We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A perfect long weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hay-Adams

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hay-Adams
Ranked #4 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A perfect long weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I took a long weekend in Washington to celebrate our 48th anniversary. We chose the Hay-Adams because we prefer old-fashioned and intimate elegance, rather than modern, more impersonal and interchangeable hotels, even the high-end ones. The Hay-Adams lived up to our expectations completely.

Our room on the fourth floor overlooks Lafayette Park, directly to the White House and the Washington Monument behind it. The view and the downtown location could not be better. Our room itself was spacious and comfortable. It includes all the expected amenities and more -- ranging from an iron and ironing board to a Bose music system, along with fine linens and a down duvet. The wi-fi was free, as it too-often is not, and so was was the shoeshine, available every night. Our room service breakfasts were delicious and sumptuous and served promptly on a wheeled table with food warmer beneath.

When we arrived in the beautiful paneled lobby with a massive floral display, we were warmly greeted and, from then on, most staff addressed us by name. Without exception, from doorman to chambermaid to concierge, everyone was polite, friendly and eager to be helpful.

Although our bathroom was not large, it had every feature one would expect. The turn-down service was meticulous, including a linen mat and slippers at bedside, along with very luxurious bathrobes.

When we called room service and the front desk and housekeeping, our calls were answered not later than the second ring, and the responses to our requests were immediate.

The concierge was knowledgeable and helpful in answering our questions and suggesting things to see.

We had lunch twice at "Off the Record," the downstairs pub at the hotel. The service was excellent, as were our meals. Indeed, the clear fish broth served as the soup du jour one day was as fine an example of simple exquisite cooking as I can imagine.

In sum, the Hay-Adams is, in my opinion, the epitome of old world elegance and personal service, a very rare thing to find nowadays.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Lafayette Park, the White House and the Washington Monument.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jacques1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    139
    45
    16
    13
See reviews for
287
338
49
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel is in an outstanding location with great views of the White House. The food at the hotel is very good and the staff at the hotel are wonderful. This has to be one of the finest hotels in D.C. IT is pricey but will really make your stay even more memorable.

Easy access to the Metro to get anywhere in D.C. also.

I did not see or use the pool or spa.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the White House or church across the street from the hotel (the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbs, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We just spent a long weekend at The Hay-Adams in DC and it was marvelous. My daughter and I just wanted to relax and spend time together and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel. Our family loves to stay at nice hotels, so I feel like we are a good judge and have seen a lot all over the world. The Hay-Adams was a delight. The service was outstanding. The people were friendly. We truly felt like we were coming home. The food was amazing!!! We ate in the restaurant and also in our room and it was so good. The amenities that were provided were also a delight - just in the way everything was presented. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beckey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

There are no words to describe how amazing this hotel is. We used it as our wedding venue this past September. The establishment itself is rich with history and the ambiance is immaculate. Our guests had an amazing evening with outstanding “white glove” service and specialty foods that were prepared just as we requested (hard to find that these days). We worked with a stellar duet of catering managers, Rebecca and Allison, that delivered everything they promised plus 200% more. All elements of the reception were executed to a “T” thanks to Rebecca’s experience and passion to make our wedding stellar. She knows exactly how to make an experience unforgettable. My groom has never smiled so much in his entire life. He absolutely “loved” the place from the moment we took our original tour!

The view at the Top of the Hay is breathtaking as it overlooks the White House and Lafayette Park with the National Monument and Jefferson Memorial in the close distance which all look amazing at sunset. Our guests spent so much time taking in the view and raved about the food and service. We even had a little “midnight snack” for our guests that was prepared perfectly and portions were on point!

When booking a wedding at the Hay Adams, they provide you with a BEAUTIFUL hotel suite for the newlyweds! And this is not just any suite, ours was located on the corner of 16th and H corner of the hotel which allowed us to continue to capture the view of the White House the day after our wedding. Our hotel room also had two small pillows with our initials embroidered on them. A great gift to take with us!

We have also dined in both hotel restaurants and both are great!

I would recommend anyone to this establishment for events, dining, or for the hotel accommodations!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We came to DC for a weekend getaway and booked a two night stay at the Sofitel (based on the Trip Advisor rating).However, after spending the first night we decided to move to the nearby Hay-Adams, and we were very glad we did. The minute you walk into the lobby you immediately see the difference.
The room (we booked a Lafayette Park view king but got upgraded to a junior suite with the same view) was phenomenal. It was large, very nicely decorated, beautiful moulded ceiling, ornamental fireplace, incredibly comfortable bed, working desk, enough lounging space and still plenty of room to move around. The views of the park and the White House were incredible. The bathroom was on the small side, but it was nicely appointed and had all the amenities one expects in the hotel of this calibre, including the most comfortable bath robes I've ever seen in the hotel. Room service (particularly breakfast) was very prompt, both the quality and the presentation of the food were above hotel grade. They accomodated all our special "not on the menu" requests.
Everything was spotless, yet we never saw any of the housekeeping staff. There were chocolates and lip balm left on the bed after the turn-down service.
If I had to nitpick, I'd suggest the the stationary showerhead be replaced with a more modern rain style showerhead. But that did not in any way affect our stay.
Overall, this is an incredible hotel, and we will be happy to stay there during our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My first visit. Met my guest in the downstairs bar. We had lunch there. Excellent food, steak out of this world. Service thoughtful and unfussy. So satisfied I had lunch there on the second day. As good as the first. Splendid kindness from Mark at the Conciergery.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaudeRains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We arrived quite late after battling traffic and weather driving down from NYC...only to be upgraded to a ridiculous suite overlooking the White House. And then the experience just got better.

The location is obviously amazing, walking distance to everything and enjoy a view of the white house from your room. The service is first class, discreet but ever present...which is tough to pull off. The basement bar is a wonderful spot for a night cap or a cold drink after a day of walking through museums and around the city. I'm not a big brunch person, but we had the formal sunday brunch and it was phenomenal. Ask nicely and they'll take you up to the roof (after getting the OK from secret service) for a birds eye view of the white house, super cool.

This is a really old hotel and that comes with good and bad. The floors might creak a bit and the bathrooms are not the giant spa-like experiences found in many newer hotels at this price point. I personally love how much history is in and around the hotel and embraced everything that comes with it, just not everybody's cup of tea.

I wont stay anywhere else in DC, this is as good as it gets.

Room Tip: If going here and paying the steep price of admission I would splurge for a view of the white house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank COTraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear COTraveler81,

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for giving such well-rounded comments. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the future. We hope we can make the Hay-Adams your “home away from home”!

Sincerely,
Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 985 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,913 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#14 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,142 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Property: The Hay-Adams
Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing