We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Weekend Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Jefferson, Washington DC
Ranked #3 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Utilized the hotel for a small family wedding on President's Weekend.

Outstanding performance by the Jefferson in all aspects. Staff went out of their way to be helpful and even whistled up a wheelchair for a family guest who need it for a short period.

Event Coordinator Anne Baker was a high level professional - easily accessible at all times, very helpful and always displayed good judgement.

Three "food functions" - cocktail reception, dinner and brunch.

Cannot say enough about the chef and food service. Reception hors d'oeuvres and display were excellent and good value. The dinner offerings, Poplar Forest Group, came out precisely hot/cold as they should have. Exceptional dishes were the crab cake appetizers which were hot, crispy and crabby - the filet mignon was rare and juicy and the sea bass perfectly prepared. Desserts were huge and exquisite.

Although the dinner was for 30, each course came out as if it was prepared for service in the Plume Restaurant next door. They also made an extra effort to provide us with the WIne Cellar Room for the Sunday brunch which was also perfect - well served with excellent offerings.

Hotel was not full over the weekend and we recieved liberal upgrades. The rooms are in fine shape with numerous amenities. I would say that they have done as much as possible with the property considering its size and age - very close to an international 5 star level. World class wine offerings for the oenophiles are quite eye popping.

Certainly not the cheapest option in an expensive town but the value provided is significant. Jeffersonian touches abound including signed documents from the early period of the republic. Very comfortable sitting room just off the lobby for guests only is nice touch - quiet, private, fire, refreshments.

Would highly recommend this property for business and pleasure travel as well as appropriately sized special events. The property exudes quality in all aspects.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,127)
There are newer reviews for The Jefferson, Washington DC
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

892 - 898 of 1,128 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Gorgeous renovation of this intimate hotel. Personalized front desk experience - bellman gives you a mini tour on the way to your room. Documents signed by Jefferson in the Hotel Lobby.
Lovely rooms for lunch,a drink, one on one meetings. Had Tea in the Lobby restaurant and it was lovely.
Rooms are beautifully appointed ...lots of nice touches upon arrival...fruit and cookies in room. Nice spa amenites in the bath. The Jefferson was a delightful surprise and the service was flawless.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Missy420Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed 3 nights for my birthday recently. Wonderful staff and wonderful food, we got a deal that included breakfast along with 20% off the daily rate. Loved the decor and theme, really enjoyed the intimate Quill bar in the hotel, excellent female bartender mixed superb drinks. Everything great except rooms are small, but hey, reminded me of nice European hotels I have stayed in before. Within easy walking distance to White House and DuPont circle. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Excellent staff. Very friendly and welcoming. Room was nicely appointed- very clean
Would return on next visit to DC. The hotel provided driver to local restaurant which is a very nice service. Would have liked to try the spa , perhaps one future visit. The guests are divided into business travelers and leisure travelers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Jefferson is well-situated, about a 4/10 mile walk to either The White House or Dupont Circle. Our deluxe room (booked at an excellent rate via Jetsetter) was nicely furnished with excellent linens and a large bathroom with both tub and shower with terrific water pressure; although the room had a large bay window, there was no view other than of the adjacent building ten feet away. Service at reception and housekeeping was excellent, and the hotel bar was surprisingly lively. We loved the quiet elegance of the lobby and hallways.

While our concerns were not major, they were significant enough to make me rate the Jefferson
as Very Good rather than Excellent: most troubling was the fact that the electronic lock on our
door malfunctioned on the last day of our stay and the hotel engineer spent an hour trying to fix it
before giving up; we were treated very graciously by the manager on duty who proactively called
us to apologize, sent us wine and cheese, and moved us to a beautiful one bedroom suite. While the hotel dealt with this mishap as well as could be hoped for, it should not happen at a 5* hotel, particularly one that prides itself on its reconstructed infrastructure. Other relatively minor nits included the very cold room temperature which did not seem to be affected by our fiddling
with the thermostat; the fact that despite my requesting that my omelet/scrambled eggs be cooked softly/lightly at breakfast, they were overcooked both days; and the annoyance that
despite my having confirmed at check-in that the terms of my Jetsetter deal included breakfast,
my bill at check-out including charges for breakfast that I had to ask to be removed (which they were immediately).

Would we return to The Jefferson? Absolutely, if we could get the same excellent rate again, but I do feel that our stay at The Four Seasons in Georgetown a couple of years ago was free of the (admittedly) minor annoyances that we found at the Jefferson.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank undertone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonDC, General Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear undertone,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at The Jefferson. I was very pleased to hear about the excellent service you received from our Housekeeping and Reception staff. However, I was sorry to hear about the unfortunate challenges you experienced with your bedroom lock and thermostat controls, as well as the issues with your breakfast order and billing. I am disappointed that we did not provide you with the hotel experience that you deservedly expected. Please accept my sincere apologies for these service inefficiencies; we are actively addressing the matters since your stay.
If any future travel brings you back to our city, please do not hesitate to contact me directly; it would be my pleasure to assist you personally.

Robert Jenny
Director of Operations
202.448.3272
rjenny@jeffersondc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed last night on a quick overnight in DC. Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was great, although bathroom floor to cold for my wife's feet! Hotel is adjacent to, and convenient to many sites, but National Geographic in particular, next door.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teddytoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Everything to like about this luxurious hotel. Location with easy access. Staff remarkably pleasant, helpful and accommodating - even before we got there, they went out of their way to help with room selection, spa and restaurant reservations. The place is elegant but not ostentatious and the rooms equally so - ours on the eight floor was quiet with no traffic noise as some have noted in other reviews. Spa services were excellent, very professional staff and dinner at Plume was outstanding. We will return!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CabooseCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,290 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
3,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#7 of 142 in Washington DC
370 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 142 in Washington DC
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson, Washington DC

Address: 1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $324 - $852 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Jefferson, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Jefferson, Washington's second most prestigious address. Distinguished, sophisticated and discreet, this 99-room luxury boutique hotel exemplifies all that its namesake, Thomas Jefferson, held dear -intricately thought-out design, twenty elegantly appointed suites, the most modern amenities including a petite spa, culinary excellence and exceptional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Jefferson, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jefferson, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Jefferson Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing