We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in good safe area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #52 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in good safe area”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Hotel is past DuPont Circle in a very quiet area but a short walk to U Street with all the bars and restaurants. Lobby is nice as is bar and restaurant. They do a buffet breakfast but it was quite expensive at $14 per person. They offer valet parking at $40 per night. Hotel rooms and public areas were extremely clean. Service was very good. Our room was a bit on the small side but had a little kitchenette with sink, pots & pans, dishes, silverware, refrigerator and microwave. Bathrooms were small with shower, sink and toilet and opened to a small vanity which was nice. Hair dryer was in the bathroom and should have been in the vanity area so one person can dry hair while the other showers. Beds were a bit firm but I slept fine even though I prefer a softer bed. The only problem we had was with the lighting in the room and the positioning of the wardrobe. We couldn't see in the wardrobe and there wasn't enough room to fully open the wardrobe without hitting the bed so it was difficult to get into the wardrobe and the safe, which was at the bottom of the wardrobe. Not a big problem but having to crawl on the floor to get to the safe was not fun. Otherwise, good hotel in a central area with lovely art déco décor.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hello phillinda,
I am glad to hear that your overall stay was nice and your enjoyed most of your time in DC. I thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of the hotel and the public areas, the housekeeping department does a fantastic job maintaining these areas in such a great condition and we appreciate you acknowledged their effort. I know we will get a five star with you on your next visit.
I thank you again for taking the time to write this review and look forward to welcoming you back!
Sincerely, Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,197
    622
    151
    49
    38
See reviews for
597
524
127
473
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I was travelling to Washington with my mother for her birthday and in response to my advance request for a corner room on the upper floors, we were given wonderful room on the top floor: very spacious with comfortable beds, a sitting area, full kitchenette, morning sun, and a great view. I booked a deluxe double and advise spending the extra money for this room class. It is well worth it. I also want to commend the courtesy and friendliness of the staff. They were knowledgeable and provided great advice on where to eat and what to see, esp. regarding the cherry blossoms.

The location of the hotel was perfect, close to downtown and in a charming neighbourhood, which I appreciated returning to after a long day of sightseeing at the National Mall. The Dupont Circle metro is a 10 minute walk from the hotel and there are lots of reasonably priced restaurants within a two-three block radius of the hotel. Of particular note is a fabulous bakery and equally wonderful restaurant in the bookstore on Dupont Circle, the latter recommended by the Carlyle staff. For prepared food Glen's Garden Market is excellent. Be sure to check out the Phillips Art Museum in the neighbourhood. A must for art lovers.

Room Tip: Book a double deluxe and ask for a corner room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hello Victoria D,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about us. I am so glad to hear that your mother's birthday was a success and our staff was for a great help providing you with direction and eatery information. We thank you for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Washington.
Best Regards! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Carlyle recently and found it to be clean, comfortable and convenient to the museums and mall area of D.C. The Metro is just a couple blocks away and also a Safeway grocery store. The suite was spacious, beds very comfortable and the small kitchen had just enough supplies for easy meal preparation. As other reviews have mentioned the hotel is in a residential and embassy area, even Saturday night was quiet and peaceful. Lots of residents walking dogs, to the store or nearby restaurants. Would stay there again quite happily!

Room Tip: Our 5th floor suite was quiet with very little street noise noticeable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2014

we booked a sherry package at at the Carlyle over the weekend. It was indeed a great deal ,we took advantage of the free parking and the two cocktails upon arrival, they were delicious by the way. Stuff were very friendly ,room very comfortable ,and it was indeed a hidden gem.
the highlight of our stay was the Sunday brunch at the Carlyle, incredibly busy,wonderful atmosphere,the bottomless mimosas were coming nonstop ,food was really good, we had a great time, we will diffidently be back to the Carlyle.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samaca s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear samaca s,
Thank you for a great five star review. I am so glad you took advantage of our Cherry Blossom package. This package is to allow most families that will be driving to town for the Cherry Blossom Festival to get a break on the parking struggle we have in DC. For the Sunday Brunch, it was a nice choice; as you might have noticed it attracts the neighborhood traffic throughout the day. I am happy you enjoyed your overall stay and will be back. We look forward to seeing soon!
Best Wishes! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The hotel should meet the needs of most discriminating travelers who are staying in Washington, DC, for an extended stay for either business or pleasure. As with many such hotels, amenities are limited (e.g., exercise facilities are nearby but offsite; in-room dinner service ends at 11 pm), but those offered are high end.

The Carlysle Suites itself is northeast of Du Pont Circle, surrounded by high-rise and low rise residences, as well as embassies from many nations. This means it is close enough to the Du Pont Circle to access its shops and nightlife, as well as the Metro, but distant enough to be relatively unaffected by its bustle.

We drove into town for a wedding, but chose to park at a relative's home on the DC outskirts because the parking fee—$45/day was too steep to just leave at the hotel for most of my stay. [Surprisingly, the rate on the website today—just a week later—is just $39. Check this before you arrive.]

When we arrived, staff was helpful as we checked in and unloaded the car. However, the valet seemed annoyed that we would not be parking: he reminded me—twice—that we had only 15 minutes to move the car from the unloading zone.

The room itself was smaller than a "suite" designation might suggest to those used to staying in mid-range chains, such as Residence Inns, in cities where commercial real estate rates per square foot are much lower than in Washington, DC. In line with its extended-stay appeal, the room included a kitchenette with an older stove and basic cooking tools. Surprisingly, there was no pitcher to keep water cold in the refrigerator, and the small ice tray was useless. In contrast, the bathroom was very modern and well appointed.

We were surprised at how firm the memory-foam mattresses were. Both my companion and I, who like our beds fairly firm, found them uncomfortable. As a result, neither of us slept as well as we would have liked. I find this a bit ironic because in the past when I had problems with a hotel mattress, it was because they were too soft and didn't provide enough support.

We had several lunches and a buffet breakfast at the hotel during our stay. The food was consistently tasty and the prices were competitive with other area options.

The Carlysle Suites is a "green" hotel and has introduced a number of environmentally friendly policies, practices, and products over the years. Although it has a recycling program, our room did not have separate trash and recycling bins. Either guest trash is sorted from trash before disposal, or the recycling program is limited to staff. I suspect the latter, since the other green practices geared toward guests were prominently displayed in a notice in the room. Although we did separate our own paper and plastic, I do not know if they were recycled or recombined with the trash and disposed of.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Carlysle Suites, though was fine. Considering other lodging options near Du Pont Circle, our stay at the Carlysle Suites was a good value.

Room Tip: If traveling with children, consider upgrading beyond the standard room, which is relatively small f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Because the price for a room at the Carlyle was below so many others, I was not sure that my choice was going to turn out all that well. But....it was wonderful. Gracious staff, clean corner room, comfortable beds! My friend and I could not have been happier! Thank u to Simon, Michelle, our host with the beautiful smile at the hotel restaurant and of course our faithful cab hailers! Thank u to all! We enjoyed breakfast in the Atrium too! Wonderful city, comfortable place to come "home" to. Marybeth and Marie

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marybeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

WOW! 6 days at the Carlyle for business was the best hotel stay ever. The staff is wonderful. They make you feel at home and comfortable. The room was quiet and the bed heavenly; best nights sleep ever. I normally miss my bed at home but this time I miss the hotel bed! BUT the pièce de résistance was TWIST the restaurant. Mediterranean with a lot of Moroccan influence was a total delight. I cannot sing their praises enough. Every dinner was a treat, but I did get hung up on the Tiramisu. If you have to be in DC or want to go to DC, you must stay here. You will be so happy. This is a more European style hotel and it is just a delight. I would recommend this for anyone who wants to relax and be comfortable and enjoy wonderful food. When was the last time you had a real Ceasar salad where it was really good and you ate all of it because you enjoyed every bite? Needs more stars!

Room Tip: I was on the 8th floor very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orcatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 141 in Washington DC
3,077 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#59 of 141 in Washington DC
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,624 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
2,151 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#75 of 141 in Washington DC
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Property: Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing