We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Ranked #106 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
oakton Virginia, USA
1 review
“great hotel and staff”
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We have nothing to say but great things about this hotel. When we were looking for a hotel to get dressed and prepare for the wedding we thought of the Beacon Hotel, we stayed for the weekend back in 2007 and loved the layout of the hotel, the ambiance, the suite and the staff. We booked a king-size bed suite for our preparations, due to having our wedding fall on a holiday (Labor Day weekend) most of the larger suites were booked. On the same day of our wedding, Omar Ibrahim (assistant GM) was very accommodating and upgraded our room to the best suite we could have dreamed of. The room was very spacious and elegant. It was perfect. We had the best view, and we took our wedding pictures inside the suite and all over the hotel. We felt so lucky and grateful for Omar’s hospitality. We are very thankful and we highly recommend this hotel for all visitors who want to travel around DC. The hotel itself is situated in a perfect location with walking distance to shops, stores and scenic spots. Most importantly, what made Beacon Hotel the best hotel in the DC area are the people like Omar who went out of his way to make sure guests like us have the best experience in this hotel. Thank you very much Omar, and thank you to the staff of Beacon Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adriannelozon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMBeacon, Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, October 17, 2010
We want to thank Adriannelozon for choosing the Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters in Washington D.C. We are glad your special occasion was full of joy and satisfactions. Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your wonderful visit. We hope you will visit again soon.
Everyone at the Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    449
    248
    110
    69
See reviews for
220
305
110
374
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2010

The Assistant GM at this hotel was very helpful, and made my stay easy and satisfactory to my expectation. He would go out of his way to make your stay memorable. He helped me with visitors information i needed in DC, restaurant recommendations and all i asked for. He needs to become a GM soon [...]

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katemba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMBeacon, Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, October 17, 2010
Thank you Mr. Katemba for choosing the Beacon hotel and corporate Quarters in Washington D.C. It was a pleasure receiving your comments and we look forward to welcome you back soon again.
Everyone at the Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters WDC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We stayed at the Beacon from 26-30 September and felt that we'd made a good choice. Check-in was quick and easy and our 9th floor room was clean, relatively spacious and comfortable. All the staff that we encountered were polite and helpful. We didn't eat at the Hotel, but found a good deli (for breakfast) just minutes away on the opposite side of Rhode Island Drive. In the evenings, there was a wide range of restaurants to choose from in the Dupont Circle area which was just 10 minutes walk from the hotel.
The nearest subway station was only 5-10 minutes walk, although you could walk to the White House in a leisurely 15 minutes. On the day we left we had planned to walk to the nearest subway in order to get to Union Station for our train to New York (which we highly recommend!), but a sudden downpour resulted in the concierge getting us a taxi from the hotel to the station which was $12 plus tip.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krefelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, October 12, 2010
Dear Krefelder,

Thank you for choosing the Beacon Hotel for your recent visit to Washington, DC. We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback. It has been a pleasure to serve you and we look forward to see you again.
~The Beacon Hotel Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2010

The Beacon is an older hotel that has recently been renovated. The room I stayed in was truly first rate. The staff was extremely friendly, courteous, and professional. The hotel is close to the Metro lines and convenient to most attractions. I found the front desk staff going above the norm to ensure that my stay was worth remembering. The hotel had a good bar and restaurant. The front desk manager, Mr. Unseri, is to be commended for his excellent staff. I would strongly recommend this hotel for your next stay in Washington.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billstallworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, October 3, 2010
Dear billstallworth,

Thank you for writing a fantastic review and highlighting your experience with our front office team. This is testimony to the effort we place in training and motivating our staff. Your feedback is deeply appreciated and we look forward to service you again soon.
~The Beacon Hotel Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

The Beacon is well located just off the trendy Dupont Circle neighbourhood and a longish walk (or quick metro ride) to the National Mall. The hotel is well equipped and has modern decor. We were upgraded from a standard queen to a room for disabled guests so had a large bathroom, separate lounge and king sized bed, as well as a fantastic kitchenette with everything including insinkerator and dishwasher - you couldn't ask for more to make you comfortable! Some street noise still entered the room (8th floor) and there was water pipe noise on and off each night in the walls, but neither were deal breakers. The air-con was old and very loud but effective. The front desk staff member that checked us in was surly and gave us minimal service (not that unusual in east coast USA cities), but others were terrific. There is also a good (small) fitness and business centre with printers (no free wifi here sadly) on site. This is not a bargain hotel, but competes well with the larger chains and I would recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bckpckrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Dear bckpckrau,
Thank you for choosing the Beacon Hotel and taking the time to post your positive sentiments. We truly appreciate your kind appraisal and we look forward to your next visit.
~The Beacon Hotel Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Thanks for a wonderful stay at your Beacon Hotel last week. Omar was especially helpful and pleasant, and asked if I would be staying at the Beacon on my next visit? I said, "as long as you greet me with your smile, I will definitely return, Omar".

Sincerely,
Rich Tittermary
Prime Consulting Group
[--]

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMBeacon, Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
The comments of Mr. Tittermary Rich are greatly appreciated and we hope to welcome Mr. Tittermary very soon again.

Omar and Everyone at the Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

The Beacon is located centrally, within walking distance of the Capitol, Smithsonian, museums, restaurants and shops. Since it is a business hotel during the week, weekend prices are reduced dramatically and are a wonderful value for the tourist. Service is wonderful and rooms are well-appointed (we got an upgrade to a mini-suite which was wonderful.) The restaurant food is very good and we especially enjoyed the sidewalk cafe where we could people-watch and listen to the locals talk about DC. Mgmt is very obliging. When I could not figure out where to buy a postcard stamp on a Sun., the front office manager offered to stamp it using the hotel's stamp machine. Now that's service!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandbon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, September 5, 2010
Grandbon_10,
Your comments are deeply appreciated, and are testimony to the effort we place on motivating and training our team, I shall share your comments.” We hope to serve you again in the near future.
-The Beacon Hotel Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The St. Gregory Hotel
The St. Gregory Hotel
#99 of 141 in Washington DC
113 reviews
Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#30 of 141 in Washington DC
663 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#80 of 141 in Washington DC
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#75 of 141 in Washington DC
1,822 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White HouseWebsiteDirections
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#87 of 141 in Washington DC
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters

Property: Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Address: 1615 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3205 (Formerly The Governor's House Hotel)
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel creates the perfect setting where guests can "Work, Relax and Play" in an atmosphere that is contemporary, welcoming and elegant. This summer enjoy the benefits of an extraordinary location, from where you can walk to the Smithsonian Museums and Monuments all within an easy walk or short metro ride, walk four blocks to The White House, off "Embassy Row" famous for stunning Diplomatic residences, yet equally convenient to the centers of business of "K Street" and Connecticut Ave. The Walter E Washington Convention Center, The cool restaurants and Night life of Dupont Circle and 14th Street. Two Metro stations are within easy walk. Accommodations include spacious deluxe rooms and our popular "Corporate Quarter Suites" inspired by New York Style studio living, featuring pantries, dining and living areas that complement the lifestyles of our guests with spacious accommodations. Ideal settings whether you are traveling with family, an urban explorer or if you are seeking a romantic escape. The Beacon Bar & Grill presents excellent dining and entertainment options: alfresco dining in season, an elegant dining room, light fare and creative cocktails are featured in season in our Sky-Bar rooftop lounge. Featuring creative American cuisine drawing inspiration from comfort foods, international cuisine and seasonal offerings. Our Saturday and Sunday Champagne Brunch, have been voted amongst the "Top Five" Champagne Brunches in the city for over 10 years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel And Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel Washington Dc
Beacon Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing