We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Nearby Hotels
$399
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$455
$341
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$346
$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)
$299
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$295
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$457
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Washington Court Hotel(Washington DC)
$402
$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)
$243
$229
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$221
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,315)
Filter reviews
1,315 results
Traveler rating
717
386
141
50
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
717
386
141
50
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfirefly restaurantdupont circlebalcony roomnew hampshirewine hoursmall lobbyyoga mattoilet and showersink areaanimal print robesapartment buildingwine receptionsmall hotelmini barfront desk staffdc areametro station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,195 - 1,200 of 1,315 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2008

This is a fantastic place to stay for a weekend in DC! Check their website for special prices. This was our second stay at this hotel. One of the things I like about it is the non-standard room layout - certainly not a cookie-cutter hotel room! Our room on the 8th floor had a small foyer with a closet (and safe), with a large bedroom area (king size bed, very comfy), a desk with comfortable chair well set up for business use (lots of easy-to-get-to outlets, wi-fi and an ethernet connection), a chair and ottoman for relaxing, a toilet/shower/tub room, and a separate sink area. (The bathroom room is small - the size of the tub and commode, basically, so if you're one of these people that want a large spacious bathroom, this isn't your place). Special kudos for providing a magnifying mirror in the sink area and lighting that really lets you see what your makeup looks like! The room was spotlessly clean and quiet. The hotel offers Aveda amenities. Decor is a little funky - art deco / modern - but interesting decor is one of the hallmarks of the Kimpton chain. The hotel offers a 'happy hour' for wine from 5 to 6 pm daily, cookies and milk later in the evening in the lobby, and coffee and tea in the morning.

Hotel staff was friendly, professional and very helpful in recommending places to eat and providing directions.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MGCTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2008

The Madera does not really qualify as a three-star hotel. Several oversights bring this one down, including the lack of any kind of lounge. While I appreciate the economy of space a city forces upon a building, I have never seen a 3-star hotel that did not have some sort of lounge or parlor. The closest thing that qualified was either the cramped lobby, or the hotel's restaurant, which kicked us out when we tried to sit down for a minute to cool our heels. (They weren't open.)

A troubling oversight was the lack of a sliding chain lock for the door. The only lock was the deadbolt, which was part of the electronic key-card access. This is inexcusable for ANY hotel.

Although the porn-star decor was not outright uncomfortable, it was still a bit too avant-garde for my tastes, but that's a personal preference and has no bearing on the hotel's capabilities. Just fair warning to those who may not know what to expect.

The hotel's staff was extremely friendly, but a bit clueless. Housekeeping failed to identify themselves, and tried to enter our room three hours ahead of checkout time, while we were still scrambling to get dressed to answer the door.

To list the other oversights would seem like nitpicking at this point, but they were oversights nonetheless (such as bringing only one set of silverware and one cup for a two-person breakfast, and a suspiciously red-stained towel)

I regret that I will never recommend this hotel to anyone, no matter what their tastes are. The failings of Madera are inexcusable for a Hotel that bills itself as three stars. These are failings one would associate with a backwater hotel, not a hotel in Washington D.C.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoanokeGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2008

We had a great stay with the Madera. We have never felt so welcome at a chain hotel, usually you need to stay at a bed and breakfast to get this type of comfort and welcome. We now only want to stay at Kimpton Hotels (Madera's parent company) when ever we can.

We went to DC for a couples weekend to sight see and just relax. The hotel staff helped up with deceiding on excursions and even made dinner reservations for us when necessary. We went to two restaurants that they suggested and they were both wonderful. Our trip did not end on a very good note, but that was in no way due to the Madera. I got ill and the staff went out of their way to assist my Husband in my care....offering to get special food, calling a pharmacie and checking up regularly to make sure I was ok. I some ways it was like staying with family.

I would recommed this hotel to anyone!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Skigirl1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2008

I came to D.C. for business and chose this hotel primarily because of its proximity to my meeting but also because of the positive reviews on this website and because it was a Kimpton. I have had positive experiences with other Kimpton hotels, so was I was expecting good things. I was a bit worried when I walked in the door and saw how small the lobby was, but the front desk staff was courteous and professional and the room was huge, comfortable, clean and stylish. My only (very small) complaints are that 1) this hotel is all wireless, so if you have an ancient computer like I do, it can be hard to get online and 2) not enough lighting in the desk area.

I ate lunch in the Firefly restaruant connected to the lobby and it was totally delicious. I had the portobello mushroom reuben; sounds weird, tastes amazing. Definitely, definitely try it -- it is NOT hotel food. They seem to care about seasonality and try to source locally. The waitstaff in the restaurant was gracious enough to seat me for lunch at 2:00 even though their lunch service was scheduled to end at 2:30 and I did not feel rushed at all.

The hotel is a 1.5 very short blocks from Dupont Circle, and is within striking distance of a CVS, a Starbucks, and many more interesting local bakeries, coffee shops and bookstores so if you need to kill a few minutes before your meeting, you can.

After work, the young woman on duty at the front desk (she was pulling triple duty: front desk/concierge/porter) suggested a great restaurant for me and my colleague. We told her that we wanted a nice glass of wine, good food on the healthy side and a fun but laid back atmosphere. She suggested the Urbana at the Hotel Palomar, which was also excellent.

In all, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone needing to stay near Dupont Cir. The rooms are excellent and the staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank 77,007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2008

Very comfy rooms and beds. Great front desk staff. Rooms were very clean. Recycling in the rooms is a plus! Great location if you want to stay a bit "off the beaten path." Georgetown isn't too far away and very close to the Red Line Metro. Only thing is, no breakfast options other than expensive room service ($18 for scrambled eggs?!) or Krispy Kreme donuts. We got fruit and granola bars from a CVS Pharmacy not too far from the hotel. Rooms don't have a refrigerator to keep things cold. This building is older, but has been updated. In the middle of a nice residential area. Only stayed here because I got a great vacation package deal.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank can78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews