We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All good, except "business center"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Ranked #60 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Great location. Large, clean rooms with special touches. Friendly, helpful staff. The restaurant and bar downstairs are also exceptional. One pet peeve: the computer near the lobby costs $8 for 15 minutes. Why, if one is already paying over $200 a night? Just doesn't seem right.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,264)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Hotel Madera
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

624 - 630 of 1,264 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

Having stayed in many Kimpton properties in the area I already had relatively high expectations for this place and it did not disappoint. The staff here is extremely friendly (I even caught one of the housekeepers hit the button on the elevator for me as I approached) and the rooms are well appointed.

I had dinner at Firefly a couple nights and the food was wonderful.

My only knocks (Which are pretty minor and will not prevent me from staying here in the future) are as follows:

--> You can hear the elevators run from your room. The hotel layout is a U-shape around the elevators, therefore don't think you can get away from hearing the elevator motors, however soft background music drowns it out.

--> The bathrooms (Toilet and shower only) are extremely small. Folks who are claustrophobic may have concerns.

All in all a nice place to stay. I would not say this is my favorite Kimpton in the area (This probably goes to the Lorien in Alexandria) however a great place to stay in a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room ending in '03' to get a balcony facing the embassy across the street.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbrenneman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

It seems like this older property was a conversion from residential at some point. There is almost no lobby, which is usually a Kimpton gathering point for their complementary evening wine and morning coffee. The rooms have a spacious living/sleeping area, but also has bathrooms that seem the minimum size by building code. The closets are oddly wide yet shallow. There seemed to be a locked door to nowhere inside the room, and it wasn't a connecting room from what I could tell.
To clarify the headline: "Hip attire" = the hotel has all the cool fabrics and colors that you expect from a Kimpton. It looks good. "boring conversation" = once you get past the good looks, there isn't a lot there to talk about. No amenities other than a neighboring restaurant.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are on the same side of the hotel as the restaurant entrance. If you like to leave you...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrequentFlyerFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My husband, daughter, granddaughter and I stayed for 7 nights at the Madera. We were all very pleased with the room, the location, and the staff. The first morning after our arrival we discovered the faucet in the tub only ran HOT or COLD..nothing in between. We called down and this was the was taken care of by the time we got back that afternoon. We were given vouchers for wine for the inconvenience. Everyone at the front desk was very friendly and very helpful.
The location is great. close to the Metro and many restaurants. Made for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassie1848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The Madera is the 4th Kimpton we've stayed at. It is the smallest one we've been to, and I would recommend it for any family visiting DC. It is in a charming neighborhood filled with beautiful old buildings and a variety of great restaurants. Two short blocks from the south entry to the Dupont circle metro (and from there very close to the Smithsonian, etc)…and on the way to the metro are a convenience store, 2 banks, and several places to get coffee. There are 10 floors and each has only 9 rooms, so it really does not have the feel of a larger hotel or even the larger Kimptons we've been to. The best part was the staff -- they could not have been better. They catered to our every need and made us feel like true guests. At the nightly wine reception, they brought my son a non-alcoholic beverage. When we went out, they remembered us and asked about our experience when we returned. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdsgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The staff is lovely! Our room was clean and very cozy. It's an old building and it shows. Loved the fish bowl, yoga room, and animal print robes. The Fire Fly restaurant has amazing menu - think healthy organic (pricey). I loved coming back to the hotel after a full day of sight seeing and being greeted by a lovely glass of wine (or two) at the lobby. Our stay was way better than we imagined. We never had a bad meal on Dupont Circle. Every single meal was absolutely amazing (not cheap). That being said, I didn't see many families in the area (we have 3 young children). Overall great place, Metro stations nearby, easy to get around, great food. If it had a work out room I would rate it excellent.

Room Tip: We had a room in back of hotel, 7th floor and it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matatca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is fabulous hotel - from the pleasant reception at the front desk to the spacious, newly renovated room to the half price hybrid car parking! When I booked the room online I requested a crib for our son - it was already in the room when we arrived. Everyone was helpful and friendly. The room was spotless and huge! I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#75 of 142 in Washington DC
1,288 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 142 in Washington DC
2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,194 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Madera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Madera

Address: 1310 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $136 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Madera 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Madera is an intimate, elegant boutique hotel nestled in Washington DC's historic and fashionable Dupont Circle neighborhood. Within walking distance of the White House, Georgetown and the city's monuments and museums, this Kimpton Hotel offers personalized service, luxurious amenities and an atmosphere of refined sophistication. The guestrooms are stylishly tranquil, and the gracious and knowledgeable staff genuinely pampers. Conveniently adjacent is the notable Firefly Bistro featuring contemporary American comfort food and a seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Madera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel Madera Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing