We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Ranked #110 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here with my cousin. The price was great, front desk agent were very patient and listened to our request and offered us free upgrade. The YMCA next door was definitely what we needed. Will surely be back for summer.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hannious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveRipai, Guest Relations Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Beacon Hotel and taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all the great feedback and look forward to your return the next time you are in Washington, DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

746 - 752 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

Just what the doctor order. Great location within walking distance to public transportation. Very nice room, comfortable. Best price in dc. Wonderful staff especially the front desk staff. They give us a free upgrade. It was a room with fire place. I will always stay here during my trip to dc.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AliceSmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveRipai, Guest Relations Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a splendid appraisal of your stay at the Beacon Hotel. We truly appreciate the positive remarks about the staff. It is gratifying to have such happy customer that would take the time to share their positive experience. We are delighted to know that all your requests were handle promptly. We are also pleased to know that you found our value, location and high level of service to be exceptional. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Second trip to the Beacon and it was better. The staff are friendly and very helpful. This trip was better than the last one. we got a better room. The room had two beds and a sofa bed. They still have access to the YMCA for free. it is only for those staying at the Beacon. The price for parking is higher now. Free wi-fi if you book through the hotel web site.

Room Tip: Stay away from Rhode island Ave. because of construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveRipai, Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you very much for staying at the Beacon Hotel for your recent visit to Washington, DC. We would like to express our genuine appreciation to you for taking the time to provide us your constructive feedback as we continue to improve. We look forward to the day when we can welcome you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I was pleased with the spacious room, decent number of towels (I hate hotels where single occupancy equates to one measly towel), good sized desk, quietness and big windows. I was less thrilled about how loud the heater is when it's on, the fact that hanging space for clothes is inside the bathroom rather than in a closet, and how the lamps aren't very good as task lighting for work and reading.

This morning I turned the shower on, walked out to get some clothes, and was horrified by the sight of a large roach when I came back in to jump under the shower. It was crawling over the tap, and then proceeded to crawl up the shower curtain. I complained to the front desk, they sent someone to take care of it, and I fled to breakfast while they attended to it. They offered to move me to another room. It turned out to be a room with a kitchenette (big fridge, cooking range, dishwasher, microwave, etc.) - all very tempting given I am here on 10 days for work - but was nervous that anything involving food compounded the chance of roaches wandering around - so I settled for a regular room. Also, the room with the kitchenette was awkwardly shaped, and though the kitchenette separated the bedroom from a living area (in itself a nice idea), the bedroom was tiny and had barely any space around the actual bed.

I'm now in a room that is slightly smaller than my original one, thanks to a "private room" eating into the space that would otherwise have been within the room. And despite being on the 9th floor (because I am facing the main street, rather than a side street as before?), it is much noisier than my original room on the 4th floor. I lacked the will to pack and move again, as I was running late for a meeting, and don't have the choice of moving elsewhere as all delegates for my workshop have been put up here and paid for.

But for the roach experience, I would have been very happy in my original room. It's dated and old fashioned, but the space and quiet compensated for everything. Now I have less space, more noise and the horror that roaches may appear at any moment. I'm not sure I can bring myself to spend any more time here than strictly necessary to sleep and shower.

The front desk was pleasant and quick to sort another room out, but I would rather there hadn't been a roach situation to begin with.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blueperiod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Clean, Confortable hotel near downtown for business travel. Secure and quiet. Be forewarned; parking is $35-40 per night. No self parking. Your only other option is a meter. The hotel won't give you quarters. Its easy to find a parking space close to the hotel, just remember, the meters start running at 7am in that neighborhood. Plenty of restaurants nearby.
Nice, comfy bedding. Hot, hot water in the shower. 12pm, unrushed checkout. Not bad for $97 on weekend day. Would choose again.

Room Tip: 6th floor far corner was very quiet. 620, 621, 622. Last are to be hit by housekeeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveRipai, Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

We truly appreciate your kind appraisal and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just the right place with the right price. The location is good. Steve and Kingsley were very helpful and friendly. They give us a free upgrade to a suite. It is a good hotel. The room was very nice and clean. Parking is $35 per night. We recommend this hotrl.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MohYus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveRipai, Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Beacon Hotel and taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all the great feedback and look forward to your return the next time you are in Washington, DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel was very clean with attentive, friendly staff. The staff is more than willing to assist in getting cabs, offering places to eat, and quickly attending to your every need. For instance, a friend I was traveling with forgot a razor so the staff brought one up to the room. The room has all the basic amenities and a great view. I wish they had a refrigerator and free internet, though.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank teachmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveRipai, Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you very much for choosing us as your home away from home. We are also grateful to you for taking the time to write such a pleasant review of our hotel and its staff. We look forward to the day when we can welcome you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#85 of 141 in Washington DC
1,887 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#70 of 141 in Washington DC
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The St. Gregory Hotel
The St. Gregory Hotel
#94 of 141 in Washington DC
183 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
237 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
3,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters

Address: 1615 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3205 (Formerly The Governor's House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: $86 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel creates the perfect setting where guests can "Work, Relax and Play" in an atmosphere that is contemporary, welcoming and elegant. This summer enjoy the benefits of an extraordinary location, from where you can walk to the Smithsonian Museums and Monuments all within an easy walk or short metro ride, walk four blocks to The White House, off "Embassy Row" famous for stunning Diplomatic residences, yet equally convenient to the centers of business of "K Street" and Connecticut Ave. The Walter E Washington Convention Center, The cool restaurants and Night life of Dupont Circle and 14th Street. Two Metro stations are within easy walk. Accommodations include spacious deluxe rooms and our popular "Corporate Quarter Suites" inspired by New York Style studio living, featuring pantries, dining and living areas that complement the lifestyles of our guests with spacious accommodations. Ideal settings whether you are traveling with family, an urban explorer or if you are seeking a romantic escape. The Beacon Bar & Grill presents excellent dining and entertainment options: alfresco dining in season, an elegant dining room, light fare and creative cocktails are featured in season in our Sky-Bar rooftop lounge. Featuring creative American cuisine drawing inspiration from comfort foods, international cuisine and seasonal offerings. Our Saturday and Sunday Champagne Brunch, have been voted amongst the "Top Five" Champagne Brunches in the city for over 10 years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel And Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel Washington Dc
Beacon Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing