We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Joining the chorus of praise”
Review of The Hay-Adams

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hay-Adams
Ranked #2 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here in a pair of connecting rooms. We had a view of Lafayette Park. The service was first-rate and I thought the rooms were very comfortable. We took advantage of every aspect of the hotel: the first-rate breakfasts, lunch, and dinner in the restaurant, the Off the Record bar, and a room service breakfast. Room service was just fine, but I found it more interesting to have breakfast downstairs, where you can try to guess which famous politico is at the next table. I even used the laundry service, because in hot weather you have to change your shirts, etc., much more often than you'd expect. I suppose there are other great hotels in D.C., but I can't imagine wanting to be anywhere else.

Room Tip: In the winter, the view from the Lafayette Park rooms includes the White House. Before the leaves fa...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,288)
There are newer reviews for The Hay-Adams
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

919 - 925 of 1,288 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hay-Adams. We stayed in one of the Kind bed, Lafayette Park view rooms. The staffs warm welcome and pleasant customer service tact was great. Hotel sits in a great spot, and if a partial view of the White House is important... it is a good choice. Rooms are big, beds comfortable. But... this is an older hotel.. charming yes.. but it has its drawbacks . 1.) it must have the slowest wireless router still in production used to service the Hotel's wireless , my 3G was faster. 2.) towels were nice but not nice enough to match the level that the Hay Adams seems to evoke, rather small bath towel. There were other items that just did not match the price difference between this hotel and other fine hotels in the area. A king bed room with a view and many other hotels would have been almost half the cost. This place was great, people were great... but nothing over the top to warrant the price for the room. Also note , Lafayette Park rooms are noisy... this is not a quiet park or intersection you are facing .

Room Tip: Unless a partial glimpse of the White House makes your day... and you really want to be here... you...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Artificious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrulandHA, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Artificiosus,

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns. I am very sorry that your recent stay with us left you dissatisfied. I will certainly address the network speed with our service provider to resolve it. Feedback from thoughtful guests is critical for us in making steps to improve our services. As we prepare for our purchases in 2013, the size of towels will be taken into consideration so that we may leave our guests with a more luxurious impression.

Warm Regards,

Hans Bruland
VP / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Everyone knows that in the real estate world, location ranks highest on the scale for best properties! In Washington DC, the epitome of that old adage is the Hay-Adams! My husband and I recently visited DC and spent a few days at one of the best locations in the city. Walking out the front door and turning, voila - The White House! Being able to walk the city is one of the best ways to feel Washington DC, almost like strolling Paris. The proximity to the museums and the great restaurants within walking distance took all of the stress out of our travel experience. Each time we left and returned we were greeted by name and offered assistance. We ate at both of the hotel restaurants; the bar and the main dining room. The atmosphere in the bar is electric, you can feel the pulse of this powerhouse city, rubbing elbows with many of our elected officials of the U.S. Lunch at the dining room was a gourmet luxury. The service and choices were above average and we both agreed that our decision to experience this historical hotel was one of our best!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the White House to enhance your stay!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wineconosewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on holiday in September - and let me reassure you that everything about this hotel oozes quality. The location was the main reason for booking, but within a few minutes we realised there was so much more to this small gem of a hotel. The service was immaculate, nothing was too much. They were even kind enough to give us a quick tour of the top floor so we could soak up the stunning view of the White House and beyond.
Although there was so much to do around the city, it was so reassuring and relaxing to come back to our beautiful room (overlooking the church with the Juliet balcony). Drinking in Off The Record and eating in the Lafayette offered us wonderful drinks and food. The whole trip was topped off with the special efforts they made because it was our anniversary.
A very special hotel in a great location with effortless service. Do you really need anymore?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MarkAndJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here in May 2012 for my sister in law's wedding. The service was absolutely amazing - the staff allowed us to bring our two young puppies with us for the weekend and helped us to make arrangements with the dog nanny for the hotel so that she could watch our puppies while we attended the ceremony and reception. The men at the front door knew us by first name, and all of the staff went above and beyond. The wedding was beautiful, and the Top of the Hay is a spectacular location for a reception with a breathtaking view of the White House! Our room was a bit small, but the service was amazing.

Room Tip: Rooms are a bit small, so make sure to upgrade for a larger room. Request a room with a view!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaitlinSmith54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a really elegant hotel though scaled so it is not off putting. The location could not be better. Our room looked out over Lafayette Park, the leaves beautiful for autumn. We had some bumps getting into our room (late) and luggage snafus (couldn't seem to get it to us) and our first night going out for a cab, we wondered if we were invisible. But the staff worked hard to overcome these start-up issues, and we had a very pleasant stay. When returning to DC, I suspect we'll overlook these issues and make the same choice again. Our room, a junior suite, had 5 large windows, which I LOVED and was very attractively and comfortably decorated. The bedding was some of the best there is. On the downside, the bathroom was tiny -- marginal by comparison. Only a Holiday Inn level tub w/ shower (no over-sized tub or separate shower), and the faucet handle fell off when used. Single lav with virtually no counter space.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Lives up to its reputation.
Excellent location
Excellent (and spacious) rooms with excellent fittings and décor.
Excellent facilities.
Extremely accommodating staff.

All in all – Excellent - You could not ask for better.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
1,127 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
3,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
434 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $364 - $645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing