We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Hotel ......” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hay-Adams

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hay-Adams
Ranked #3 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel ......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Where do I begin, I had booked this hotel after reading many favourable trip advisors comments, I wanted to make the second part of our Ruby Wedding Celebration tour a chill out time after spending 6 vibrant days in New York City. Upon checking in we were warmly greeted by one and all, to our utter amazement the receptionist informed us that we has been upgraded with the room. Our room was on the fifth floor and overlooked the White House albeit the trees were in leaf but still a superb view. We sampled both restaurant and in room dining and could not fault anything, even the eggs were sunny side up at breakfast .... A big thank you to the Hay Adams for making our 40th Wedding Anniversary a most wonderful and memorable experience, I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tonyuk53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Tonyuk53,

Congratulations again on celebrating your 40th wedding anniversary! I am so glad we were able to help make it an unforgettable experience for you. I hope we can expect you back again for perhaps another celebration!

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    932
    148
    48
    16
    13
See reviews for
311
380
53
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have stayed many time at The Hay Adams, it is for me the best Hotel in DC. We got married there two years ago, and since it has been my hotel of choice. The service is irreproachable, the staff has been there for many years, so it is nice to go back and see familiar faces, they always recognized you from the front Office team, Restaurant Lafayette, The Off The Record , Sales & Reservation team, Housekeeping team. The amenities in the room are lovely, from the fragrance in the bathroom, very comfortable bedding, selection of music with your Bose System, music on at Turn Down with always a small amenities and chocolate. I even enjoyed the bathrobe so much that I have bought the same. Love the bar for lunch for the quietness atmosphere. And of course the location. This year we stayed there for 4 nights and we had the 4th of July package, I would suggest to anyone for a special occasion, it 's a must things to do before you die. Amazing view of the fireworks, great three courses diner, very good wine, and fantastic desert! Hotel very well managed, it is always very nice and often to see the General Manager and Hotel Manager in the lobby. Great Job, see you on our next visit to DC.

Room Tip: Of course a room with a view is great, but if not available I like the 30 on high floor facing the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nycp76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear paccardcj,

We are very touched by your kind words. Thank you for sharing in detail all your favorite things about the Hay-Adams. We are lucky to have a team of accountable individuals passionate about giving only the best service to our gracious guests. We deeply appreciate your loyalty, and we can’t wait to see you back in the city!

Our warmest regards,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

My family of 4 spent 4 nights at the Hay Adams a couple of weeks ago. We really appreciated the ambience, the quality of the rooms and the service. The hotel is not too big which makes it more personal, the decor is historic, but stylish, clean and well kept (not old and dowdy). The dining room is impressive, but not over bearing. It has the feeling of a small but grand european hotel.
With 2 small children we all squeezed into 1 room. I upgraded to a slighly larger room with a sofa bed, which was worth it. The rooms are well kept and presented. We did get a little noise from adjoining rooms, but no too bad.
The service was concistently good.
The location of the hotel, immediately across from the White House, is good for tourists.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel is everything you would expect for the classification. The staff are flawless, nothing is neglected. Location is perfect for walking to many highlights of the DC area, plus close to tours but not directly in line of the streams of tourists. Rooms are extremely comfortable for both pleasure and business travellers. Amenities are lovely. I can't comment on restaurant nor lounge as we were only 48 hours there and toured for every second we could. I would recommend and return to this hotel without hesitation, it's perfection.

Room Tip: We were in 514. If you sleep lightly, you may hear the soft chime of church bells from across the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lddisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Iddisme,

Thank you for the glowing review! We truly appreciate that you took the time to share some thoughts about your recent experience with us. I hope we can expect to welcome you back again, perhaps next time for a longer visit so that you may enjoy more of the city!

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have had a 1 day package to celebrate 4th of July. Excellent hotel and excellent choice for the event. The view of the White House combined with the view of the fireworks make it a great choice and worth all money spent. Staff very friendly, rooms at the expected quality, we will return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with view of the White House
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Razvan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This place is amazing. Love the decor, location, staff. Yes the rooms are a little small and it's expensive but for us it was worth it. We used our Amex platnium benefits which helped with the amenities

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cindymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We just stayed at the Hay-Adams Hotel for the 5th time. It is our favorite hotel. Refined, quiet, excellent service, great bar, divine restaurant, super bed.......this is a wonderful Hotel. Weekend rates are very fair. We had a room with view of the White House - worth paying a little extra for!
Neighborhood is safe for walking at night. No tourist and convention buses pulling up here!
Peaceful & lovely. Carol Hudgins, the reservations manager, was a pleasure to work with. This was a special anniversary trip and Carol as well as the dining room staff went out of their way to make our visit memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the White House - some have balconies. Second best - facing the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Arlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Arlene L,

Thank you for your wonderful words of praise, and especially for mentioning Carol. She and our team in the Lafayette will be thrilled to hear that they were able to help make your anniversary special.

Warm regards,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Property: The Hay-Adams
Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing