We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going To The Dogs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Ranked #55 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Going To The Dogs”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you travel with your dog or cat, you will like this hotel. If you have allergies to animal dander, stay away. This is a pet-friendly chain that allows dogs to hang around the lobby with their owners, with animals often sitting on upholstered chairs in lobby. Expect to share an elevator with someone's pet and be prepared for the possibility of dander, pet hair (or fleas) where you least expect it. It is not u common to hear a yapping dog going at it every time someone walks near the unit where the dog is staying...especially if the animal is left alone while owners are out.
The hotel itself is decent. Good location, five minute walk to DuPont circle and Foggy Bottom metros. Rooms are nicely furnished with comfy beds, flat screen TV, etc. but generally the rooms are small and bathrooms tiny. The lobby of the hotel is a small corridor about 10x30 feet that leads from front entrance to a small check in desk. There is no real lobby to hang out in or meet with people. It is a decent hotel if you are ok sharing it with pets...other than that, it is not so impressive and you might get more bang for your buck elsewhere. I also need to add that the hotel neglected to make a requested wake-up call one morning. Fortunately we had a back up alarm. This is not what you would expect from a top notch establishment. They are doing sewer line construction along New Hampshire avenue, so if you don't want to hear heavy machinery in the morning, ask for a room that doesn't face the main street.

Room Tip: Construction of sewer lines along New Hampshire brings a lot of early morning noise from heavy machi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olga_from_Berkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Olga_From_Berkeley, we so sorry your visit "went to the dogs." Yes we are a pet friendly Hotel, we do love our 4-legged friends but of course need our 2-legged Guests happy as well. We do strive to our dogs to our pet floor and do deep cleaning of any rooms a pet has been in. I apologize this wasnt to your liking. I also do apologize the city is doing construction in front of the Hotel. It's hard to slow progress but thankfully it is soon done. I appreciate your comments and thanks for the reivew, Modi Ahmed General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    361
    127
    44
    19
See reviews for
225
382
97
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

As always this Kimpton hotel did not disappoint. It is in a great location near Dupont Circle and walkable to other attractions. The rooms are a good size and though the bathroom was small it did not detract from the room overall. We had a corner room and some of the rooms have balconies, which are rare in DC. The lobby is small which makes the complementary wine hour quaint. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are probably larger and the rooms with balconies are nice.
See more room tips
Green Features: I love that Kimpton promotes environmentally friendly practices.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonjelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear moonjelly, great name btw. We are so glad we didnt disappoint. Hopefully you'll return again and again every time you visit Washington DC. Thanks for the review. See you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernvale
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Great hotel in great location! Wonderfully helpful and fun staff in both the hotel and the restaurant. Loved the sense of humour of the animal print bathrobes! Also really loved the two massive beds, the separated office area, the drinks in the afternoon and the closeness to book shops, bars, metro stations and fabulous breakfast restaurants. Wanted to try out the other Kimptons ............. And I will one day!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hello Chrissie B, I hope you try all the Kimpton hotels too!!! Sounds like your Madera experience created a Kimpton Guest for life. Woohoo!!! We've got you now! Thanks for the review and don't forget to return to the Madera, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Choose hotel after looking at several others on internet and was extremely please. First class in all respects. Service was top notch and room was very clean and descent size. Great location also. Restaurant was excellent with good menu choices and reasonable prices. Several cool pubs in area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Troy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hello Troy Z, did you take a bus trip to the Madera? Well if you did, that's excellent!! Glad oyu had a great experience. Plus bring that bus back to the Madera again and again! Thanks and see you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The Good: Convenient to Dupont Circle area, room size is good, rooms were relatively clean and well appointed but in that tacky cheap Kimpton fashion (pier 1 prints on walls, animal print bathrobes, mis-matched lamps - all furniture looked like a mish mosh from 10 other hotels). Free internet and $10 minibar credit (but of course you have to join their frequent guest program to get it, so I anticipate tons of nonsense email spam to save the $20 bucks).

The Bad: Service was non existent. Be warned - this hotel has no lobby - there's literally a podium with one person behind it called the front desk and 2 chairs and a table - more like a hallway. So - if you're looking for a hotel lobby feel this ain't it - more like an apt building entryway. Supposed to be a continental breakfast available from 6a daily (this is also written on their website) - however when calling the "annoyed" front desk person they told me "restaurant opens at 9a" and room service didn't start until 8:15 - how the heck can you get a damn cup of coffee in this joint if you have to be someplace early - FIX YOUR WEBSITE - or better yet - start accommodating your guest needs or put coffee makers in the rooms. There's tons of construction going on in the road in front of the hotel so taxi access is near impossible and tons of traffic.

Overall: Way too many other options in DC - and this wasn't one of the cheapest but it was certainly one of the most forgettable hotel experiences. Try elsewhere unless desperate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kellyfeels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear kellyfeels, I appreciate all of the good that you wrote, but I'm very concerned about the "bad" you wrote about. Yes, it's true our Lobby is not a grand lobby like some other Hotels. Many of our Guests do appreciate this since it does feel like their own little home or apartment building in Washington. I am concerned about you stating that our website says there is a continental breakfast at 6am. I reviewd the website and cannot find this information. PLease let me know where you saw it so i can have this corrected asap. My apologies for any confusion. I thank you for your patience and do truly hope you visit again, Modi Ahmed General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I've stayed at the Madera twice in the last two months and while the rooms were clean and beds comfortable i think its one of the weaker kimpton properties. Its got the same great kimpton amenities.. ie $10 mini bar credit, free wifi which makes me a loyal kimpton customer but both times the shower faucet handle was broken or loose, the tub was a cheap fiberglass that flexed when you stood in it and i saw a roach in the tub. The rooms were spacious however there a roaring noise that either is from the elevator or nearby vent that roared throughout the evening. Overall, its ok for a short one night stay given the price but you can probably get the same at a courtyard type hotel. Also there is nothing there, nothing.. no deli, no drugstore withing reasonable walking. The metro is a bit of a hike too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nycoolchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear nycoolchick, I am so sorry about the issues you found with the bathroom. Our Housekeeping and Engineering teams take great pride in providing our Guests a room that is clean and in good working order. I thank you for your feedback so we can repair the items you listed. I am surprised about your comments about nothing in the area. There is a 24 hr CVS pharmacy 2 blocks away, a great local deli just across the street, and the Dupont Circle metro station is 2 blocks away as well. We do appreciate your feedback so we can corerct the items you listed. Thanks again, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed at the Madera for work and loved my deluxe room! The reception area is tiny, but a nice place to gather around for wine hour in the evenings, or morning coffee. Nicole and Fernando were outstanding and I wish all hotels had staff like the two of them, super friendly, efficient, and very attentive. I was pleasantly surprised when I found a yoga mat in my closet. The only thing that would need improvement is their business center which has only one computer and if you need to use the Internet the service is not free. The Firefly restaurant at the hotel was delicious and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat_B_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Nat_B_7, so glad Nicole and Fernando provided a wonderful experience for you. They are gems at the Madera. Glad you enjoyed Firefly Restaurant. The new summer menu is coming out, I hope you return to try it! Thanks again and see you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#83 of 140 in Washington DC
1,216 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 140 in Washington DC
1,985 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
2,919 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#91 of 140 in Washington DC
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Madera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Madera

Property: Kimpton Hotel Madera
Address: 1310 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Madera 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Madera is an intimate, elegant boutique hotel nestled in Washington DC's historic and fashionable Dupont Circle neighborhood. Within walking distance of the White House, Georgetown and the city's monuments and museums, this Kimpton Hotel offers personalized service, luxurious amenities and an atmosphere of refined sophistication. The guestrooms are stylishly tranquil, and the gracious and knowledgeable staff genuinely pampers. Conveniently adjacent is the notable Firefly Bistro featuring contemporary American comfort food and a seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Madera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel Madera Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing