We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious service; wonderful location”
Review of The Hay-Adams

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hay-Adams
Ranked #2 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2010

My husband and I spent a weekend at the Hay Adams. We were able to get a very favorable weekend rate from the hotel. Infact they upgraded us when I mentioned it was my husband's birthday.
I cannot rave enough about the level of service--from the doorman to the front desk to the housekeeping staff. Everyone seemed sincerely interested in making sure our requests were accomodated and that we were enjoying our stay.
The location is amazing. The White House is just a block away and you can see if from the dining room, the front door and from some of the rooms! There are a number of good restuarants in the area. A metro is a few blocks away but the taxis are not expensive.
The room we had was called an executive suite. It had a very comfortable bed, along with a desk, couch and chair. The room was in excellent condition and extremely clean.
I would go back here the next time in Washington DC.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,290)
There are newer reviews for The Hay-Adams
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,077 - 1,083 of 1,290 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2010

one if noy the best hotel I have visited in my 40 years of intense travelling: great personalized service, wonderful environment and cosy rooms. Nothing to complain about, The Lafayette Restaurant provides great food.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wolfgang- Joach... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

We chose this hotel because of its amazing position. This was our first visit to Washington DC and we wanted to be close to the action. You won't be disappointed. The hotel is basically next door to the White House. We were so impressed. We were so close we needed security clearance from the White House before we could be escorted to the roof to take some tourist photos... how special is that!
The city was buzzing in preparation for the first state dinner to welcome the Indian PM.
Not only is this hotel in a great location, it oozes old fashion charm and service so missing in other hotels. Our room, overlooking St John's Church "Church of the Presidents", was large and very comfortable.
We were also lucky enough to spend our first ever Thanksgiving Dinner in the hotel. Fleur, the Maitre d, and the hotel staff, really looked after us.
As for the city itself, the history, monuments and museums were so impressive. When we come back we will certainly stay at The Hay-Adams again. If it's good enough for the US President it's good enough for us.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ClassyLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

elegant, quiet...great retreat from the dynamism of DC

Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
Thank DianeA8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2009

We stayed three nights in a queen room with our adult children in an adjoining queen room. We arrived early in the afternoon and were warmly welcomed and shown to our rooms even though it was two hours before the stated check-in time. The rooms were small but extremely comfortable and well appointed. The service (front desk, bellman, concierge, waiters) was friendly, attentive, and professional without being overdone, which was especially appreciated by my wife who stayed in the room one day when she wasn't feeling well. Housekeeping was flawless. The public areas are intimate and beautiful, and the location - across Lafayette Park from the White House - is unmatched. In short, we agree with the highly positive reviews of this distinctly non-chain hotel, and think it is just about perfect. We will plan to stay here again in preference to any of the six other hotels in Washington we've stayed at (including the Willard and the Sofitel) if we can get almost as good a rate as we did this time.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank museumgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2009

We booked a double/double room but they gave us a triple room for three of us.The twin and double beds are very small, at least smaller than the normal sizes. We hung our feet out of the beds.
No coffee maker etc.
Very very friendly and polite staff.
Very good location.
A litte bit expensive.
Just make sure you can get a bigger bed when you check in.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YHPeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

My partner and I stayed at the Hay Adams for a weekend visit to DC. It really is the perfect place to stay for a quick and fun visit to the capitol and its many attractions and pleasures.

The hotel is small, intimate and quite elegant. Very much like a small European luxury hotel. We splurged for a junior suite with White House view, and while expensive, it couldn't have been lovelier, with large sitting area, ornamental fieplace, beautiful details and a sumptuous canpoied bed. The famous view is, of course, sensational, morning new and night. It gives you such a sense of place.

Service is impeccable, breakfast in the Lafayette room is charming, the conceirge is unusally helpful and made several terriffic resturant recommendations and facilitated a last minute trip to Mt. Vernon efortlessly. Add to that a perfect location, and I can't think of any reason to stay anywhere else in D.C.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mike14c14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 142 in Washington DC
1,127 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
3,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#5 of 142 in Washington DC
445 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#22 of 142 in Washington DC
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $357 - $652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing