We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Carlyle Suites Hotel, Washington DC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #50 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Carlyle Suites Hotel, Washington DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

My wife, three kids (12, 10 & 6 years of age) and I have just returned from a fabulous short vacation in DC. We based ourselves for three nights in a suite in this superb hotel and would recommend without hesitation to any prospective travellers to Washington DC. It's within walking distance of all major sites, even with small children, and the metro. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Overall my report card for this hotel is 10 out of 10

Room Tip: Don't forget to print a map that shows the direction from the metro station to the hotel. The di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vincent1867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Hello Vincent1867,
We thank you so much for taking the time to share your superb experience with the TripAdvisor community, this is the way we want our guests to feel when they return from their visit and we are so glad we met this goal with you. Please send me an e-mail next time you are coming back to DC, I would like to meet your kids and have something special for them.
Best Wishes! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,166
    596
    145
    46
    37
See reviews for
582
504
119
453
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

The reception staff Bernadette is very nice. Althought I only spent one night there, I love the kitchen of the room. I could cook food for my kid. And the neighborhoods are exerlent. There are embassies nearby, it's very worthy to walk around and have a tour there.

Room Tip: If you want to cook yourself, choose this hotel. And there are embassies nearby, it's very worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbywxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear abbywxy,
We are very glad to hear that you had a very good stay with us although you spent only one night. Bernadette was happy to see her name mentioned as the star among all the staff members you have encountered. It was a pleasure for us to meet your expectations and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Washington DC.

Sincerely, Simon Attagba Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valence, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We spent 9 nights in this hotel. Everything was excellent, the smile of people, the whiteness of towels, the quality of beds and the quality/price ratio.
We appreciated particularly Carlos and french speaking people service and smile. Everybody welcomes you when you enter.
We recommend strongly this hotel and this people.
Mina and Pape

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aleodrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear aleodrome,
I believe spending 9 nights in our hotel, you had the opportunity to see it all. I am particularly happy that we were able to meet your expectations and Carlos and the french speakers captured your attention. We are very lucky to have among us multiple staff members that speak multiple languages such French, Spanish, Vietnamese, just to name few. I shared your good comments with our housekeeping department and they very much appreciated them.
We all thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write this review.
Please let me know next time you are coming back so I can personally meet you.
Sincerely, Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falling Waters, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Greated by friendly and knowledgeable staff. Room was perfect. Slept well on the new tempurpedic mattress. Mini kitchen was a nice surprise. Nice coffees in the room. Will be back to visit again. Easy walking distance to shops and safeties. Close to metro stations.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btboushey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hello btboushey,
How good can it feel to be greeted at your arrival after a long day of travel or meeting, we all deserve it and our staff is always ready to give you that warm welcome. I am glad you liked our amenities in the rooms especially the tempurpedic mattresses. we can't wait to see you again!
Best Wishes, Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Recently spent 5 nights at this hotel. The room was a self contained suite with adequate kitchen facilities to prepare and reheat meals. But the local restaurant scene was so good, eating dinner out was the way to go. But the suite offered a great breakfast solution. The room was spacious, compared to NYC, amenities spotless and well serviced daily. The room was well appointed with modern fittings. The king size bed was quality and really comfortable. The Du Pont Circle area was clean, safe, friendly and classy. A great place to stay and easily accessible by the Metro subway. Likewise, the great city of Washington is easily accessed. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobH2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hello RobH2210,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we know spending 5 nights away from your home will require a comfortable place and we thrive to providing that place for our guests. I am very happy you liked your accommodation and all the amenities we have in the rooms, especially the full kitchenette that gave you the opportunity to cook your own meals.
We thank you again for staying with us, and we shall see you soon on your next visit to Washington DC.
Sincerely, Simon Attagba, Front Offfice Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Each night when we walked (or wheeled) up the outside ramp way and into "our" snazzy Art Deco lobby (which also offers a choice of a ramp or a few steps to get to the elevator), we were greeted w/ a sincere "Welcome Home" (nice touch).
All the staff are helpful & courteous. And, the apt. bld. has an excellent security policy in place (visitors had to ck.in at desk and be approved by us by phone before staff would use a card to allow them to operate the elevator (it took a card to have access to the stairs as well...NOT inconvenient, rather a wonderful safety feature)!
Very dog-friendly establishment and there's a small yet convenient dog-park just 1 block down on same street (take a right out the front door).
Kitchen fully stocked....stove, dishware including pots & pans, tableware, microwave, Keurig w/ caf/decaf/teas etc.. Dish rack, towels & dish soap all provided.
Nice set up for guests in wheelchairs too since the cabinet under kitch. sink opens & lifts to accommodate (just ask, the bellman will show you all the nifty tricks to make things easily accessible). The bathroom had good accessibility also: functional sink set-up, roll-in shower, transfer chair and strong grab bars (would recommend more towel hooks & racks though).
We had a nice, reasonably quiet street-side corner room w/ a cute kitchen nook w/ table & chairs we used for brkfst each morning where we gazed upon the mostly young professionals going about their business strolling along the colorful tree-lined streets. The Dupont Circle neighborhoods are fun & active (lots of good places to eat) and autumn in D.C. is spectacular. BTW, if you like a nice long walk, Georgetown is do-able....frnt. desk will map it out for you, and G.Twn. is a fun place to hang out w/ nice shops & good restaurants.
The Tempur-Pedic mattress allowed for a great nights sleep & thick curtains helped block the morning sun nicely....However, on that note: Those heavy curtains are a BEAR to adjust by hand and would be VERY difficult for a shorter more fragile guest and must be nearly impossible for your wheelchair bound guests! Couldn't you reconfigure some type of pull chord set-up to make it easier for all?
At the very least, I'm hoping you will consider making a change to ease curtain usage in your ADA accessible rooms.
And now for the only major CON: Parking....ugh! You'll have to pay the nearly $40.00/nite Valet Pkg. fee since the D.C. Dept. of Public Works are very aggressive about their street cleaning esp. Spring & Summer until Oct.31st...Even reading the signs can still be misleading...they may say move off 'this' street on 'this' day at say 9:30a.m., then, you may arrive at 9:25 a.m. and can only stand there & watch your car being towed away to some unknown locale and will have to hang around waiting for the big tow truck to come bk and tell ya where to find it (with the~$150 fines attached!?!). Aaarrggghhh!!! Seems most unfair that no handicapped parking is available in this area what so ever!
Long story short: The Carlyle is officially our new home when in the D.C. /MD./ VA area...for sure!
Thanks guys for everything....we'll be back soon ;-))

Room Tip: No bad rooms available ;-))
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Maggie M,
We thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, your descriptions are just perfect for our hotel, as a guest with accessibility, we want you to be as independent as possible moving in and out from your room to the lobby without any assistance. The kitchenette in your room is made so that, on your wheelchair, you can get access to everything you will need to prepare your meals and eat with comfort.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, we know we will see you again next time you are back in Washington DC.
Best Wishes, Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We recently enjoyed 5 nights at this hotel. We got a fantastic deal via expedia, perhaps that is the reason we had a view of the car park, but won't complain as we did get a great price compared to other hotels in DC. Previously we had stayed in Georgetown, but the price was double to this hotel.
Location is great - walking distance to Dupont Circle metro, plenty of bars & restaurants located nearby. Area is very safe with lots of embassies & lovely houses in the area. We did notice quite a few homeless in the area, but they were harmless, unlike other cities, where you can be constantly hassled.
The room was quite large, with a kitchenette which came in handy as we were able to prepare our own breakfast. There is a Safeway less than a 5 min walk for supplies. I enjoyed having the keurig coffee machine with daily replenished pods - great for my morning coffee. Though did take me a few goes to work it out properly!
I do agree with others that the furnishings & rooms look a little tired, however they are very clean & well maintained.
We did find the room a little warm overnight & there was no way to regulate the temp, however there were windows that we could open. We spoke to front desk & were advised that other guests had complained that it was cold so the temp had been turned up.
My partner said that the bed was one of the most comfortable he had slept in.
Front desk staff were pleasant & helpful. We were able to use the hotels laptop to print off our boarding passes to their printer, which was handy. They provided maps & were helpful with directions etc.
There are coin operated laundry facilities in the basement which came in handy, especially after travelling for almost 2 weeks & only doing hand washing.
2 days in a row we did have issues with the key cards to our room. They worked in the lift, however wouldn't allow us to open the room door. After the keys were fixed a 2nd time, it was ok after that. I did like the fact that a key card is needed to access the lift, good security!
I would recommend the Carlyle Suites & if we are ever back in DC would definitely stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneKaren67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear MelbourneKaren67,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are so glad that you found our front desk staff very pleasant and helpful. I would like to apologize about the lock issue you had and I am happy we were able to quickly take care of it. We also want to thank you for mentioning our coin laundry facility which is a great help for most long term travelers with family members. I know we will see again so please let me know when you are coming back so that I can greet you!
Best Regards! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#78 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Property: Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing