We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of The Hay-Adams

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hay-Adams
Ranked #3 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Beautiful, Historic Hotel across the street from the White House. I stay two nights in a double room with my son while visiting colleges and it was such a treat. The location is perfect for sightseeing and the rooms are beautiful and comfortable. The beds are so comfy its hard to leave the room. Of all of the places that I have been fortunate enough to visit, the service at the Hay-Adams takes the number one spot thanks to staff like Mario! If you are going to splurge, skip the big box hotel and go here :).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kkclardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear kkclardy,

I’m sure it will make Mario’s day when he learns you recognized him in a TripAdvisor review! We appreciate the kind words and hope to see you back at the Hay-Adams soon!

Warm regards,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

858 - 864 of 1,324 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

In business in DC and stayed here twice in May and June (yes I am behind). I stayed here in the past and loved it, Attentive yet not overbearing service and if you are touring DC, no better location as it is literally across from the White House. This represents the best in Washington DC. Highly recommend,.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank intrepidtravelerfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear intrepidtravelerfla,

Your positive remarks are very welcomed and appreciated! Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts about us, and we will see you upon your next visit to the city.

Warm regards,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I work and live in WDC area - whenever I need a great night sleep and quiet, I book at the Hay Adams. It provides immediate relaxation and privacy.

I always order in room dinning and the food is perfect with great service.

Anyone that needs to just breath, this is the place to book.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EER82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear EER82,

We’re honored to be your chosen staycation destination in the city! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you need some R & R.

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent two nights in a suite at the Hay-Adams this July 4th. It is on the north side of Lafayette Square, and the White House is on the south side of Lafayette Square. Talk about history, elegant style and charm! Tom, the pianist in the Lafayette Room, went to Eastman and has been pleasing diners at the Hay-Adams for several years. He is very popular. We walked to "Old Ebbett's Bar" across the street and mingled with the political crowd. The lower level bar in Hay-Adams is secluded and caters to politicians as well. John makes a great manhatten and rum tropical drink. The locals all think Hay-Adams is "the place to impress", and we agree. (Last year we stayed at the Sofitel down the street, but Hay-Adams is really more elegant. The crab cakes and service are sublime!

Room Tip: We had a Lafayette Square suite on fifth floor south which was pricey, but could have slept a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthernTransplant1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear SouthernTransplant1,

We are delighted you enjoyed the 4th of July at the Hay-Adams! Thank you for the wonderful compliments. Tom, John, our chef and the rest of our team will be very encouraged by your kind words. Look out for details about our 2014 4th of July celebration!

Warm regards,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I traveled with my wife to Washington DC to visit some close friends and to celebrate my 30th birthday. We decided to stay a night in downtown DC to have some time away and celebrate. We booked a Lafayette Park View room on a lower floor well in advance. Upon arrival at the hotel, they upgraded us to a "white house view" room on an upper floor. Below will describe our feelings about this hotel. We have stayed at many nice hotels across the country, but this was probably our favorite experience to date..

Location:
It is physically impossible to get a better location in DC. Look at a map. The majority of the "National Mall" is lined on the outside with government buildings that parallel the monuments, so it is very difficult to get any kind of view. They Hay-Adams sits on that perfect spot bordering Lafayette Park in front of the White House that allows their guests to overlook the White House, Washington Monument and Jefferson Memorial. See attached pictures - probably the most picturesque hotel room we have ever witnessed. Needless to say, it is very easy to get around to all the sites that you want to see while staying in DC.

Accommodations:
The room was not overly large, but also not small. There was a king sized bed, writing desk, several closets to hang clothes and several comfortable chairs to relax. The bathroom was nice, but nothing particularly special - double shower head in a combined tub. The great part is how well decorated and appointed everything is - chandelier over the bed, dimmers over the headboard, plush pillows and linens, Bose CD player / alarm clock, etc. However, our favorite part of the room was the french doors that opened up onto the balcony that overlooks the White House. Not something you can experience anywhere else..

Property:
The property is overall very well maintained. You can tell it is an old building, but they have really used that as part of the building character. Being so close to the White House, we constantly had secret service in the lobby / elevator with us. I believe they host a lot of political events. It does have a distinctly boutique feel, which I prefer to massive / stodgy mega-hotels.

Bar:
I would definitely recommend making a visit to "Off the Record", the bar downstairs in the Hay-Adams basement. You get the feeling that you could get some political deals done in here. Definitely an old-school feel with the red fabric on the large chairs and dim lights.

Service:
This is what really sets hotels apart. It seems that really nice hotels can have leave a bad experience with bad service. However, this was our favorite part of the Hay-Adams. From the time we checked in, everyone addressed us by name and wished Happy Birthdays. Not only did we receive a room upgrade, but also received champagne and birthday cake on a tray upon our return from dinner. Room service in the morning was very prompt (and expensive..) and was cooked perfect. The overall service of this hotel is immaculate.

In all, I don't know if we could have had a more perfect stay downtown if we had tried. It was just what we were looking for in a short getaway - great views, wonderful room, helpful staff, safe & immaculate facilities. I hope we can return again.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room facing Lafayette Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Spade05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Spade05,

I can’t tell you how much we appreciate you having taken the time to share your thoughts in such detail. It looks like you and your wife truly made the most of your stay at the Hay-Adams! We’re delighted to have had the chance to make both your birthdays memorable. We, too, hope that you will be able to return again!

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were staying just outside Washington with my daughter and her family for a couple of weeks and decided to stay in DC for two nights,and see the sights,it was the perfect hotel, great location,small but beautiful comfortable room, nice bar,John was very nice and help full.would like to come back and see more sights in Washington when the weather is cooler

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mary2144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear mary2144,

Thank you for the great review! I will pass along your kind words to John, and we hope you will have a chance to make it back for another visit.

Sincerely,
Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you're looking to stay at "the best of the best" then you're going to want to stay at the Hay Adams. The entire staff seems to have your comfort as their only concern, and every time we entered or left the hotel we felt like we were the only guests.

We've stayed at several other Leading Hotels of the World and the Hay Adams doesn't take a back seat to any or them. The locaiton is perfect, the staff remarkable, and we'll definitely return,

Room Tip: The John Hay suite on the 7th floor (704) has picture perfect views of the White House and Old Execu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lars502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Lars502,

I am delighted you had a memorable stay at the Hay-Adams. Indeed, the comfort of our guests is our highest priority, and I’m glad you’ve been able to experience that at other Leading properties! If you haven’t done so already, I would urge you to consider becoming a Leaders Club member. The membership offers wonderful customized amenities and benefits to loyal guests of Leading Hotels all over the world! You can learn more at lhw.com/leaders-club.

Warm regards,
Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
1,158 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
3,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
456 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#13 of 141 in Washington DC
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $362 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing