We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I always have a good stay at the Beacon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Ranked #110 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Beacon Hotel is a great deal in DC. The rooms are big, the wifi is free and the staff is professional and friendly. The room décor is a little tired and there definitely are not enough plugs for all my electronics, but those are small issues with an overall great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PQ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveRipai, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

We are so thrilled that you had a lovely stay. Thank you for taking the time to let others know how much you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,330)
There are newer reviews for Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

666 - 672 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

We arrived earl y and we had no problem checking in. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Mohammed stands out. He was helpful in storing our luggage and giving directions. The overall feel for this hotel is very welcoming. The room was not what we expected but it was clean and the bed was super comfortable. The price we got the hotel for was $99 per night. It was amazing for this part of DC. The hotel offers free membership pass to the YMCA. We will definitely consider the Beacon will recommend it. Minus the charge for internet it is a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: $35.00 a day to park and $12.00 for internet usage.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveRipai, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to share with everyone how much you enjoyed the Beacon Hotel. It is because of you that we are here. Thank you for choosing us. We look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stayed two nights in June 2013. The hotel is convenient to Dupont Circle and the Carnegie Institute where I was attending a meeting. Front desk staff were efficient and helpful when I needed a plug adapter for my computer. The reception I attended in the hotel was well catered and managed. Comfortable venue with the bar out of the room on a large balcony.
Rooms clean and comfortable. Squashed and very low toilet. Coffee making materials in a cupboard, No tea of sweetner on the tray. No newspapers in the morning.
So adequate and comfortable though not special. Expensive but this is washington I suppose

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveRipai, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share with us comment regarding your recent stay at the Beacon Hotel In Washington, DC. We are appreciative of the fact that you selected us. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Beacon has an excellent location, within walking distance of Dupont Circle. We actually moved rooms twice (once because the double bed was too small, the second time because the ac was extremely loud) before settling on a comfortable third room on the fourth floor. The front desk accommodated our requests with good grace, particularly on the busy Saturday night on which we arrived. Even in our final room however the ac was extremely loud: this appears to be an endemic problem.
More broadly, the hotel lacked that certain ambience which would mark it as a four star review for us. Whilst they have added touches to smarten up the rooms as best they can the building just feels a little tired.
All in all therefore a safe but not spectacular DC option.

Room Tip: Be careful of the smaller rooms as the air conditioning can be oppressively loud.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Calvadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveRipai, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for choosing us and taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I've enjoyed the Beacon Hotel frequently enough to enjoy the consistency of their service above other hotels in the area. Over that time, I've enjoyed various rooms including their spacious kitchenette suites.

On my most recent trip, the manager recognized me by name, and I received an upgrade to a king suite with an sitting area. Other staffers show their appreciation for my repeat business with smiles and salutations. This kind of personal service goes well beyond the anonymous pseudo-intimacies of superchain corporate loyalty programs.

The location is a pleasantly shaded refuge just a short stroll from the bustle of DuPont circle nightlife. For swimming and other fitness activities, the Beacon offers complimentary access to the YMCA and its pool across the street.

Finally, the Beacon Hotel's modest size helps avoid being swamped by conferences and conventions that sweep through DC's gazillion room, endless corridor hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Midwest-JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveRipai, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Beacon Hotel and taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all the great feedback and look forward to your return the next time you are in Washington, DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I booked this hotel through hotels.com for a family trip over the Memorial Day weekend. Lets talk about the positives first (I am after all a very happy camper)- we got a fabulous deal, the hotel is very well located in the prime downtown area of DC. Most tourist spots are a short cab ride away. It's a contemporary/modern style, corporate hotel. The restaurant is great, though a little expensive. It seemed to pull a great local crowd!

Now to the sadly poor customer service. The hotel's staff checking us in made it a point to treat us shabbily because we had booked through a budget site. Some hotels do that. Not a good practice, but I can pretend to understand that. We had two standard double rooms reserved but for some reason she started selling a queen room instead, she made it sound premium. We were tired from our long drive from NYC, so I accepted her 'kind' gesture. Minutes later I found, the standard room was very comfortable and well lit, however, the queen room was dimly lit, match box sized. I thought it might have been a mistake and went down immediately to bring it to their attention. What followed next was a sorry experience as the staff told me they were booked out and our room had already been given to someone else. After a lot of requests, some anger, they arranged for another dimly lit (it was a conference room converted to a room) but spacious room & we settled.

Suffice it to say, I will not be visiting this hotel again.
Also, I would advise guests against the valet service since it cost me about $40 for a night. There are plenty of garages next door that can provide this at a fraction of the cost.

Rude staff can really mar a potentially great experience and for that reason I have been gracious to give it 2 stars.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Shagun02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveRipai, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

We thank Mr. Labroo for choosing to stay at the Beacon Hotel and taking the time to post his comments on Trip Advisor. As you have related your experience, first and foremost, allow me to apologize on behalf of the hotel and the employee whom you spoke with. I grant you, this situation was poorly handled and I will investigate it further and will reach out to you again. Once again we are truly sorry we did not meet your expectations, however, it is our goal to somehow find a way to gain your trust and return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel is SOOO awesome! Customer service is great and everybody is friendly. The location is perfect! Metro in 5 mins walk. Also the affordable laundry service is great when you need it. I love the bathrooms and the extra towels always in each room. I have stayed in every type of room they have. The best is the Master Suite in 225! Steve Ripai, the Assistant Manager, is the best! Don't know why he isn't the MANAGER! But that's a whole other review. Lol. Anyway, he is witty, fun and all of the guests love him. He takes care of you very well! And he can understand almost any dialect. Lol. This guy is amazing! Thanks Beacon for yet another night! Today is my 17th night and counting!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Papo0829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveRipai, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful appraisal of your stay at the Beacon Hotel. It is heartwarming to have such happy customer that would take the time to share their positive experience. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#75 of 142 in Washington DC
1,288 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Gregory Hotel
The St. Gregory Hotel
#107 of 142 in Washington DC
142 reviews
Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#33 of 142 in Washington DC
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#78 of 142 in Washington DC
1,860 reviews
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#93 of 142 in Washington DC
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters

Address: 1615 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3205 (Formerly The Governor's House Hotel)
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: $125 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel creates the perfect setting where guests can "Work, Relax and Play" in an atmosphere that is contemporary, welcoming and elegant. This summer enjoy the benefits of an extraordinary location, from where you can walk to the Smithsonian Museums and Monuments all within an easy walk or short metro ride, walk four blocks to The White House, off "Embassy Row" famous for stunning Diplomatic residences, yet equally convenient to the centers of business of "K Street" and Connecticut Ave. The Walter E Washington Convention Center, The cool restaurants and Night life of Dupont Circle and 14th Street. Two Metro stations are within easy walk. Accommodations include spacious deluxe rooms and our popular "Corporate Quarter Suites" inspired by New York Style studio living, featuring pantries, dining and living areas that complement the lifestyles of our guests with spacious accommodations. Ideal settings whether you are traveling with family, an urban explorer or if you are seeking a romantic escape. The Beacon Bar & Grill presents excellent dining and entertainment options: alfresco dining in season, an elegant dining room, light fare and creative cocktails are featured in season in our Sky-Bar rooftop lounge. Featuring creative American cuisine drawing inspiration from comfort foods, international cuisine and seasonal offerings. Our Saturday and Sunday Champagne Brunch, have been voted amongst the "Top Five" Champagne Brunches in the city for over 10 years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel And Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel Washington Dc
Beacon Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing