We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Nearby Hotels
$191
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $238/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$113
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni Shoreham Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $188/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$174
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$130
$116
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $160/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$140
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$179
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,329)
Filter reviews
1,329 results
Traveler rating
725
387
145
50
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
725
387
145
50
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfirefly restaurantdupont circlebalcony roomnew hampshirewine hourtiny lobbyyoga mattoilet and showersink areaanimal print robesapartment buildingwine receptionsmall hotelmini barfront desk staffdefinitely stay here againdc area
Filter
Updating list...
819 - 824 of 1,329 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My daughter and I were in town visiting universities and stayed for 3 nights. It was really cold in D.C. and it was a pleasure each time we returned to the hotel! We found smiling faces, warm greetings, and even hot apple cider in the afternoon. The staff is great and everyone was very helpful. I barely noticed the renovations that were underway. The restaurant was very good also. We went for breakfast one morning and dinner one evening. Both times we thought the menu had nice selections, the food was very good and the service was excellent!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Jeanie V, thanks for staying with us during your daughters college search. We hope she chose one of the great universities nearby the Madera so we can have you as our Guests for the next 4 years!!! Thanks for the review, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

There's construction outside, and renovation inside... and still it was a delightful stay. We had a fair number of mishaps due to the renovation, but each was so minor I wouldn't want to even mention them. Still, the staff was lovely and helpful with each issue and on their own, presumably because they felt badly that we had repeated problems, they insisted on comping our stay. I don't know what more you could ask and we will be delighted to stay there on our next trip. And while all the staff was lovely, my young daughters would definitely want me to give a shout out to Fernando who made them giggle from the minute he helped them out of the car. By the way, the room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was a bit cramped but served our needs. And we had a nice brunch on Sunday at Firefly, the hotel's restaurant. Room service wasn't available late so we ventured into the cold for a treat... something to keep in mind if you're a late night snacker.

Room Tip: Our room had a treadmill, which would have been nice had we been prepared.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetgirl236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear sweetgirl236, thank you so much for your patience during our renovation and the city street construction. It can at times be a little disruptive. But the good news is we are finishing our lovely renovation this week! The new rooms look great! I hope you got to stay in one during your visit. If not, that means you need to return! Yes, Fernando is a rock star and a comedian. Everyone loves him! Thanks for the review and please visit soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Wonderful place & great staff. They allow pets and although we didn't have one the dogs we met in and out of the lobby did not cause one sound or any issues. Lobby is small and there is a lot of interaction w guests. It made it fun - coffee, morning papers, free wine at end of day all in this gathering area

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Lisa B, thanks for writing the review!! Yes, free wine in the lobby helps provide some fun in our lobby at the end of the day. I'm excited to see you would absolutely stay again. I'm holding you to that so we cant wait to see you again. See you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The location is good for Metro and local food. The room we had was very good and spacious although bathroom a bit tight ( not a deal breaker for us). We had 4 nights.
Staff very good (Kiah was extremely good).
Firefly restaurant is a real bonus.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gibbo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Gibbo33, thanks for posting a review of your visit all the way from Australia! So great to have you stay at the Madera during your visit to Washington. Thank you that your bathroom size didnt break the deal. And bigger thanks in letting us know that Kiah at the Front Desk providied with great service. She is a real asset to the Hotel. Thanks again for the review. Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed here for two nights during a business trip. I was already impressed by the pre-arrival reminders and emails I received from the hotel. It's not easy to tell from the exterior that it is a hotel, because the restaurant takes up most of the realty out front. I was a little surprised and confused about the lobby because there was on a small podium for check-in and then a large table and a couch which was occupied by guests taking advantage of the free wine reception. I was checked in right away and offered a glass of wine to take with me. Room service was fast (20 minutes!) and the food was good. The location was very convenient to the metro and Dupont Circle area. Someone charged a restaurant meal to my room and when I complained at check out, they immediately removed it from my bill. I was impressed by this hotel and will probably stay there again! The only downsides include the lobby being incredibly small - I had to stand against the wall as people walked by through the door - for the wine reception. Also, the room had evidence of needing some upgrades with small bits of wallpaper peeling and gouges out of the wood vanity. The toilet/shower room could also use a larger space - it was difficult getting in and out and closing the door. Overall, I would recommend this hotel and will stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street - otherwise you hear the restaurant staff taking out the garbage at all hours of the night!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getupandgofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Hello getupandgofar, thank you so much for the recommendation. Yes, we are smaller than most Hotels. But like the old saying 'size doesnt matter." We feel as though our smaller size gives us an advantage to really create wonderful personal epxereicnes with our Guests. I hope you experienced this and do return soon. Thanks again, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews