We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Ranked #110 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The perfect place to stay for a quick weekend getaway. The staff are friendly. Mohamed was wonderful. He was there to answer every question and get our car every tome. Kingsley was also great. The room was nice and clean. Location perfect and value. The skybar is beautiful with a view of the city. Recommend to everyone

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jjackcml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregoryHotel, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Beacon Hotel and taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor We truly appreciate the positive remarks about the staff because they serve as a motivation. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,330)
There are newer reviews for Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

693 - 699 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

Staff friendly, attentive, helpful. Safe. Nice lobby. On-site great restaurant, cafe, and bar; great food, piano player, outdoor dining. Room big, kitchenette clean, and supplies; taxi and tour service help. Great location to site seeing, and touring. Definitely good price for location and quality; look for bargain pricing on line though.

Room Tip: Check on line to get bargain rate for Beacon, hotel reservation higher price. Ask for good view awa...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dglukach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregoryHotel, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for choosing us and taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all the positive feedback and look forward to your next visit in Washington, DC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Mohammed, one of the door men/valet attendants/baggage handlers, was helpful and friendly. He took care of everything we needed and made our stay more pleasant. The hotel is in a great location and was perfect for a weekend out on the town. The rooms are spacious and the brunch was great.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregoryHotel, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for choosing us and taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor We will make sure Muhammed knows about this because comments like this are what we look for from our guests and it serves as motivation to all our staff . We appreciate all the great feedback and look forward to your return the next time you are in Washington, DC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was my first trip to DC and it was the right decision staying at the Beacon. The staff were friendly. The location is great. Staff provided direction every time. The room we had was a decent size.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MillerShan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregoryHotel, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you very much for staying at the Beacon Hotel for your recent visit to Washington, DC. We would like to express our genuine appreciation to you for taking the time to provide us your constructive feedback. Looking forward to your next visit to our Washington DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Traveling young child so need a king size bed. Called early on the day of arrival to confirm our reservation for a king. My child will fall off the bed if it is a full. It was confirmed we had a king. We check in after a long day of travel and we open the door to two double bed room. They didn't even tell us at the front desk they switched our room. I call front desk and said our reservation was for a king. He said well we gave all the kings away, no simpathy. I said I called earlier and confirm we had a king bed. The answer I got was "there is nothing we can do there are no kings left. A reservation does not mean you get the room." My husband went down and asked to be put on a waiting list for a king, mins later they call for a switch in the room. They said some guest wanted two double beds instead of their king. I was really suspicious since minutes ago there was no king. We switched to a king on the second floor right next to the stairway. The bed was very hard, old and uncomfortable, if you moved even slightly it squeaked like crazy and made noise. We almost moved to sleep on the floor because we thought it would be more comfortable. We were woken up several times throughout the night, that includes the baby, because people were screaming and talking very load all night, the door to the stairway was slamming constantly until 3am in the morning. The bar and restaurant are down stairs people preferred to use the stairs to get from floor to floor. We called down to the front desk in the morning to see if we could switch rooms or check out early due to the uncomfortable stay. We were told we would be charge for our entire stay and that we should of called down to the front desk to tell them who was making the noise. My husband said he didn't know who was making the noise or what room they were in, they were in the hallways. He wasn't the one working at the hotel why would that be his job to figure out. We now knew why nobody wanted this king size bedroom. We had to stay in this horrible hotel our entire stay. If I were shopping around for hotels that would be comfortable for my baby I would want to know this can happen to me, that is the reason for me writing my review. The parking garage was full when we got here, there was no other place to park that we saw when we went around the block. But they said because we have a young child they can put our car somewhere. Whatever that means. We will not stay here again or recommend this hotel. Reminds me of the Seinfeld episode " but a reservation means the car stays here".

Room Tip: Look at the reviews with family that have young kids. Notice most good reviews for this hotel are tr...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmkith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed at the Beacon Hotel for almost a week for a meeting. Was nicely situatated--could walk to the store, white house, dupont circle. Was a beautiful week so walked to the convention center too--took about 20 min. or so. The room was quite large and nicely done. The shower was a little underpowered. Over all a good place. Unfortunately, the rooftop bar wasn't open although it was beautiful out (probably because I am sure it was awful the following week!). Checkout was mess. Just a small reception area and a ton of of trying to leave at the same time. Was boarderline chaotic. Staff was nice, but the downstairs lobby area was just cramped.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oceancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregoryHotel, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you very much for staying at the Beacon Hotel for your recent visit to Washington, DC. We would like to express our genuine appreciation to you for taking the time to provide us your constructive feedback and we do apologize for the check out situation. Like you said, we were very busy due to the convention. We hope you understand and give us another chance when you come to our Washington DC. We hope that you will come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here recently and while I slept fine, my room was beyond tiny and cramped. The hotel itself seems sort of tired looking and old. It is time for an upgrade. The front desk staff were very nice. Bathroom was nice, but bed was not comfy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#75 of 142 in Washington DC
1,288 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Gregory Hotel
The St. Gregory Hotel
#107 of 142 in Washington DC
140 reviews
Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#33 of 142 in Washington DC
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#78 of 142 in Washington DC
1,859 reviews
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#93 of 142 in Washington DC
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters

Address: 1615 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3205 (Formerly The Governor's House Hotel)
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: $125 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel creates the perfect setting where guests can "Work, Relax and Play" in an atmosphere that is contemporary, welcoming and elegant. This summer enjoy the benefits of an extraordinary location, from where you can walk to the Smithsonian Museums and Monuments all within an easy walk or short metro ride, walk four blocks to The White House, off "Embassy Row" famous for stunning Diplomatic residences, yet equally convenient to the centers of business of "K Street" and Connecticut Ave. The Walter E Washington Convention Center, The cool restaurants and Night life of Dupont Circle and 14th Street. Two Metro stations are within easy walk. Accommodations include spacious deluxe rooms and our popular "Corporate Quarter Suites" inspired by New York Style studio living, featuring pantries, dining and living areas that complement the lifestyles of our guests with spacious accommodations. Ideal settings whether you are traveling with family, an urban explorer or if you are seeking a romantic escape. The Beacon Bar & Grill presents excellent dining and entertainment options: alfresco dining in season, an elegant dining room, light fare and creative cocktails are featured in season in our Sky-Bar rooftop lounge. Featuring creative American cuisine drawing inspiration from comfort foods, international cuisine and seasonal offerings. Our Saturday and Sunday Champagne Brunch, have been voted amongst the "Top Five" Champagne Brunches in the city for over 10 years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel And Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel Washington Dc
Beacon Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing