We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Suite Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #52 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very Good Suite Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

The positives: great location in quiet residential neighborhood four blocks from Dupont Circle and two blocks from 16th street; large spotless room with small kitchenette; firm but comfortable bed; accommodating staff; bar/restaurant on site; moderately priced for area. Negatives (minor): no ice machine (but staff will get ice); small bathroom; difficult shower controls and weak shower flow (8th floor room).

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kiddoc1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear kiddoc1940,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I am glad you loved the location and the overall accommodation. As of the ice machine, we do provide ice upon request, you just needed to call the front desk. I know we will get a five star rating from you on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Best Wishes, Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,159
    585
    145
    43
    37
See reviews for
577
498
119
447
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Please let me begin this with explaining that I was not happy with the hotel when I first arrived, I was under the impression that the rooms would be a bit more luxurious for the price. Sadly I was mistaken. However, I did this an EXCELLENT rating and it is to simply recognize two gentlemen that know and understand what the word Customer Service means. Abou and Mediombo are the two gentlemen that truly made our stay top notch. We only stayed at the hotel for one night, and these two Gentlemen treated us like we had known each other for years. The apologized for the room and they were heavily booked, then Abou comes to my room with a bottle of White Wine for my fiance and (6) little pieces of chocolate. Abou was so amazing he even recommended us a wonderful Italian Restaurant, The Dupont Italian Kitchen, YOU MUST EAT HERE! The food is amazing, the service Top Notch! and the owner is true Gentleman. We were there to celebrate my Fiance's birthday and it was definitely a wonderful time thank you to our friends Abou and Mediombo! From our hearts to yours! Thank you for treating us so well, it will be a pleasure to stay with you again in the future. Oh, and please let me tell you about the bed...Oh MY! This was the most incredible wonderful sleep that I have had in year. King Sized Tempurpedic Foam Mattress, that was pretty amazing.


Cheers,

Andrew Lausen

Room Tip: Ask for Mediombo or Abou and they will treat you like the king or queen that you are! Trust Me! Tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Andrew L,
It's just an honor for me to have team members like Abou and Mediombo. The Staff just love what they do and do it with passion and personal touch. I am glad Abou and Mediombo turned your sad impression into a memorable birthday celebration. Please let me know next time you are here so I can personally meet you. We look forward to seeing again. Best Wishes, Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

I stayed here for two weeks during a research trip to the Smithsonian Institution. The manager upgraded me to a suite when he learned how long I was staying, and the room was perfect for a solo traveler working long hours. The room was warm and comfortable (awesome bed!), the wi-fi, was reliable, and the kitchen was adequate to cook simple dinners. There is a supermarket nearby, and the DuPont Circle metro is an easy 5-minute walk away. The area has good variety of restaurants and shops. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Back rooms overlook the hotel bar (noisy in the evening) and alley (noisy in the morning) so front s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BucktownTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear BucktownTraveler,
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay. Staying in a hotel for two weeks just sounds like staying at home away from home and I am glad to hear that you've been upgraded to a larger room and the Wifi was reliable for you. Let us know in advance the room you occupied so we can make sure you get the same room type when you return. We look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We recently stayed at Carlyle Suites Hotel in Washington DC for five nights. We arrived very late at night and unfortunately had to deal with a very rude member of staff on the front desk. There was apparently some mix-up with our booking (no reason was given) and for the first night we were given a room which was not what we had booked and told that we would be moved the next day. Obviously we weren't happy, but not a lot you can do about it at midnight!

The next day my husband went down and spoke with the front office manager (Simon A) who couldn't have been nicer. He was very apologetic and went out of his way to correct the situation. He upgraded us to their best suite and gave us vouchers for a breakfast buffet in their restaurant which was really lovely. All of the staff we encountered from then on were friendly, courteous and extremely helpful, especially Mediumbo (we know this is probably not how to spell his name but we did want to mention him specifically).

The suite we were in had 2 double beds and a sofa bed, a small kitchen and a bathroom. It was quite ok for our family of four and the location in Dupont Circle is excellent. It was very easy to get to everything we wanted to visit and the Metro is simple to use once you get the hang of it. Overall we ended up having a lovely stay at the Carlyle Suites and would like to thank Simon A and his staff for their excellent service. We would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kirsty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel and the service they provided. The accommodations were clean and the beds were very comfortable. The location was great. There were many restaurants and stores located nearby. The staff was suburb. I had an emergency change of plans and they willingly worked worked with me to meet my needs. Thanks Mediombo.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Nice large rooms and a good breakfast buffet. Clean rooms and located quite well as it´s near It's near Dupont Circle Metro. The hotel itself is located in the embassy district where where it is quiet.The staff was helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susu A, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Heloo GCarnaffan, Thank-you for taking time out to share your feedback about the Carlyle. I’m saddened that you felt one of our team members were a little standoff-ish. I can assure you that ALL of our team members truly embrace hospitality and love being of service to our guests. We have a lot of exciting things going on at the Carlyle, one of them being renovations. So when travel brings you back to DC be sure to check us out.

Happy Holidays from all of us at the Carlyle.

-Susu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Mills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel twice before. It has always been comfortable. It's near DuPont Circle Metro. It has all the amenities you need, there are food stores nearby you can pick up basics for the room, and of course, there are restaurants located all about. The rooms I've gotten are always clean. You can't go wrong here.

Ray Santini

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,850 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#71 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan
Kimpton Donovan
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Property: Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing