We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somwhere else if you can, or at least get an uprgrade.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Ranked #104 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Stay somwhere else if you can, or at least get an uprgrade.”
Reviewed April 3, 2010

We booked this hotel through a travel agent and because of the previous reviews, we thought it would be very good. But we were really wrong!!.
First, we arrived and had to wait more than 10 minutes outside with our luggage until a bellman came. We were given room 704 with two double beds. The room was not nice, had peeling paint, no safe, no minibar, nearly no lights in the barthroom, carpet stained and a really really tiny closet. We immediately went down and requested an upgrade. We were given room 423 with a king bed and pullout sofa, for $ 20 extra per night. This one was much better with kitchenette, but it still had some maintainance issues such as spiderwebs in the cieleng. At night, we went to the front desk and found a lady claiming that she had booked a King room with a kitchenette. So we realised that we had been given HER room!!
Staff isn't friendly at all, except for a girl called Ashley at the Front Desk. Housekeeping will ALWAYS knock the door at around 8PM and won't give you time to answer, they will just enter.
The elevators ONLY work if you swipe the card of your room into it, but the problem is that cards de-activate all the time, so you may have to wait for another guest to get into the elevator to be able to go up.
As a good point, i would say it has a good location if you like walking or you can take a cab that will be around $10 from downtown. Also, the bar & grill is nice at night and the staff is very attentive. The hotel also offers washing machine for $1.50.
WE WILL DEFINETELY LOOK FOR ANOTHER PLACE TO STAY ON OUT NEXT VISIT TO WASHINGTON DC. LOOK FOR ANOTHER OPTION!!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tquinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    441
    242
    109
    67
See reviews for
217
301
109
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
portland, maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2010

We adored the Beacon hotel. Stayed there for two nights recently and could not have been more pleased. A wonderful, friendly staff who knows what to do.. Both the person who took our reservation, Francesca and the receptionist Maria, when we arrived were very helpful. A great spot in the city to stay, can walk to it all. It felt like a small European hotel to us, wonderful beds with down comforters, nicely appointed rooms. So well cared for, very clean and chic. Omar , a manager, met us in the lobby and inquired about our stay and if things were as we wished. I even spotted the general manager opening the door for patrons. Personal touch. It was an oasis in a busteling city. We liked everything about it and look forward to returning many times.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainerportland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

I believe in giving the bad news first, but please don't stop reading there, as our overall experience was quite pleasant.

I booked a standard non/smoking room for my spouse and I, because of the hotel's close proximity to my destination, and it seemed to have a decent reputation.

We were first assigned a tiny room, next door to another undergoing renovation (open doors, paint smells, workmen in and out). The room was decidedly shabby: carpet with patches; furniture old and worn, limp-wrinkled sheets, old metallic mattress, dirty, spattered toilet paper holder).
I immediately complained, and surprisingly, the desk clerk promptly apologized, and called the manager who quickly booked us into another room. The 2nd room was a total opposite of the first. Everything was spacious, spotless, new and in working order, in a quiet area of the floor. When we came downstairs, they insisted on compensating us for our trouble with a free continental breakfast for two, even though I told them several times (and meant it) I was more than happy that they had just changed out room.

We did have trouble with the thermostat (our own ignorance), and the continental breakfast left a lot to be desired (really tasteless), but we ordered from the regular menu one morning, and agreed it was very good. So steer clear of the continental!

The staff, without exception, was helpful, courteous and something else you don't find these days, genuinely FRIENDLY. That goes a long way in my book, to a successful stay at any hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern US Seaboard
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Our family traveled for a weekend stay to Washington to see the Terra Cotta Warriors. We chose this hotel for two reasons; 1) proximity to the museum, and 2) on site valet parking. My husband and I arrived on Friday to learn that the parking area was filled. The bellman informed us that a public garage was probably available two blocks away and ‘Oh, by the way you need to get your bags out and move the car.’ I asked if the hotel garage might have any availability later in the evening or Saturday & he looked surprised and said the hotel only had a small area for guest cars.

Our reservations were for two queen beds, however when we checked in we were informed that we had one king size bed and there were no other rooms available (I called twice to confirm the rooms and the number of beds). The room had battered lamps and stained carpet. Our children arrived the following day and each had rooms in various locations of the hotel. Our son’s room was clean and well renovated. Our daughter’s room condition was less improved. The mattresses in all rooms had lost any support years ago. By Sunday we were all dreaming of our mattresses at home.
On Saturday we were out of the room from 10am to 4pm. When we returned at 4pm housecleaning was just entering our room. We had to use my daughter’s room until they finished, which was less than 20 minutes. The glassware was obviously simply rinsed under hot water and placed in plastic bags. This was easily identified when I picked up the glass and it was still warm and slightly moist.

We all met at the hotel bar to decide on dinner reservations and were pleased to learn that happy hour offered $5 cocktails and $1 beers. We laughed at least if we couldn’t sleep we could drink cheaply. The host seated us and we waited and waited and waited. Apparently the host had seated us in a warring area between a specific server and the bartender—they were not shy about airing their feud. Finally the bartender gave in and brought us our menus. There were five of us and we had one appetizer for @ $10. The bill arrived and it totaled $100. We were informed that our drink charges were higher ($10 for each cocktail & $5 for each beer) because we asked for specific cocktails from the menu and the beer we drank was not part of the happy hour offer. We were referred to a small area of fine print on the reverse of the drink menu.

So to recap; the rooms might be clean & renovated if you get the right room on a good floor, the parking garage has valet parking if the hotel doesn’t have many guests, the beds are for staging and definitely not for sleeping & if you order a drink ask the waiter (if you can find one) to verify the cost.
Stay Elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cnt_find_my_way_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2010

We've stayed here 3 times and finally realize that the annoying problems we've had each time just won't go away. We're now looking for a new fave in D.C. Here's the list: card keys for elevator and room get de-activated everytime. Front desk staff not terrily friendly about assisting - happy to lecture you about not putting key next to credit card (duh). Still happens every time. De-activated key leaves you stranded in elevator until someone else calls it to their floor or the lobby. Just ridiculous. Witnessed several guests less patient than us about this perpetual problem. Valet parking pretty slow - this time the driver's side mirror was damaged. Room very warm, but well-appointed for the value and comfortable. Location is convenient if you know your way around - easy walk to Dupont Circle and we even walked to the Smithsonians (but we're walkers). Would love to see Beacon restored to its previous good service - smiles go a long way folks. Customer service should be most important in the hotel biz!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morrcoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

Decided to stay at the Beacon Hotel as it was close to Dupont Circle, other reviews were generally favourable and from its website it looked to be excellent. Our experience has been anything but excellent.

First the good things about the hotel.

Its in a great location, although not as close to Metro as you might like. The check in was efficient if not overly friendly. We had to go find the doorman to help with our bags, it was raining and very cold standing outside and in the end the cab driver did this for us, gave him a good tip.

The rooms are clean, but nothing to rave about.

The bathroom is reasonably well appointed but the toilet is unnecessarily close to the wall and there is very limited shelf space to put toiletries on. There is plenty of hot water and the towels are ok.

They have one guest coin washing machine and coin operated dryer, with luck reception will have washing powder. Thats about it for the good bits.

Here are the bad bits.

The airconditioning works in one part of the room only (we had a suite) so the other part has no air at all, its like sitting in a stuffy sauna with the heat on mild. The controls on the aircon dont work, and the fan makes it feel like you are sleeping in a wind tunnel. I had to manually adjust the vanes on the outlet so we didnt get blown out of bed, but it was fun watching the curtains get blown around. Called maintenance twice, in the end he said there was nothing he could do and we should have asked for a room with the new controls if only we knew.

Third night came back from a day out and the room was close to 100'. Called reception to be told that some guests had complained it was cold so the hotel had turned on the heating again and it was set centrally, nothing we could do! It was a very sweaty night inside while it was only 8'c outside.

The television in the bedroom was on the blink, called maintenance, he said, oh you need to have it replaced. He left, I assumed to get a new one. Called down to see where he was, seems he was gone. Asked again the next day, and the next day, so far no new television!

Housekeeping alert! The housekeeping staff must be military trained. From just before 8am you can hear them working their way down the hall, tap tap 'housekeeping' bang goes the door! If you dont leave the privacy tag on the door overnight your door will be thrust open as you are leaping out of bed to ask them to come back later. Really there is a split second between tap tap and bang the door opens.

Power outlets seem to have a mind of their own as to when they will and wont work. One of the outlets has a broken prong in it, mentioned to maintenance, nothing done about it.

Room service and breakfast menus are sparse. We had breakfast once only in the hotel. Didn't bother with the room service as there was nothing to entice one to eat it. More than $30 for a waffle and 2 pastries with some melon was enough for us, took the 5 minute walk to Starbucks, actually made New York look economical.

The hotel also promotes its roof top garden bar. Just don't expect it to be open before May!

I really had much higher expectations of this hotel from the other reviews, it just does not live up to them. The staff are not at all friendly, and that goes from front door to housekeeping, with perhaps one or two exceptions.

I will not stay here again, it was not good value for money, the inconveniences far outweighed the conveniences and there was nothing that I could say that would encourage me to recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aegisint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2010

There is a small room, the business center, where one can use Wi-Fi on their computer. That is the only wifi public area.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AleDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#36 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#81 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#91 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The St. Gregory Hotel
The St. Gregory Hotel
#97 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hotel RL Washington DC by Red Lion
Hotel RL Washington DC by Red Li...
#105 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters

Property: Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Address: 1615 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3205 (Formerly The Governor's House Hotel)
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel creates the perfect setting where guests can "Work, Relax and Play" in an atmosphere that is contemporary, welcoming and elegant. This summer enjoy the benefits of an extraordinary location, from where you can walk to the Smithsonian Museums and Monuments all within an easy walk or short metro ride, walk four blocks to The White House, off "Embassy Row" famous for stunning Diplomatic residences, yet equally convenient to the centers of business of "K Street" and Connecticut Ave. The Walter E Washington Convention Center, The cool restaurants and Night life of Dupont Circle and 14th Street. Two Metro stations are within easy walk. Accommodations include spacious deluxe rooms and our popular "Corporate Quarter Suites" inspired by New York Style studio living, featuring pantries, dining and living areas that complement the lifestyles of our guests with spacious accommodations. Ideal settings whether you are traveling with family, an urban explorer or if you are seeking a romantic escape. The Beacon Bar & Grill presents excellent dining and entertainment options: alfresco dining in season, an elegant dining room, light fare and creative cocktails are featured in season in our Sky-Bar rooftop lounge. Featuring creative American cuisine drawing inspiration from comfort foods, international cuisine and seasonal offerings. Our Saturday and Sunday Champagne Brunch, have been voted amongst the "Top Five" Champagne Brunches in the city for over 10 years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel And Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel Washington Dc
Beacon Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing