was a lovely end to the day. Finally, the provision of free coffee and muffins each morning for guests was a nice touch, and particularly appreciated by early risers. Other hotels should take note!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KMCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I was delighted to stay at the The Jefferson for four nights during April with my 11 year-old son. First, the location of the Hotel is stellar. It sits on a beautiful corner near the White House, the Farragut North Metro, and DuPont Circle. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, we were treated to a world-class hotel experience. The staff were kind, polished, and professional. The King room was decadent, with walk-in closets, three windows, and a large bathroom. Complimentary coffee and muffins are provided each morning. We also enjoyed a beautiful and delicious breakfast at the Greenhouse each morning. Quill, the hotel bar, offers sophisticated cocktails and, on some nights, a piano player. The gym is small, but more than enough to provide a good cardio and weight workout. I simply cannot recall a better or more refined hotel experience in DC. We had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SWTraveler32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

As an avid traveller I expect certain standards when staying at a hotel. This hotel"gets it"! From the moment that my husband and I arrived for a long weekend trip everything at The Jefferson was outstanding.
The attention to details of the room, the phenomenal service throughout the hotel, the delicious meals, and the location of the property will entice us to make another stay at The Jefferson.
I love staying at 5 star hotels. The Jefferson experience was a 10-star experience!
Thank you for making my trip to DC memorable.
By the way, the high tea service was delicious. Absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horadam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is by far the best hotel I've been to in North America.

The service is amazing, rooms are divine, restaurants are excellent but its the whole decor of the hotel which sets it apart. I booked it through Expedia and it wasnt outrageously expensive.

A truly outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forest186530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stay in 25 hotels a year, all over the world. The Jefferson's staff offers the best service I've ever encountered, anywhere. I loved the room, the bar and the restaurants as well, but the staff set this experience apart, for me. It established the standard against which I will judge all other hotels from now on.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LonnieBox3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
1,252 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
339 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 141 in Washington DC
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson, Washington DC

Property: The Jefferson, Washington DC
Address: 1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Jefferson, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Jefferson, Washington's second most prestigious address. Distinguished, sophisticated and discreet, this 99-room luxury boutique hotel exemplifies all that its namesake, Thomas Jefferson, held dear -intricately thought-out design, twenty elegantly appointed suites, the most modern amenities including a petite spa, culinary excellence and exceptional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Jefferson, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jefferson, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Jefferson Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing