We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #48 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We booked this from the tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. The staff were always welcoming and helpful. It's a short walk to the Dupont Circle Metro Station so travelling round the city is easy and it's also a very short walk to lots of restaurants and a well-stocked supermarket. The facilities were more than we needed for breakfast (which saved on the budget) and fresh coffee supplies were provided frequently. It's a very quiet and safe area (lots of embassies nearby) so walking back after dinner was no risk. Definitely a good place to stay to explore Washington and good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DJS377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizann T, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear DJS377,

Thank you for sharing such a wonderful 5 star review of the Carlyle Suites Hotel. This is a great forum to exchange experiences and we are pleased that we lived up to the hype so much that you decided to return the favor to other travellers. You certainly found the right place, as you mentioned in a well-appointed location, being near to restaurants, grocery stores and public transportation. Our kitchenettes are definitely an added bonus for those who opt to have a home cooked meal.
We certainly hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Art Deco landmark on your next trip to Washington, D.C.

Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

770 - 776 of 2,147 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2014

Abou and Bria were especially kind to us. Five-star service. Abou was very friendly in checking us in. He greeted us and made us feel welcome. If all hotel staff were like this, the world would be a better place. Seriously. He is a model in determining the ideal hotel staff mate. The hotel itself was rather nice, and was complimentary. That's all there is to say.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stayfon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizann T, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Stayfon,

Thank you for sharing your 5 star experience with other travellers. I am pleased that you were highly impressed with our hotel based off the customer service provided by two exceptional employees. This is truly a gratifying compliment and it reassures us that we meeting and exceeding out guest expectations in everyway.
Abou and Bria were elated by your kind sentiments and will certainly continue to set the bar high. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Carlyle Suites Hotels and will ensure you have the same outstanding experience!

Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This place is awesome! It's clean and big. Environment is very good, not many cars around here, it's pretty quiet. Abou and Bria are the best! They are so kind~ FIVE STAR service! Choose here you will love it~

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoriama114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Dear Victoriama114,
Thank you so much for a fantastic review, Abou and Bria were very happy to see their names being praised. This helps us to always acknowledge the effort of these employees that are going out of their way to make guests experience memorable. I am glad you mentioned their names and recommended us to other travelers. We know we will see you again on your next trip. Best Regards! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Very comfortable and spacious room . Good beds .Fabulous staff ..very helpful .Special thanks to Rebecca and Dora who made us feel at home . Good breakfast . We would like to come again !Greetings from Holland.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roland D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizann T, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Roland D,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Carlyle Suites. I am pleased that you found your accommodations comfortable and spacious, and with Rebecca and Dora ensuring you felt right at home was just the icing on the cake! I will be share to share this great review with them. Whenever travel allows you to return to Washington, D.C., we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, helpful staff, and good location. Nothing bad to say about this hotel. The hotel looks very nice and sleek. The staff was helpful with directions, luggage, and valet parking. The location was nice, close to lots of restaurants and shops and was quiet and safe.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizann T, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Cathy C,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with other travelers. I am pleased that you were impressed by our accommodations and above all, our customer service. It truly validates all the standards we aim to accomplish. I am also glad that the location worked out well for your convenience. If travel allows you to return to Washington, D.C, we would love to welcome you back to the Carlyle Suites Hotel!
Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We are a family of five who stayed in a two double bed suite (with sofa bed) in late June/early July. The room was clean and very spacious. More like an apartment than a hotel suite. The beds were comfortable and the living area provided ample space for our almost one year old to take his first steps.

The fully equipped kitchenette (in a separate side room) had all we needed to make our own meals - toaster, cutlery, pots, pan, microwave, etc... Dish cloth and liquid dish soap were even supplied.

The location is close to the DuPont Circle metro but you can easily walk to many attractions - the White House, National Geographic Museum. The neighbourhood offers trendy restaurants, many with patios. For families with young children there is a playground nearby.

What we liked best about the hotel was the staff. Abu and Rebecca checked us in. They were friendly and professional. They saw that we were exhausted from our long drive and did everything they could to check us in quickly and provide advice for our stay. It was so very appreciated. The other staff were also very courteous - from the doorman who carried up our bags, the valet, the housekeepers, and the technician. Many even learned our children's names which was a lovely touch.

I would stay here again and will recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room. Very quiet. Room 837 is a great family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizann T, Assistant Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear A C,
Thank you for sharing such a fantastic five star review of the Carlyle Suites. I am very thrilled that your family of five felt comfortable and well accommodated in your spacious suite, the amenities of course were just an added bonus but our very own, Rebecca and Abou were the icing on the cake! We are very fortunate to be in a wonderful neighborhood such as Dupont Circle, as it makes our guest commute very easy! I look forward to sharing your feedback with my team and I am sure they will be just as thrilled as I am to know that you were extremely satisfied with their customer service abilities. We certainly appreciate your recommendation and hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Carlyle!
Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Rooms appear to be old one room apartments. Updated to be more modern. Our family of 6 slept comfortably in this room. The staff was very attentive, arrived with extra towels promptly when requested and provided excellent advise on where to eat. Not much drawer space. We left most clothes in our bags until wearing. Our 20 year old son was heading home back to his job and needed a cab ride. Abu called a very nice cab for our son and even asked about him the next day. I was impressed. Close to Dupont Circle metro and many eateries. We ate at Panera every morning before boarding the metro.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizann T, Assistant Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Julie S
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am pleased that you were impressed by our very own Abou’s customer service and our staff attentiveness. It is evident by your feedback that it made a positive impact on your stay and for that; we could not be any more pleased. This location is perfect for its close metro proximity and eatery options. I will be certain to share your review with Abou and the team. We look forward to welcoming back to the Carlyle Suites!!
Best Regards,
Lizann Thompson
Assistant Front Office Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,242 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#63 of 142 in Washington DC
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton George Hotel
#22 of 142 in Washington DC
2,190 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
1,698 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#47 of 142 in Washington DC
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $106 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing