We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel...Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Ranked #110 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Great Hotel...Excellent Service”
Reviewed August 13, 2010

So I stayed at the Beacon last month in July and I must say I was pleasantly surprised. After reading mixed reviewed online, I heistantly booked my reservation through Expedia. I must say for an independently owned hotel; the Beacon definitely can compete with the big chain hotels. The hotel overall would probably get a 9 out of 10 only because of the early closing time of the bar at 10 as well as room service but on the other hand I must highlight the wonderful staff from the bellman to the front desk staff especially Myra and Ashley. Both young ladies were extremely helpful, knowledgeable about the area and always eqipped to answer any questions I had. In addition to the staff, the hotel was extremely well kept from the lobby area to the rooms. The rooms were spacious and my room on the 9th floor appeared to be newly renovated which was definitely a plus. Overall I would definitely stay at the Beacon Hotel again and recommend it to anyone traveling to the D.C. area

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValarieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, August 20, 2010
Thank you very much for staying at the Beacon Hotel for your recent visit to Washington, DC. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide us your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
-The Beacon Hotel Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    451
    250
    110
    70
See reviews for
221
307
111
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
humble tx
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

This hotel is wonderful, it's in walking distance of transporattion and it's not very far from the White House. We enjoyed the spaciousness of the room and the staff was wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brodie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconHotelFOM, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, August 23, 2010
We would like to sincerely Thank You for your feedback. We are here thanks to you!!!
-Beacon Hotel Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2010

I travel to DC at least once/month and have been doing so for almost three years. My company's office is downtown. I have stayed at many hotels in the downtwon/dupont circle/woodley park area. Some have been boutique hotels; others name-brand hotel chains. I have booked some directly and some through online services like priceline.

So, I have a lot of experience finding the best hotel "deal" in the area. I have settled on the Beacon as far and away the best value. Prices are always competitive. The location can't be beat (There are numerous excellent restaurants within a 10 minute walk, the YMCA is right across the street, and it is very convenient to the Metro). The staff is extremely friendly and responsive. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed (very contemporary and stylish) with nice high-tech electronic. Showers are great and beds are comfortable.

I find that it's very much like returning "home" when I check in.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcm1jts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, IL
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

I commute between Chicago and Washington for business and usually stay at the Beacon. The hotel is well located near Metro (DuPont Circle and Farragut North) and close to restaruants, and sufficently well appointed. Rooms are comfortable and spacious for the cost. restaurant is good and reasonable. Staff are really the difference makers. Front desk staff are efficient, friendly and helpful. Room service prompt and effective. Small quibles are the elevator, where you need to use your room key to go up and it doesn't always work the first time. Also, TV channel selections do not include local sports cable channels or Versus, which limits viewing for a sports fan. Instead, the TV features a channel from China. Why? All in all, very good value for money and well worth repeat stays.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MP131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

This hotel is nicely located, 10 minutes walk to dupont circle or other metro, room is good size and hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The main negative is uncomfortable bed and very uncomfortable pillows. Not many places close by are open at night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

For $109 a night, I feel the Beacon Hotel did just fine. The good: Comfortable king bed; huge room with seating area and several chairs; flat screen TV; lots of windows (that actually open a bit) and a view that includes some greenery; clean; bathroom with 2 sinks and tons of space; a great location near Dupont Circle.
The mediocre: the sheets, while fine, are not top of the line; the love seat in the room looked a little ratty; some confusion with the staff about the hours of the Sky Bar; no mini fridge in the room.
The bad: well, I can't really think of anything bad! Is this place perfect? Not by a long shot, but I don't expect perfection for $109 a night. If I had paid Hay Adams prices, I would have expected (and demanded) a lot more. For what I paid, I appreciated a cool, spacious, comfortable place to sleep 2 nights.
Oh- the bar downstairs makes some good cocktails and appetizers, too.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spends2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

I stayed here for 4 nights with my wife while we were in D.C. as tourists for the 4th of July weekend. Overall I thought the hotel was good value for the money. I thought the rate was very reasonable ($109). The rooms were very clean, the staff were friendly and I thought the location was good from a tourists POV. It's about a 5 minute walk to the metro and a 10 minute walk to the White House. It seems to be in a clean and safe part of D.C. Our room included a kitchenette which of course was pretty handy. We had a good experience in the restaurant downstairs so I would recommend that as well. My critiques of the hotel was that it seemed to be in need of some renovating. It's beginning to show signs of wear. In addition the photos on the hotel website were a bit misleading. The hotel lobby and the room for that matter were much smaller than what I was expecting based on what I saw on the website, however we were still satisfied with our room. The rooftop bar was a nice experience however for whatever reason, they close up every night at 10pm. Therefore we didn't get to experience it the way we would have liked to as we were kicked out after one drink. Overall, it was a good stay and made for a good place to crash after a full day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZigZag5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The St. Gregory Hotel
The St. Gregory Hotel
#99 of 141 in Washington DC
127 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#82 of 141 in Washington DC
1,270 reviews
Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#30 of 141 in Washington DC
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#76 of 141 in Washington DC
1,838 reviews
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters

Property: Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Address: 1615 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3205 (Formerly The Governor's House Hotel)
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel creates the perfect setting where guests can "Work, Relax and Play" in an atmosphere that is contemporary, welcoming and elegant. This summer enjoy the benefits of an extraordinary location, from where you can walk to the Smithsonian Museums and Monuments all within an easy walk or short metro ride, walk four blocks to The White House, off "Embassy Row" famous for stunning Diplomatic residences, yet equally convenient to the centers of business of "K Street" and Connecticut Ave. The Walter E Washington Convention Center, The cool restaurants and Night life of Dupont Circle and 14th Street. Two Metro stations are within easy walk. Accommodations include spacious deluxe rooms and our popular "Corporate Quarter Suites" inspired by New York Style studio living, featuring pantries, dining and living areas that complement the lifestyles of our guests with spacious accommodations. Ideal settings whether you are traveling with family, an urban explorer or if you are seeking a romantic escape. The Beacon Bar & Grill presents excellent dining and entertainment options: alfresco dining in season, an elegant dining room, light fare and creative cocktails are featured in season in our Sky-Bar rooftop lounge. Featuring creative American cuisine drawing inspiration from comfort foods, international cuisine and seasonal offerings. Our Saturday and Sunday Champagne Brunch, have been voted amongst the "Top Five" Champagne Brunches in the city for over 10 years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel And Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel Washington Dc
Beacon Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing