We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stately old style class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Ranked #107 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stately old style class”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed at the Beacon recently on a business trip. It is a classic old hotel but still fairly up to date. A kitchenette was included so this would be a good place for someone on an extended stay. The concierge staff was very accommodating. The business center did not have a scanner though. The room was clean and had a sofa, desk and dining table. My only complaint was the bed could use a new mattress. It had obvious depressions on the sides and a hump in the middle. Overall a nice place to stay with a fairly good restaurant on site.

Room Tip: Farther from the ground floor bar is better especially on the weekend because of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildroze25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveRipai, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to appraise us of your visit, but more importantly we thank you for choosing the Beacon during your recent visit to Washington, DC. We look forward to your return visit and are pleased that your stay with us was pleasant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    449
    248
    110
    69
See reviews for
220
305
110
374
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I usually stay at the much higher priced Fairfax hotel, but this time gave the Beacon a try. Though it's a little bit further from Dupont Circle than I would have liked, it was still well worth the stay because of the much lower rates. The one problem I had is that I asked for a 5:45am wake up call and it was not entered into the system. Luckily I woke up before then and there were no issues, but I could have caused a major problem for me. (It would have gotten a perfect score had it not been for this error). Other than that I was very satisfied and would stay there again..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveRipai, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us an evaluation of your recent visit. We also thank you for selecting the Beacon Hotel on your recent visit. Kindly accept my sincere apologies for the wake-up call. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the Beacon hotel for 3 nights (Fri, Sat, Sun) and it was great! Being the weekend in DC the rates were a lot cheaper than weekday prices and as we booked through the website we saved an extra bit of cash each night. We were upgraded to a room with a kitchen on arrival which was fantastic and we could save a bit more money on making brekkie and preparing some snacks for each day.
The bed was giant and super comfortable, the room had great big windows, and a nice large bathroom. Having backpacked around for the last few months, this was a slice of comfort heaven! The staff were really nice and very helpful too.
We were a 10 minute walk to the white house (and all the main points of interest), and about 10mins walk south of the trendy Adams Morgan neighbourhood- which had great restaurants (check out Loriol Plaza for good mexican) and cool bars.
Another plus of the hostel was as a guest you can use the gym facilities next door (gym/pool/basketball court/rock climbing wall) for free. We did this once, but should have utilised it each day.
Only a couple of minuses- no breakfast. for min $100 a night I would hope basic brekkie would have been included. Also, wifi isn't complimentary (instead I just used the computers downstairs).
On the whole, great location to walk all around town, nice rooms and good service.

Room Tip: When checking in check if there is the option for a room upgrade. & Take advantage of the gym fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BonnieEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveRipai, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
How very kind of you to take time to appraise us of your recent experience while staying at the Beacon Hotel. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Find the hotel on my way to NY. It was inexpensive and family friendly. Spacious room and clean. Mohamed was there to help and make our stay comfortable. Everybody was very friendly. We were completely satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshleyWill23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveRipai, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor, but more importantly, thank you for having selected the Beacon Hotel while visiting our city. We look forward to your return, should your travels bring you back to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Was recently there and the concierge was phenomenal, especially Ibrahim, considering Im a French native, we spoke french fluently and was able to make all my needs accessible and even recommended some french restaurants downtown! Beacon Hotel is the place and cant wait to return on my next Washington trip. Loved it! Again Ibrahim, you were great :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anyiata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveRipai, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write the astonishing review of our hotel and very nice comment about the staff. We at Beacon Hotel look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights during Memorial Day weekend. Located near Dupont circle and walking distance from Farragut North Metro station, this is a great location for tourists. The room was very clean and large. Room service was good. We had to pay for Wifi. Self-service laundry is reasonably priced. Business centre use is free. Good place to stay in DC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chak52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveRipai, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you very much for staying at the Beacon Hotel for your recent visit to Washington, DC. We look forward to the day when we can welcome you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is thé place to stay if you are in DC. Beatiful hôtel, skybar is amazing, Nice room and friendly staff. We had à wonderful time this week-end. Thé front desk employées were very friendly and give us à 1pm late check out. Book this hôtel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveRipai, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a pleasant review of our hotel and its staff. We are truly happy to know that you enjoyed our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The St. Gregory Hotel
The St. Gregory Hotel
#98 of 141 in Washington DC
114 reviews
Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#30 of 141 in Washington DC
663 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#79 of 141 in Washington DC
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#75 of 141 in Washington DC
1,822 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White HouseWebsiteDirections
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#87 of 141 in Washington DC
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters

Property: Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Address: 1615 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3205 (Formerly The Governor's House Hotel)
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel creates the perfect setting where guests can "Work, Relax and Play" in an atmosphere that is contemporary, welcoming and elegant. This summer enjoy the benefits of an extraordinary location, from where you can walk to the Smithsonian Museums and Monuments all within an easy walk or short metro ride, walk four blocks to The White House, off "Embassy Row" famous for stunning Diplomatic residences, yet equally convenient to the centers of business of "K Street" and Connecticut Ave. The Walter E Washington Convention Center, The cool restaurants and Night life of Dupont Circle and 14th Street. Two Metro stations are within easy walk. Accommodations include spacious deluxe rooms and our popular "Corporate Quarter Suites" inspired by New York Style studio living, featuring pantries, dining and living areas that complement the lifestyles of our guests with spacious accommodations. Ideal settings whether you are traveling with family, an urban explorer or if you are seeking a romantic escape. The Beacon Bar & Grill presents excellent dining and entertainment options: alfresco dining in season, an elegant dining room, light fare and creative cocktails are featured in season in our Sky-Bar rooftop lounge. Featuring creative American cuisine drawing inspiration from comfort foods, international cuisine and seasonal offerings. Our Saturday and Sunday Champagne Brunch, have been voted amongst the "Top Five" Champagne Brunches in the city for over 10 years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel And Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel Washington Dc
Beacon Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing