We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #51 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I have been staying on and off at the Carlyle Suites for business for the past few months. Being here has made my stay in DC a great experience. The staff if kind and helpful, the rooms are large and livable, and the location is great in DuPont Circle, with many wonderful restaurants just a short walk away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJR724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Hello BJR724,
Thank you so much for your five star review. We thank you for being Loyal to Carlyle and let me know if there is anything you will prefer on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely, Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

911 - 917 of 2,217 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

I can tell that this place was really really nice as soon my boyfriend and I got there *Michelle *&*Liz Ann*they took care of us . she (Michelle) was so nice and patient! Because we started askin about directions and places to go and she took her time to tell us where we should go. We definitely coming back!!!!!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank iko1087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear iko1087
Thank you for taking the time to write this five star review about the hotel and especially mentioning the staff that went above and beyond to make sure your stay is memorable.
This is the kind of service we are after and I am happy to hear that we met this goal with you.
Michelle and Lizann were very happy to see your review and we are all excited to welcoming you back on your next trip. Best Wishes! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I researched trip advisor before booking and chose Carlyle Suites based on it's location and reviews. My wife, son and I stayed for 4 nights in April whilst on vacation. We liked the hotel. First impressions were good, the room was a good size and had a kitchenette (not that my wife wanted to use it!)

The hotel's proximity to DuPont Circle and the metro was handy, just a 5-10 min walk. In the other direction 14th St is walking distance and it's many restaurants. A local told us about Ted's Bulletin and we had several meals there, lived it.

The room was clean and in good condition. My wife comments that it didn't have a bath which was a disappointment for her. The guest laundry was well fitted out and useful.

We'd stay at the Carlyle again if we return to DC.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Simon F,
Thank you for taking the time to write this four star review about us. We know we will get a five star on your next visit. Please be so kind to send me some feedback regarding our service so we can make some adjustments before your next arrival. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best Regards! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Sometimes you get lucky and stumble on some place really special. The Carlyle Suites, near Dupont Circle, is my piece of luck for hotels in Washington. Everything you could ask for: great furnishings and very comfortable bed, well equipped kitchen, large, sunny room, free and easily accessed internet, good work space, separated from nice eating arrangement, and very importantly, a superb staff. After this stay I can't see any reason to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Camera_in_hand2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Camera_in_hand,
I am so happy to hear that your stay was wonderful and you found us as your piece of luck for hotels in Washington. Now, you know where to stay in DC. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best Wishes, Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed here for a week whilst on business. The hotel is a fair walk from Dupont Circle. In the vicinity there are reasonable dining options and a supermarket one block away. Staff were courteous yet curt. Hotel offers laundry facilities which came in very useful. Very ordinary experience, nothing to rave about. Rooms are spacious with decent sized bathrooms.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Ahlers,
I am sorry to hear that you had an average experience with us on your recent stay. This is not our standard and we hope you give us another chance to show you our real service. Please send an e-mail on your next visit so I can make sure you have a fantastic stay.
Best Regards! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The location, about an 8 minute walk to the DuPont Circle Red Metro Line was very convenient as it was only two stops to the metro station where one could switch to the orange and blue lines. It was within short walking distance to good restaurants in several directions and a small Safeway and a few small convenience stores. It was withing walking distance to the Phillips Art Collection, well worth viewing. The suite was spacious and quiet with cross ventilation and windows that opened. There were comfortable new mattresses , plenty of pillows, nice duvets and extra blankets,a pull- out sofa and a small closet. The kitchenette was small but functional and plenty of fluffy towels and toiletries.Breakfast was available in buffet form for $14.95 but it was too pricey for us. Only two negatives, no table to sit at but there was a desk we could use with two extra chairs for eating and the shower only had a half door which made things a bit wet in the shower. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful always with a smile and greeting. It was cherry blossom time, although they weren't quite out yet but that did not preclude the higher rates at this high season time. Definitely worth staying here.

Room Tip: Opt for the larger double suites, worth the slightly higher price for larger space and storage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fergrimes-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Hello ergrimes-7,
Thank you for taking the time to write this four star review. I am glad you found our hotel being very Convenient, Comfortable and Congenial (3C). As of the dinning table, we do have rooms equipped with dinning tables. Please let me know on your next visit so I can make sure you are accommodated in one of them. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best Regards! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I was in Washington for a workshop that was held in this hotel. It is older, well taken care of, clean, good service, a blast from the past Art Deco, 25 minute walk to White House, close to subway...Rooms have small kitchens perfect for making breakfast....However the food at the hotel was excellent....I would stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear nancyrbf,
Thank you so much for your review, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here at the Carlyle. The food at Twist is just one of the top especially if you come for the Sunday Brunch. We know will see again when you are back to DC. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Best wishes, Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,382 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
2,217 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 141 in Washington DC
1,297 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#39 of 141 in Washington DC
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $114 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing