We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely people, great location and comfortable hotel in DC!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #52 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
157 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Lovely people, great location and comfortable hotel in DC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

I like the people who work here, and I like the hotel and location! I was upgraded to a suite upon arrival, and it was very nice with a separate kitchen, dressing area off of the bathroom, and a large living space. The bed was really nice, as was the bedding. I will stay here again, without hesitation!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank randisbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,159
    585
    145
    43
    37
See reviews for
577
498
119
447
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Xi'an, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

I stayed here for almost two more weeks and stuff here is really nice(thank you About!) At first, I think the room here is not that luxurious but after you spend time here one night you will feel this place is very comfortable just like home. It is also a good location since it's near the metro and people can easily go to National mall, white house and some places for sightseeing, also it's close to the georgetown which is a good place to shopping.Also there are many small food market around here, you can cook for yourself, and some small great resturant around here.Wonderful hotel I will come back again!!

这家酒店很不错, 服务人员态度很好,而且房间款式也很不错, 床垫均是乳胶床垫睡起来很舒服。房间有带厨房,冰箱,微波炉,烤面包机等设施, 不习惯西餐的朋友也可以在旁边超市买来自己做。这里离地铁站很近, 可以乘地铁去白宫,林肯纪念堂等旅游观光区。周围的中餐厅也很多,做的也很地道。此处为使馆区, 附近也有很多精致的小餐馆和咖啡店。总之是一个非常棒的酒店。

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

In a nice neighborhood, mostly up-scale residential, a few block off of Dupont Circle. There are many places to eat at the Circle, but especially north on 18th Street. (Adams Morgan, famous for reasonably priced ethnic food) and also over around Florida and U. The hotel feels rather European. It does not pretend to be a new building nor a generic HIlton. We really liked it that way. We were there during spring break for some parts of the country, and most of the guests were families with teens or same sex couples. No noise from the other guests. We had a kitchenette with real dishes, a stove, etc. But there was no dining table in our room, and one of those single-serving fancy coffee makes-- I prefer a regular drip pot. But we really loved the location. The family loved walking to the Metro with real Washingtoninans and got a kick out of spotting the various embassies in the area.

Room Tip: We had a suite for 5. It was a little cramped, but fine. For 4, I'd get the same size room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeddyandIgloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

I stayed in DC for a conference and am already familiar with this neighborhood. By coincidence the hotel was close to a friend's apartment so I was able to get in a good visit with friends after conference hours. I had not planned on driving, but was snowed out of my flight and decided to drive. The hotel had easy parking and helpful valet service. Simon was very helpful every day Abdu was also helpful the day he was on staff. Every person at the desk was knowledgeable and friendly. I thought the rooms were fresh, clean and comfortable. Thank you

Room Tip: My 8th floor room had a great view. This is a dog friendly hotel and the dog park is a block down. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

I have been to DC several times in the past few years due to work reasons. I have stayed in many hotels, but after staying at the Carlyle for the first time I have never traded it for another DC hotel. The rooms are the type I like: with desk and work space, small kitchen, small living room, everything that makes you feel at home rather than in a hotel. Staff is super courteous, Abou in particular, never spared efforts to make my stay more enjoyable. The location is wonderful as well. Close to restaurants in Dupont Circle and also in 14th and 15th Street. There is a small Safeway and Wholefoods nearby as well. I also enjoy that they give complimentary access to the Washington Sports Club, instead of offering a lame fitness room as most hotels.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leminsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Leminsky,
Thank you so much for this outstanding five star review. It's just a pleasure to hear all the good stuff you mentioned about the hotel and the staff. Abou is just amazing in service and eager to make guests happy. We thank you again for being Loyal to us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Best Regards! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed here during my trip to Washington for 8 days. Very friendly staff erverywhere, nice and large rooms. Free wifi erverywhere, very comfortable beds. Thanks to erverybody here for being helpful and friendly. Guess i found my hotel for my next visit next year...special thanks to Abou & Simon at the desk. you guys are great...Highly recommend...!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jens B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Jens B,
We know, 8 nights away from your home is a long time, I am happy we were able to make your stay enjoyable. Abou and the entire team are just committed to servicing guests with passion. I am glad you acknowledged his zeal for service. As you said " Guess i found my hotel for my next visit next year", we look forward to welcoming you again next year!
Best Regards! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Nice location (Dupont is full of nice restaurants and bars, walking distance to Adams Morgan nightlife area...), free wifi in the rooms, comfortable beds, and amazing staff (look for Karen!), second time there and next year we're coming back for sure! Our home location downtown D.C.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hello Mike S,
Thank you for the five star review, Karen felt special to see the way you said "look for Karen". It was just a pleasure for us to be at your service. We will see you next year!
Best Wishes! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,849 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#71 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan
Kimpton Donovan
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Property: Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing