We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beyond Surprised” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hay-Adams

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hay-Adams
Ranked #3 of 139 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beyond Surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

My husband recently brought me to your hotel, the Hay-Adams for a surprise 30th wedding anniversary. You have now become the standard by which we rate ALL hotels.

We were very fortunate to be surprised upon arrival with a free room upgrade and further surprised by a knock at our door that evening expecting turndown service, but instead we were presented with a chilled bottle of champagne and six dark chocolate dipped strawberries. Amazing!

Our room overlooked the White House with the Washington Monument in the background. We must have taken 100 pictures just looking out our balcony during our three night stay.

The room was exactly as represented on your website; elegant and comfortable. While it was kept at the perfect temperature, I never once heard the air conditioner. (I can’t tell you how many times I’ve woken up in other premium hotels as the air conditioner pops on and off.) The bathroom was large and the water pressure in the shower was great.

Whether we were in the restaurant, the bar or simply in the lobby, the service and attention from your staff was wonderful. Your staff definitely beats my husband when it comes to opening doors for me, and he’s pretty good!

We were only in Washington, D.C. for four days and definitely plan on going back. Needless to say, we already know where we’ll be staying.

Thank you again for making a special trip absolutely magnificent!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlie-Mpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Charlie-Mpls,

Happy 30th anniversary to you and your husband, and thank you for choosing to celebrate that special occasion with us! I’m so glad you enjoyed the little surprise that our pastry chef prepared for you, and that you were able to have such a great view of the White House from your balcony.
We are honored to have become the standard by which you rate all hotels and look forward to welcoming you and your husband back again soon.

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    145
    45
    16
    13
See reviews for
298
366
51
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Branch, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel is absolutely beautiful. Our rooms overlooked the White House lawn. We were warmly greeted each morning when we left for sight seeing and offered water for our trip and greeted again upon our return. We were offered dinner reservations at unique locations upon our request so that we could experience different areas of the capital. Nick was kind enough to take our family to the rooftop so we could experience the incredible view and take a family picture of us as well. Our rooms were impeccably clean and the beds were incredibly comfortable. We had no complaints about our stay and would love to return sometime.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darbysiebold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear darbysiebold,

I am pleased to hear that you and your family had such a great time with us during your recent vacation to Washington, D.C.! Our team strives to provide guests with a personal and memorable experience whilst staying with us, and our concierge, front office, and housekeeping teams always do a great job exemplifying our high standards of service. I’m sure that family picture on our rooftop facing the White House will be a great memento from your visit to our Nation’s Capital. We hope to welcome all of you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
544 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

An absolutely wonderful property, located in the heart of the political beat of the District. Rooms are nicely appointed, service is excellent, go "Off the Record" in the rathskeller of the hotel and enjoy a drink or appetizer while you people watch. Elegant and enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayhawk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Jayhawk17,

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Hay-Adams and thanks for the nice review! Off the Record is a true D.C. hotspot and indeed a great place to enjoy delicious food and drink (and you never know who you will see there!). Hope to welcome you back during your next visit to our Nation’s Capital.

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

The Hay Adams is an elegant boutique hotel in a very good location directly across Lafayette Park from the White House. The interior of the hotel has lovely architectural details. The rooms are beautiful and serene with luxurious linens and soft colors. We reserved a Lafayette Park room and the view was nothing short of spectacular. We were celebrating my birthday and had a lovely visit.

We stayed two nights and went sightseeing three days. The concierge was very helpful especially with museum tickets. There were always taxis at the ready when we departed the hotel.

We had snacks and a meal at Off the Record, the bar/lounge. We enjoyed the food as well as the interesting decor. The walls are covered with caricatures of politicians. Very amusing.

We met my parents for Sunday brunch at the Lafayette. The food was varied and delicious as well it should be for $75/person. I think that included mimosas and/or bloody mary's.

My one complaint is that there is no coffee machine in the room. There is no coffee in the lobby. The only in-the-hotel way to get coffee is from room service. I think it should be complimentary, like the newspaper. Reading reviews prior to our visit, I thought the bathroom would be cramped, but that was not so. The hotel has made good use of the space and put extra shelves up. Still, bring your hanging toiletry bag. The marble bathroom is really quite elegant though. The free wi-fi was also very nice.

We had a wonderful time and everyone was very nice! The highlight was the view!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claire_bluesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear claire_bluesky,

Firstly, happy belated birthday and we are thrilled you could spend it with us! Thank you for your specific feedback regarding your stay; I am pleased to hear that it was such great one and that you enjoyed our spectacular view. I will certainly thank our concierge and culinary teams for a job very well done. Brunch at Lafayette is a great D.C. tradition which I am glad you and your parents could partake in!

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Where do I begin?! The location (next door to the White House) and not a far car ride from the Capitol make this boutique hotel a sanctuary in the middle of a busy city. Attention to detail is what sets this hotel apart from others - toiletries are above and beyond, the classical music playing after turn down service and attentive staff make this the only place I will stay in DC from now on. Well done, Hay-Adams!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KY_Amy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

I've had the experience with these "leading hotels of the world" that they are in beautiful buildings, but the rooms are old, musty and past their day. But this is truly a wonderful hotel. Bordering Lafayette Park in front of the White House, it has a location that can't be beat. The service is friendly and helpful - genuine kindness. The rooms were spacious, old world style with modern amenities. The bar down stairs is great, and the restaurant has delicious food. It was also nice to have the free wifi - since most high priced hotels tend to charge you for this too. Highly recommend, if you can afford the splurge.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking Lafayette Park or the Church. Other rooms look onto the adjacent building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheHappyJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear TheHappyJourney,

Glad to hear that you had such a great stay with us recently. Your description of our rooms as “...old world style with modern amenities” nicely sums up our design vision, and we are proud to be a member of Leading Hotels of the World. I am pleased that you felt our staff exhibited genuine kindness – they are able to do that because they truly enjoy working here and interacting with our guests. I will also share your compliments with Chef and his team who work hard to prepare the wonderful cuisine we offer. We hope to see you back during your next trip to our Nation’s Capital!

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

The reason why I cut one star off is that they gave us a very small room without any views in spite of we had booked a superior room (32 m2). Bathroom was also very small. However, we were offered an upgrade to a room with White House view for extra $200 which we didn't accept because the room price was already high for us ($514/night). While checking out next morning, I asked to the receptionist how they would call a standard room if ours was a superior room of that size. She was silent in return.

The breakfast was also tricky. We already paid $25 for each for the breakfast in booking time and thought it was an open buffet as normally expected. We were wrong. They have a menu to order and everything in the menu has a price. The waiter explained us how it works. You can order anything in the menu, but if the total exceeds $25 per person, you have to pay for it. Even the breads on the counter need to be ordered for a fee. So, what is the point to offer a breakfast on the website?

Other than these, we loved the hotel. It is small but very luxury. Rooms, lobby and dining venue has a lovely decoration. Personnel is extremly kind and always ready to help with a smile on their face. The concierge was very helpful to answer our questions on the free map of attractions of Washington DC. There are two hop-on lines in WDC by the way. 'Old Town Trolleys' are totally different than classic hop-on buses and very cute.

The queen size bed was extremly comfortable for a nice sleep. We had Bose sound system in the room and some CD's which helped us to relax after a long day. Turn down service and a small chocolate on the bed was a nice touch. However, we were two and had to share the chocolate. Hotel has a very nice bar in the basement. A great place to freshen and get cool after a hot day in summer time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnkaraCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear AnkaraCat,

Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay with us at The Hay-Adams. We are proud to be a hotel steeped in a rich history which dates back to 1927, and because we work hard to preserve that history, some of our rooms are on the smaller end. I do apologize that our breakfast in Lafayette was not fully explained to you when you made your reservation, but I hope that you enjoyed the cuisine and the overall dining experience. I am pleased to hear that your stay was mostly positive and that you had such great interactions with the team (I will certainly pass your compliments onto our Concierges!). We look forward to serving you again during your next trip to Washington, D.C.

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 139 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#14 of 139 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,040 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#20 of 139 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#16 of 139 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Property: The Hay-Adams
Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing