We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of The Hay-Adams

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hay-Adams
Ranked #1 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Spent 2 nights at the hotel during April. The service was excellent, everyone was kind and helpful. From check in to the housekeeping to bellmen. Great location close to everything, gorgeoous rooms, very quaint.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravellingFamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

935 - 941 of 1,349 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is wonderful! It has excellent service of a five star hotel! The view from the top of the hay is worth the whole price of the room. We stayed on the 5th floor in the corner of st peters church and the white house. It was a really nice view and feet away from lafayette park and the white house. It was a nice view from the room but the trees in april blocked the view a little, im sure in the winter when the trees are bare it probably is nice. The service was the best and unmatched by any other hotel ive besn too. You really feel like home.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AAPLtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This historical hotel met all of our needs. We were in town for a wedding and had an amazing time. The room was beautiful and concierge services were on point. Looking forward to return visit in the near future. The location (across the park from the White House) was ideal.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Kim B,

We look forward to your return visit as well! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Warm regards,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Hay Adams for 2 nights in March. Originally booked the hotel because of its fab location and views overlooking the White House but found it was so much more than that. Our room was spacious for an inner city room and well finished with lovely details. The bathroom was well equipped and had fresh toiletries daily, whilst the turn down service of an evening also left a small moulton brown sample which was a nice touch.

Service was exceptional from the restaurant staff to the concierge and reception team who were vey accommodating when we picked up our hire car on our way out of the city.

We ate breakfast both mornings of our stay which were well prepared and very tasty, we also had a lunch at the hotel on the day we left. Food was exceptional even if we felt a little under dressed!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JoG01_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear fish0ut0fwater,

I am truly delighted to hear you enjoyed your time at the Hay-Adams. We do our best to ensure that every one of our guests has a memorable and special experience, and that nothing is overlooked… but the White House! We hope to welcome you back for another visit.

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights in this hotel on a trip from the UK for a 40th birthday. Delightfully we were upgraded to a suite on the Lafayette Park side of the hotel, which offers great views.
The hotel is well located for a large walking tour of the best sights in the city and you can easily stroll over to Penn Quarter/Chinatown, where there is greater variety of restaurants.
The rooms are extremely well appointed and very comfortable and with all the amenities that you would expect of a LHW hotel.
Staff were universally great and helpful.
Some good late evening drinking is possible in the Off the Record bar as well!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ChrisAlner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Not only are you located within walking distance to all the must see sites in D.C. but the personal service and greetings from all the staff members of this hotel made us feel as though we were staying in a family owned B&B. The room was perfect. We stayed on the 5th floor with a view of Lafayette Park. Since the trees were still bare, we also had a view of the White House. The room was a perfect size for 2 people. A very generous breakfast allowance at the Lafayette was included with our stay which we took advantage of every morning before a long day of site seeing. The breakfast menu was excellent and the service there too was amazing. Special thanks to Leah and Giovanni (I am not sure I spelled his name correct). I cannot say enough good things about this place and we will certainly plan to stay here the next time we are in D.C.

Room Tip: Room 506 - perfect size for 2 and if you go while the trees are still bare you have a nice view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Terri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Terri L,

I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the Hay-Adams! Thank you for sharing your positive thoughts with the TripAdvisor public. I will certainly pass along your kind remarks to Leah and Geovanny. Please come see us again upon your return to DC!

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I revisited Hay-Adams in Washington D.C. this past week-end and once again found the property a delightful experience. Although the rooms are relatively small, they are quite comfortable and well appointed. The plumbing is good, the beds are firm, and the walls are effective at keeping the outside noise to a mimimum. I find the hotel's greatest assests to be it's prime location, across Pennsylvania Avenue from the White House (in fact, I saw the President attend Easter services at the church across the street from the hotel) and an exceptional staff. The hotel's restaurant is very good for breakfast, but better options outside the hotel for lunch and dinner. This hotel is a great value.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the White House on the 4th or 5th floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
1,186 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#42 of 141 in Washington DC
523 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $376 - $651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing