We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Negative points”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Ranked #110 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Basically the hotel is ok. But there are some negative points which I believe should to be fixed:
- Expensive and deadly slow wifi.
- Heater in my room was old and uncontrollable so from time to time it was really cold, especially at night.
- After the hurricane Sandy half of the room was wet (through the closed balcony) but no one cared about it.
- Hotel used to block random amounts in your credit card without your consent.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrkoOrko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveRipai, Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you very much for staying at the Beacon Hotel for your recent visit to Washington, DC. We would like to express sincere appreciation to you for providing us your feedback. We take our guest feedback very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable accommodations. We apologize for the situation with regard to the service you received. This is certainly not the kind of impression or service we intend for our guests. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

773 - 779 of 1,343 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

I Must say ,My stay at the Beacon Hotel was a very pleasant experience. The customer service was very informative and the room service was timely. The hotel staff was friendly and inviting. I had the pleasure of dinnig at the cafe' located in the hotel,The food was EXCELLENT.I would recomend that you try the Barbecue quesadiles and cheese,It was absoutely delicious!The service was great and the waiter was very helpful! Overall I would defintely revisit the beacon hotel again and I Would recommend any friend or tourist to as well.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayla g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveRipai, Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to share with everyone how much you enjoyed the Beacon Hotel. Thank you for choosing us. We look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I upgraded for $10 a day upon arrival and the room was huge, bigger than some of the apartments I've had. It had a huge bedroom with lots of closets, a kitchenette, and a separate TV room with a pull-out couch. So if I were traveling with a family on a budget, I would have been happy about a low-cost, ah, suite.

However, calling it a suite is purely a distinction of space and not atmosphere or quality: the room looked like it had been cheaply redecorated once a decade and unfortunate bits of from each period still remained: it reminded me of a closet that had gradually become a dumping ground for all sorts of things that people forget about and never want to use again. But even the poor decorating wouldn't have bothered me that much, but the room itself was falling apart. The rug was musty and stained, the fridge froze anything I put in it no matter how I adjusted the temperature, the bathroom door handle needed a safecracker's skill to open, the bed had a huge permanent indent on one side, the coffee maker didn't work...and so on. The worst, though, was when I sat down on the couch for the first time and it was very wet, with what I didn't even want to speculate.

Also, although I'm used to some hotels gouging their guests by charging a per day fee for wireless, this place went a step further by charging a per device fee for wireless. Perhaps this happens in other places but I haven't heard about that before.

The hotel is in a nice area, though, and the front desk staff were friendly and helpful: mis-charging me for things I didn't order would have been another complaint but the front desk staff was very professional and courteous in fixing that. Overall, a disappointment because I wanted to find a place to suggest to friends with kids visiting the city. Other reviewers seemed to enjoy their experience here more than I did, so perhaps I just had the misfortune of getting a declining room during an off week.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveRipai, Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you very much for staying at the Beacon Hotel for your recent visit to Washington, DC. We express our sincere appreciation to you for the compliments on the staff. We take our guest feedback very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable accommodations. We apologize for the discrepancies you found in your room and with the service..…certainly this is just as unacceptable to us as it is to you. We can assure you that We have addressed this issue rigorously. Again, we thank you for choosing us and we look forward to the day when we can welcome you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and I were at this hotel for an event, and instead of driving home, decided to stay the night. There were some highs, some lows, and some in betweens, but overall enjoyed the experience.

The Good - The room. We paid 10 dollars for the upgrade to a suite and I feel as though I got my money's worth for that upgrade. We had a fridge, a sink, and a decent setup/configuration. We were on the eight floor but not facing anything that could really be considered a view.

The Bad - The service. It started with the phone call before booking the hotel and did not get better at any point. To park your car you must valet. Pulled up to the valet, aparently they dont come to your car. Had to go to the front desk to have someone come park my car. Supplies insufficient in the room, the bed was too short, feet hanging off, and there was no working air conditioning. There were a lot of negatives looking back, but just came from a very fun event so was more willing than usual to overlook them I guess.

The Great - Location. Thats about it. If this is where you want to be in D.C. it is in a good spot.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blewjaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveRipai, Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you for choosing us and taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I wanted to personally apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We want our guests to have the best stay possible where everything exceeds their expectations. We’re sorry that you received service that is less-than-satisfactory and we regret any inconvenience or disappointment that your experience caused you. We value you as a guest, and we do want you to know that we’ve taken corrective measures to prevent such occurrences in the future. We look forward to the day when we can welcome you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Big rooms, clean and good location. It's safe and secured with parking facilities. A 24-hour pizza joint serves hotel guests. The staff are friendly and hospitality. This is largely a business hotel from the looks of it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msilovefood71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveRipai, Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your early return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel is in a great section of the city with easy access to the metro station and other nearby amenities. The friendly service made my stay comfortable. The room was large, clean, and had ample storage room. The best part of the stay was the price tag that did not break the bank!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hausmannje31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveRipai, Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to share with everyone how much you enjoyed the Beacon Hotel. It is because of you that we are here. Thank you for choosing us. We look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Came down to DC from NJ with my sweetheart for a weekend getaway. I was surprised to see that the hotel's web site offered better prices than the online travel sites. Check-in was seamless, doormen and valet were very attentive and on point. The room was amazing and exceeded what I had expected. The bath room was spotless, very modern and up to date. I stayed in the King size suite with the kitchenette, and living room w/ fireplace. Which came in very handy since I like to sleep in and my fiance doesn't. Which allowed her to go out into the living room and watch the big flat screen TV that's mounted over the fireplace while I slept in. I didn't attend the Sunday brunch, however I can tell it must be equally amazing by the non hotel guests who were coming there just for that!!! I will definitely have the Sunday brunch on my next stay at the Beacon, which I hope will be sooner than later.

Room Tip: I would recommend the King size suite with the $49 upgrade. Can't beat the room for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J2Jsquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveRipai, Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you ever so much for sharing your comments about your recent experience at The Beacon Hotel. Comments such as yours provide us the fuel to continue in our effort to provide a welcoming and hospitable environment in which our guests fully enjoy our city. We look forward to your return the next time you are in Washington, DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#78 of 142 in Washington DC
1,296 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#82 of 142 in Washington DC
1,872 reviews
Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#38 of 142 in Washington DC
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The St. Gregory Hotel
The St. Gregory Hotel
#97 of 142 in Washington DC
164 reviews
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters

Address: 1615 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3205 (Formerly The Governor's House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: $115 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel creates the perfect setting where guests can "Work, Relax and Play" in an atmosphere that is contemporary, welcoming and elegant. This summer enjoy the benefits of an extraordinary location, from where you can walk to the Smithsonian Museums and Monuments all within an easy walk or short metro ride, walk four blocks to The White House, off "Embassy Row" famous for stunning Diplomatic residences, yet equally convenient to the centers of business of "K Street" and Connecticut Ave. The Walter E Washington Convention Center, The cool restaurants and Night life of Dupont Circle and 14th Street. Two Metro stations are within easy walk. Accommodations include spacious deluxe rooms and our popular "Corporate Quarter Suites" inspired by New York Style studio living, featuring pantries, dining and living areas that complement the lifestyles of our guests with spacious accommodations. Ideal settings whether you are traveling with family, an urban explorer or if you are seeking a romantic escape. The Beacon Bar & Grill presents excellent dining and entertainment options: alfresco dining in season, an elegant dining room, light fare and creative cocktails are featured in season in our Sky-Bar rooftop lounge. Featuring creative American cuisine drawing inspiration from comfort foods, international cuisine and seasonal offerings. Our Saturday and Sunday Champagne Brunch, have been voted amongst the "Top Five" Champagne Brunches in the city for over 10 years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel And Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel Washington Dc
Beacon Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing