We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Jefferson, Washington DC
Ranked #4 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is by far the best hotel I've been to in North America.

The service is amazing, rooms are divine, restaurants are excellent but its the whole decor of the hotel which sets it apart. I booked it through Expedia and it wasnt outrageously expensive.

A truly outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank forest186530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,127)
There are newer reviews for The Jefferson, Washington DC
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

870 - 876 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stay in 25 hotels a year, all over the world. The Jefferson's staff offers the best service I've ever encountered, anywhere. I loved the room, the bar and the restaurants as well, but the staff set this experience apart, for me. It established the standard against which I will judge all other hotels from now on.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LonnieBox3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is one of the best hotels I've stayed in - definitely a favorite in DC. The service is wonderful, the food is delicious, the bar is swanky, and the rooms are great. This was my first time staying here (technically on business, but I splurged) and it came highly recommended.

I'd been here once before for a Christmas tea several years ago and remember enjoying it but for the full experience you need to stay overnight.

I'd recommend going to the bar. There is live music some nights (maybe every night?) and the cocktails are fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great hotel wonderful service gets very busy on weekend. Concierge Chris suggested dc coast and it didn't disappoint. The hotel bar Plume is elegant but staff had tad pretentious. Overall great
location and elegant boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbktarpon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

While my wife and I "just" came for drinks at Quill and dinner at Plume, the details in this ultra-luxe yet decidedly "DC" jewel always amaze. The location is ideal (hello Mr. President) and the service, outstanding. An amazing property.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al_Dominick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The most annoying thing when staying in any hotel is when the property or the service doesn’t meet the expectations associated with the hotel’s class. The Jefferson Hotel completely met all the expectations. When we arrived in our own car, the doorman got our entire luggage, put it on a cart, and showed to us where we can check-in. There are 2 receptionists sitting at their individual desks, who greet you, and offer you to sit to go through the check-in process. Even though I reserved a deluxe king room, we got a free upgrade to the suite. The suite was amazing with all the amenities you could possibly want in a hotel room (you can take a look at the pictures that I took to see for yourself). The only thing missing was the coffee maker, but with very good coffee available every morning in the lobby it wasn’t a problem at all. The water in the hotel’s fancy bottles is complimentary, the wired and wireless internet as well as shoeshine services were complimentary as well. Apparently, the hotel offers complimentary garment pressing (1 item per person), but since I haven’t used it, I can’t really comment on it. We used the hotel’s concierge service to find what places to visit and where to eat, and were completely satisfied. The parking charges are quite expensive at $45 per night, but since we stayed here for only 1 night, it wasn’t a big deal. If you’re staying for a lot longer, you’re probably better off parking the car elsewhere.
If I were to come back to Washington DC, this is the place I would pick again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vkramaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was in Washington DC for business at the Capitol so I selected this property for amenities and location. All of my unique and specific requests were met. I wanted dinner for 4 from the restaurant and not room service in my suite... no problem! I needed car service at the drop of a hat... no problem.

The decor is contemporary american to its finest. The staff was warm, highly competent and professional. The linens and toiletries were first rate. There was great natural light and windows in the living room, bedroom and bathroom.

The spa was small but had all the details needed for a massage services. I really enjoyed the therapists escorting me from my room.

The room ceilings are a bit lower than I like and the hallway layout is a tad confusing.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShareBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
1,288 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
3,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
364 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#13 of 141 in Washington DC
1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson, Washington DC

Address: 1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $319 - $827 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Jefferson, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Jefferson, Washington's second most prestigious address. Distinguished, sophisticated and discreet, this 99-room luxury boutique hotel exemplifies all that its namesake, Thomas Jefferson, held dear -intricately thought-out design, twenty elegantly appointed suites, the most modern amenities including a petite spa, culinary excellence and exceptional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Jefferson, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jefferson, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Jefferson Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing