We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mid-priced hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Ranked #59 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you are looking for a good mid-priced hotel in Dupont Circle, try the Hotel Madera. The rooms are well designed, very clean, although the bathrooms are very very small. The service is great.
Ask for an upgrade if you a Kimpton InTouch member and ask for a room in the back of the hotel, not over the restaurant.
The restaurant is not very good. Noisy and nothing special about the food. There are many choices in Dupont -- try another place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back and not close to the elevator. Unless you have a dog with you -- make su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LL56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear LL56, we loved having you stay with us in the Hotel. So sorry you didnt find our Firefly restaurant special. It can get a little loud in there because they are so full with locals and guests a like. Next time you visit we'll make sure you have a great meal at Firefly. Thanks again and see you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

723 - 729 of 1,287 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Loved this hotel!  Don't let the understated lobby/entrance fool you.  I have to admit that upon my arrival I was concerned with having chosen this hotel.    After my stay I am a  huge fan of the Kimpton Brand.  The customer service is top notch in a very sincere way. The staff was very accommodating and went out of the way to make my stay a great experience.  The room was a very nice size, very clean and very comfortable.    The location is about 1 1/2 blocks from the DuPont Circle Metro Station.  It was about 15-20 minutes by cab to Reagan National Airport.  There are a fair number of restaurant/bar and coffee shops within walking distance.  For all future travel plans I will check to see if there is a Kimpton hotel in the vicinity. 

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8la4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear 8la4, Wow, we loved having you as our Guest!!! Yes, there are several great restaurants in the Dupont Circle neighborhood, but we hope you ate at our Firefly restaurant. There pot roast is delicious!! Thanks for the review and we do hope you always stay with us at the Madera. Thanks, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Beautiful lobby, lovely room, superb service by Nicole and the rest of the staff. Absolutely fantastic. This is the first time in all my years to have a treadmill in my room, with its own tv in its own alcove. The kids love the goldfish, too.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Mommyubet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Mommyubet, we couldnt be happier that you and your family had a wonderful visit! Aren't hte goldfish great!? Thanks so much for staying with us and we hope to see you again, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Hotel Madera is our home away from home. It not only has a a superior location off DuPont Circle, it has the friendliest and helpful staff ever. Their wine hour is a sublime and intimate experience, where we have had the most engaging conversations with an amazing array of personalities from all over the world. We continue to stay at the Madera, and feel better every time we do.

Room Tip: Choose a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Hello Bob P, we don't want to be a secret! Thank you for the review and telling the world!! Please visit again soon! Thanks, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My daughter and I spent the July 4th weekend at the hotel Madera. We had a fabulous time--great location, great restaurants including Firefly and friendly staff!

We will definitely stay here again and we are very picky people!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Sharon E, I love that we met your very high expectations!!! It's ok to be picky as you say, you deserve it! Thanks for staying with us during your trip to Washington with your daughter. Please visit us again soon!! Thanks, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is the first time I have stayed at a Kimpton Hotel. I am very pleased with the accomodation at Hotel Madera. I found an awesome deal on the hotel's website for an early bird special during 4th of july week and weekend. Upon arrival, I was upgraded to a balcony room and given a 10.00 credit to the mini-bar for being a member of the Intouch loyaly program. Wow! Already off to a great start. My room was very spacious and very very clean. The bathroom is small, but the sink is outside of the bathroom and there is plenty of room to brush your teeth and do your hair. I slept very good each night of my stay. I did not hear any noise from the hallway or the rooms beside me but the hotel was full to capacity. So that was awesome! It was really hot in dc this past weekend and they had fruit flavored water waiting for you in the lobby. Also, they had cold towels. That was great! After walking around all day and sightseeing, that was a refreshing treat. Check in and check out was a breeze! Everybody was super friendly. I will recommend this hotel to my family and friends and I cannot wait to try out some other Kimpton properties. I love love love to travel!!! Thanks Kimpton!

Room Tip: Join their Intouch loyaly program for extra perks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lea2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Hello Lea2611, welcome to Kimpton!!!!! So happy that you stayed with us over the holiday weekend and that we've now made a Madera and Kimpton guest for life!!!! Sounds like it was a very relaxing visit even with all of the July 4th heat. Thanks again and see you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I wish I could rate this hotel somewhere between average and very good. 'Average' seems too harsh but it's not quite to level of 'very good'.

The good:
The rooms are very nice (except for some carpet staples starting to poke through the carpet near the bathroom door-multiple ouches from the entire family) and our queen room with a sofa was huge. Plenty of space for a family of 4. The location is very convenient to Dupont Circle and the Metro. The staff was hit and miss. Michael helped us with check-in and was a pleasure throughout the process. Others, well...

The bad:
While the rooms were large, they had an odd layout and you would think a little more space could have gone to the bathroom and less to frivolous extras. As others have noted, you have to drag your luggage through 2 sets of manual doors-no doorman or valet to help. Maybe it's because of the small lobby but the hotel never had the multiple, smiling, friendly faces that you become accustomed to at other Kimptons. Rarely did anyone acknowledge your presence. Maybe it was due to a holiday weekend and they were running on a minimal staff. The Madera was cheaper than other DC area Kimptons and I guess you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have balconies but overlook a street with current construction work. Rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SleepDazed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear SleepDazed, thanks so much for posting your review. I appreciate both sides of feedback to praise and correct any issues. I am truly sorry the Staff you encountered were not friendly and smiling. This is one of the strengths of the Madera is our friendly warm service. I am truly sorry and will use your feedback to help train our Team. Again my sincerest apologies but I do hope you return to the Madera. Thanks, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#71 of 141 in Washington DC
1,313 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
3,325 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#41 of 141 in Washington DC
569 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#82 of 141 in Washington DC
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Madera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Madera

Address: 1310 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $108 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Madera 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Madera is an intimate, elegant boutique hotel nestled in Washington DC's historic and fashionable Dupont Circle neighborhood. Within walking distance of the White House, Georgetown and the city's monuments and museums, this Kimpton Hotel offers personalized service, luxurious amenities and an atmosphere of refined sophistication. The guestrooms are stylishly tranquil, and the gracious and knowledgeable staff genuinely pampers. Conveniently adjacent is the notable Firefly Bistro featuring contemporary American comfort food and a seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Madera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel Madera Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing