We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rebecca o " Great service"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #50 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Wyoming, Michigan
1 review
“rebecca o " Great service"”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

we had a great time here! this hotel was a great choice. everything was wonderful. the service was great and caring. my friends and i enjoyed ourselves. Rebecca was always checking on us and seeing how we were doing. she made us feel very comfortable. she would know just the right words to say. when we got into our rooms we were very astounded. everything looked so good. our rooms had flat screen televisions, movie, news and sports, HBO and Showtime and many more! the bathroom looked so lovely! it had a great kitchen with microwave, refrigerator, dishware and flatware. i cant wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miranda j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bria D, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
WOW! Thank you for your awesome five star review! I cannot wait to pass on all of these nice comments you have made about Rebecca. I am also glad you had a great time here and we are excited to welcome you back on your next visit to the nation’s capital!

Warm regards,

Bria D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,175
    600
    145
    47
    37
See reviews for
587
504
121
460
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellmore, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Stayed at the Carlyle last night after reading so many positive reviews. I was traveling with one of my sons visiting colleges in the DC area. Upon arrival I was warmly greeted by Rebecca at the front desk, as she reviewed my reservation she explained that I had booked a double room which I did, she went on to explain that a double room only has 1 bed. I explained that we would need a room with 2 beds, without hesitation she checked for another room and found that there was one available and checked us into that room at the same price! She could not have been nicer. The room was terrific, clean and had a kitchenette in it. The bathroom was very small but clean. Beds very comfortable. Great residential neighborhood.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bria D, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Matt K, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am so glad Rebecca was able to comfortably accommodate you and your son into a room with two beds! We wish your son the best with his college search and hope to welcome you back to our comfy beds the next time you’re in town!

Warm regards,

Bria D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2014

this is a great hotel. overall I think this is the best hotel I've ever been to. I wanted to come to dc and relax at a hotel, but I didn't know which hotel to go to. so i went online and i saw a lot of great reviews on the hotel. so i decided to come over and relax myself. it was an incredible stay. the food was amazing! Rebecca helped a lot because this was my very first time here. she was a big help! she was so friendly and generous. when i went into my room i said to myself wow! this is a beautiful place. it had a 37" HD lcd flat screen,full service kitchen with microwave, refrigerator, dishware and flatware, tempur-pedic bed, in-room coffee systems,free high speed internet access, and cable with movie, news, sports, hbo, and showtime channels. i will definitely be coming back here!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kadi t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bria D, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Hi Kadi t! Thank you for staying with us! We are elated to know you had such an excellent stay with us. I am so glad Rebecca was able to help you out; she really is a rock star here! Thanks for noticing all of the awesome amenities we offer! You can kick back and relax with us anytime! See you again soon!

Warm regards,

Bria D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Carlyle hotel, we booked out reservation base of trip advisor we seen a lot of good review, so we decided to book rooms for our family trip. The hotel has a beautiful decor, room are big, we had 2 bed and a sofa bed..love the little cup of coffee, everyday I will call the front desk, Rebecc was alway there to provide us with extra coffee. When we arrive a young lady checked us in, and we mention that my son had a cold, later on that day, rebecc call to check on him and asked if he wants any soup or hot tea, we though that was beyond any service we receive at any hotel. Will be coming back!!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bria D, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your kind words! I am so happy Rebecca was able to take care of you! Hopefully your son is feeling better. We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family again soon on your next trip to Washington, DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We discovered this gem during our stopover in Washington, DC. It's a boutique hotel, with Art Deco charm and character. Each suite is slightly different. What value for the money, too. Beautiful room, with bonus kitchenette. We got the same terrific service you'd expect from the big chain hotels, without the price. The staff was friendly, calm and accommodating for our many questions - how to get around, best place for breakfast, etc. (Thank you especially to Michelle, Kamaria, Barack, Arafat and Mr. Koon who also checked the room to make sure we didn't leave anything behind.)

The location is great on Embassy Row, a residential area, so you feel like a local, and it is close to the subway to get you to all the tourist sites (or take a longer walk).

We liked it so much on our stopover that we made time to stay again on our way back. Can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IreneKandK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizann T, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Dear IreneKandK,

Thank you for your wonderful five star review of the Carlyle Suites! I am glad that you stumbled us and it became worth you while. I truly appreciate the time that you took to share your kind words of our Art Deco gem to other travellers! We are very fortunate indeed to be in a great location such as Dupont Circle in which you get to embrace living like a local, yet accessible to many major attractions.
I will be certain to extend your praises to Michelle, KaMaria, Barack, Arafat and Mr. Cung of a job well done!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Carlyle Suites in the near future and will be sure to offer you the terrific service that you deserve.

Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2014

This is our second visit to the Carlyle; the last was 4 years ago. Our first visit was very nice so we decided to come back a second time. The location is perfect! Close to the metro and a ton of restaurants close by. Abou really helped us out with a room upgrade which gave our child some more room to run around in when we were here. Kitchens are extremely handy as well. Rooms are clean and well appointed. I would recommend Carlyle suites to anyone coming in to visit the area.

Room Tip: Talk to Abou, he will help sort you out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bria D, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Jacob C, thank you for remembering us after 4 years! It is always a pleasure to know that our rooms came in handy to both parents AND child! We will definitely share with Abou your great comments. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,

Bria D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,965 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#75 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Property: Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing