We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Jefferson, Washington DC
Ranked #2 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Everything to like about this luxurious hotel. Location with easy access. Staff remarkably pleasant, helpful and accommodating - even before we got there, they went out of their way to help with room selection, spa and restaurant reservations. The place is elegant but not ostentatious and the rooms equally so - ours on the eight floor was quiet with no traffic noise as some have noted in other reviews. Spa services were excellent, very professional staff and dinner at Plume was outstanding. We will return!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CabooseCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

917 - 923 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in early December and couldn't have been more impressed with the hotel and service. Upon walking in, you are not entering a conventiinal, bustling lobby but a cozy atrium of sorts and receptionists seated at desks over to the right bring you to the desks and register you in plush, seated comfort and offer refreshment. Their demeanor is very professional yet warm.

Along the walls hang a few original documents with Jefferson's signature as you walk to the elevators. They have retained some of the original markings of the historic hotel while elevating comfort and convenience during the renovation. The rooms are rather stately in their decor but still very comfortable and the bathrooms are large and have every modern amenity.

Maybe most impressive is the service. My husband took advantage of their free shoe shining and one article of clothing pressed services and both were carried out smoothly. In fact, my husband was waiting for the pressed shirt to return before dinner and realized it was already hanging in closet on a nice wooden hanger! And his shoes were waiting outside our door in the morning, nice and shiny :). They have turn down service which is actually worth something. Every evening we would return to find the room completely cleaned again and robes, slippers and water by both sides of the bed, reading lights on. But we never saw any maids! The hotel was so quiet it was as if we had it all to ourselves, and that invisible elves were cleaning everything. Incredible. The staff we did encounter was always warm and professional, with a ready smile and the doormen dress in top hat and coat tails. Lovely.
We would definitely stay here again if budget allows. A gem!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mcm4055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed here on a number of occasions on business trips to DC, and this hotel is really special. It's a far cry from the boring, look-a-like big chain hotels, and not much more expensive. The rooms are spectacular with their period furnishings. The lobby is gorgeous and recalls a far more refined and sophisticated period of travel. The staff is just fantastic, they are incredibly attentive, and they all seem to appreciate that they work in a historical landmark building.

The location is great, just a few blocks north of the White House, and within walking distance of most of downtown DC businesses and restaurants. My wife and I love this place, and my only regret is that now that we live in the DC area we don't visit it as often as we used to. If you are looking for a truly exceptional and unique experience that is as diametrically oppposite as possible to the big chain hotels this is the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the back, away from 16th Street which can get noisy during rush hours in the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rossvesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

My Wife and I spent 3 nights in November at the Jefferson for our Babymoon!! Really loved The Jefferson, very unique, historic building...its a converted appartment building just a few blocks from the White House. Nice location, its not the Hay Adams but very centrally located none the less...less than a 10 min. walk in either direction to the White House and Dupont Circle. The rooms are comfortable...but its the Bathrooms that are really super nice, all white marble and spacious and a neat LCD TV imbedded into the mirror over the wash basins....real cool. The Quill Bar is cozy and the cocktails are authentic and the Mushroom Soup was scrumptious. More than the architecture, the location and the bar...hands down the best part of The Jefferson are the people who work here.Just some of the best service we've experienced anywhere...the front desk, concierge, and the turndown service..no mater how ever late we asked for it...all done with a smile. They also provide a complmentary car service in the morning between 7am and 10 am, and in the evening for a few hours aswell...so we got dropped off in Georgetown or wherever else we needed to go...for free! I would recomend this hotel for its location and style...did I mention the lovely Balck and White checkered marble floor loby...and a lot President Jefferson's inventions, like the Dumb waiter on display thru out the hotel...but most of all I would recomend this hotel if you are looking for a friendly place to stay in DC. Have to say it is on the pricier side, but then again, you are right by the White House!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor, 16th street can get quite busy in the morning and you have some tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Nice classy hotel, very good attentive service.
The room was on the smaller side, decor is very conservative, but very comfortable.
Nice amenities and free still or sparkling water at your room.
Room service was awesome, as well as the restaurant downstairs.
Definitely recommended, just make sure your room is far from the service rooms/doors as they are quite noisy.

Room Tip: Request a room far away from the service rooms if you care for quiet and calm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HotelSpy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We went to DC to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We selected The Jefferson based on some of the other reviews and were very glad that we did. The staff members were all very friendly and accommodating. They gave us an upgraded room and a nice surprise upon check-in in honor of our special occasion. It is very different from a large impersonal hotel. There was great attention to detail throughout. The hotel was also located in an excellent location for walking to local attractions and great restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GTB14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

What A Spectacular Hotel and Experience:

Our 3 day visit to the Jefferson exceeded all of our expectations. This is such an exquisite and personal place that it honestly feels much more like staying in a Private Estate than a hotel. The rooms are detailed with magnificent attention to detail with all the right touches. Jefferson decor and artifacts to appreciate at every turn. The shower was a delight, bath robes very comfortable and the decor is luxuriously comfortable and fascinating.

The book room is a place where you could sit for hours and definitely a spot you do not want to miss. Chris, the Concierge is knowledgeable, extremely helpful, has lived in DC all of his life and makes you feel like an old friend. We had lovely conversations with Depak from Nepal and Dorothy both who delivered room service. And Marcella from housekeeping was terrific.

It is clear to us that Mr. Phillip Wood who manages this property has a team trained to oversee all the details and nuances for making a visit a joy. We had the pleasure of meeting him as well.

I knew there was a reason that current and past Presidents choose this Hotel. Regardless of your political preferences, a decision to stay here is one that we can all agree with.
Congress should take a lesson from Mr Wood on how to get things done and do them right.

Dr.Brian S.

Room Tip: The 2 room suite is magnificent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrBrianS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
3,232 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#13 of 142 in Washington DC
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 142 in Washington DC
1,319 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 142 in Washington DC
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson, Washington DC

Address: 1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $301 - $708 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Jefferson, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Jefferson, Washington's second most prestigious address. Distinguished, sophisticated and discreet, this 99-room luxury boutique hotel exemplifies all that its namesake, Thomas Jefferson, held dear -intricately thought-out design, twenty elegantly appointed suites, the most modern amenities including a petite spa, culinary excellence and exceptional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Jefferson, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jefferson, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Jefferson Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing