We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous, consistently wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hay-Adams

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hay-Adams
Ranked #2 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous, consistently wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We just stayed at the Hay-Adams Hotel for the 5th time. It is our favorite hotel. Refined, quiet, excellent service, great bar, divine restaurant, super bed.......this is a wonderful Hotel. Weekend rates are very fair. We had a room with view of the White House - worth paying a little extra for!
Neighborhood is safe for walking at night. No tourist and convention buses pulling up here!
Peaceful & lovely. Carol Hudgins, the reservations manager, was a pleasure to work with. This was a special anniversary trip and Carol as well as the dining room staff went out of their way to make our visit memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the White House - some have balconies. Second best - facing the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Arlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Arlene L,

Thank you for your wonderful words of praise, and especially for mentioning Carol. She and our team in the Lafayette will be thrilled to hear that they were able to help make your anniversary special.

Warm regards,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    930
    148
    48
    16
    13
See reviews for
311
379
52
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
135 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

I switched to this hotel from the Holiday Inn when my husband joined me in DC. It was like taking a breath of fresh air. I immediately felt at home. The decor was traditional like my own home. We had a very large living room and dining room with a full-sized bathroom off of that and then a big master bedroom with another bath. I believe it was called the St John's Church view suite because it overlooked that small old church. It also had a view of the White House and the VPs home but trees blocked the view of that. It was okay because I didn't need to look at those things. The service was impeccable. We had room service several times and it came within about 20 minutes. We had everything in the room from breakfast to dinners. The staff was extremely friendly - everyone from the maids to the bell men out front. We decided that we won't be able to stay anywhere else when we come to DC.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Openstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Openstudio,

Thank you for the phenomenal review! I can’t wait to share your gracious comments with our staff. They will be truly encouraged by your positive remarks. We are thrilled and delighted to be your new choice destination in DC!

Sincerely,
Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights at the Hay Adams and we really enjoyed ourselves. What really stood out for me was the outstanding concierge. Franziska made our time in D.C. amazing! You cannot beat the hotel's location and the hotel's old world charm and service. I felt however, that service in our rooms could've been improved. Also, we had a small unfortunate event with the laundry service- but this was dealt with very well by the staff. Other than these minor points, we had a great stay! And would definitely stay at the Hay Adams during our next visit to DC.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SID&AKAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear SID&KAY,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay at the Hay-Adams, and for going out of your way to mention Franziska! She bears wonderful knowledge of the city, and I’m glad she was able to help you make the most of your time in DC. She will certainly appreciate your positive comments. We can’t wait to welcome you back!

Warm regards,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

My friend and I shared a room with a Layfayette Park view....view of the trees. You cannot beat the location; perfect for walking to all of the sights. However, the bathroom of our room was VERY small, only one person at a time can get ready. The staff was friendly with the exception of the "overly" friendly waiter at the breakfast restaurant. He kept calling us "beautiful ladies", was touchy and just awkward. The service there was SLOW. I had to ask for more coffee constantly. I would suggest that the wait staff during breakfast be more attentive for sure. My friend and I are not demanding at all, but having to wait 5-10 minutes for coffee to be poured while the staff is chatting with one another is poor service.
We enjoyed our stay, again the location is superb, the staff in general friendly and helpful but the hotel room and restaurant service does not justify the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Akasully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Akasully,

I appreciate you taking time to review your recent stay at the Hay-Adams on TripAdvisor. I am alarmed that you were made to feel uncomfortable during your experience at breakfast in the Lafayette. This is not the typical warm, professional service standard that our wait staff delivers. Please be assured that I will review this example with the team so that we can reiterate our strong service standards immediately. While I understand your discomfort and frustration in what you have described, I hope that this incident did not prevent you from enjoying your time in the city.

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level Contributor
135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

The best hotel in town . An historical monument overlooking the White House . Superb rooms , very large and comfortable , great service , superb breakfasts in the beautiful dining room .A great bar too .. I love this hotel , definitely my best experience ever in Washington DC.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank brutravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear brutravel,

We appreciate the compliment, and thank you very much for your kind words!

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
275 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Attended a party in their top floor banquet area. View of the White House couldn't be beat. The food was fantastic. Unbelievable fresh seafood, crab cakes and lobster mac and cheese. Hotel is elegant and under stated.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Richard Y,

Thank you for sharing - your comments are everything we'd hope for from one of our guests!

Warm regards,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had supper in the 'off the record' bar downstairs and had the best lamb chops ever ! Brilliant atmosphere, great supper menu, impeccable service, great wines and cocktails and just a short walk from the Sofitel, where were staying (but don't tell them !)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sennokians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Property: The Hay-Adams
Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing