We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable stay but off the mark for me”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #51 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2010

We stayed 4 nights in The Carlyle Suites, booked mainly for the kitchenette - a useful feature to have when travelling with 2 small children. We had a pretty good rate for our room from Expedia. The room was roomy, 2 comfortable double beds, HDTV, a 2 seater sofa & 2 chairs, short coffee table, free wifi. Kitchenette had microwave, stove, toaster, coffee maker, full set of cooking set, cutlery and utensils. Washer/dryer was $1 per cycle each. Safeway supermarket was a block away. The front desk has restaurant menus to order with delivery to the hotel.

But it was just off the mark for us:

Maybe it was the black/white 70s art decor theme that i thought was dated or the thin carpeting in the room or that there was no bathtub in the room.

Perhaps it was the officious "welcome" i received. I felt like I met with an immigration official instead of a hotel front desk. She asked me several questions: "how many in your party, you need a crib? how old is your baby?" weren't these already in the reservation and what's with the tone? do i owe you something?

It was more likely because i was being charged $20 for the baby crib. I'd earlier called to request for a crib and received a no problem. now the official at the front desk told me, "if you want the crib it is $20." i asked, "$20 for the stay?" she said, "per night, ma'am. so do you want the crib? at least i told you first." that's it. i totally regretted my choice of hotel even with the kitchenette. i didn't need the attitude - now i know i owed her $80. I would've left but there wouldn't be anywhere for me to go at this last minute at a cheaper rate.

So that added $80 to our stay, which no longer made the rate 'pretty good'. This was really the frist time being charged for a baby crib. Shouldn't the crib be part of the service? Where would the baby sleep - on the bed and roll off? i can understand charging for a roll-away - extra linens, extra service to make the bed, extra towels for extra person etc. but a crib? I felt robbed. And it wasn't even a crib. It was a Graco playpen which takes 2 min to snap together, came with a blanket but no pillow (good thing we brought our own). it also came with an insect glue trap (maybe a good gesture so the insects get trapped before getting to the crib) that already had 2 dead insects trapped on it!! it was disgusting! i threw the insect trap away immediately.

I have to say that the rest of the staff that i met in the evening were much nicer and very helpful. Despite a reasonably comfortable stay, I will not go back to the hotel. I would've traded off the kitchenette for another hotel with a better welcoming attitude and would not charge for a crib.

At check-out while paying for the miscellaneous crib charge, I registered my surprise at being charged for a crib when other hotels don't normally charge for one. I received a shrug - amazing, they don't have an answer for the charge? The hotel should reconsider its $20/night policy for a crib or indicate $20 for the crib in the website and maybe inform the hotel staff a reason to give as an answer. Any answer is better than a shrug.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soj0urner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,915 - 1,921 of 2,188 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2010

I would definitely recommend the Carlyle Suites hotel. I traveled there in March 2010 with my 3 teenage children and husband. Location could not have been better... we could walk 2 short blocks right into Dupont Circle passing embassies and beautiful architecture along the way. The hotel rooms were perfect --- larger room for 3 people to stay in and a regular size room for 2. Space was grrreat. The hotel itself is a little noisy but it really is a wonderful place and in a great location... and for a reasonable rate. I'd definitely stay again and would recommend this as a great place to stay while visiting Washington DC.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

Stayed in Carlyle suites in Mar 2010 for 3 nights. Elegant place, close to Dupont Circle. Clean rooms, all amenities for a comfortable suite. Enjoyed staying there :)

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiranananth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

We had a remarkable experience at this hotel. The room, hallways, etc were immaculate, the mattress was superb (memory foam), Room was huge. Granite kitchen and bath. They provided high end steam coffee maker in the room and room had a full kitchen which was also immaculate as if it had been cleaned with a cue tip. Big wide clean hallways and remodeled lobby that is a nice as it looks in the photos. Convenient and popular bar in lobby. Friendly staff. It was walking distance to Adams Morgan and Dupont Circle as well as 17th Street restaurants. What can I say. It seems to attract a fair number of the younger professional crowd (<30). And free parking was pretty easy to find on the street for the weekend, plus if you can find a spot in their (not too tiny) lot (probably holds 20 cars), they let you park their for free (or at least they did us). Note to the newcomer to DC, weekday parking in DC is in zones with a 2 hour limit. You get a ticket even if you move your car every 2 hours, unless you change zones which is basically impossible.
Was delighted with this hotel and will certainly return. The only very minor negative, from the room you could hear sounds in the hallway relatively easily. Loud talking, etc. But not from other rooms, just from the hall. Oh yes, and free wifi.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

We found this hotel very stress-free. The front desk was pleasant, efficient, and helpful. Very clean and comfortable rooms. The breakfast buffet was perfect for my kids and the location close to DuPont Circle and the Metro could not have been better! We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JESNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

My family stayed three nights at the Carlyle in March - first time in D.C. It was fantastic from start to finish - the front desk staff were so friendly at check in and check out; the room was fully equiped, clean, and quiet; the location was great - beautiful area, close to subway, restaurants, grocery store - would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delphi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

Stayed three nights while going to meetings downtown. Good access to places to eat at Dupont Circle and to Metro.
Room was midsized w. shower only.
Try to avoid first three floors on courtyard-windows don't open and AC was not on yet on a warm spring day. Hotel moved us our last night to higher floor.
Staff is friendly and accommodating.
Couple of little oddities: 1. Iron, but no full size board- had to balance mini-board on kitchen counter. 2. Nowhere to buy newspaper in building.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Recoveringlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
3,323 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#45 of 141 in Washington DC
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
2,207 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#40 of 141 in Washington DC
1,283 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#60 of 141 in Washington DC
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $90 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing