We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #53 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Friendly”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Would certainly go back again. The area is convenient for a quick metro into the capital and lots of restaurants nearby. The staff were very friendly and the free upgrade was a pleasant surprise. The room was spotless and good value for money. The beds were very comfortable. Décor is a bit quirky but we liked it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Good afternoon Peter C,
Thank you so much for mentioning the spotless of our rooms. The house ladies do an incredible job to keep these rooms spotless. Your words are just a huge encouragement for them to continue doing the great work.
We shall see you soon on your next trip to Washington DC!
Sincerest Regards! Simon Attagba Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,185
    615
    149
    48
    38
See reviews for
594
516
123
467
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Riley loved it. This hotel is top of the line in every aspect. The staff was awesome to us and our 210 pound English Mastiff. The rooms were very big, modern looking, and had a separate fully functioning kitchen. The hotel is a few blocks from DuPont Circle and tons of good restuarants. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLOR20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear ReneGarza,
We are so glad to hear that Riley loved our hotel, most pets do. We were so amazed to see how lovely Riley was and could not stop watching him going in and out from the Hotel.
We know, we will see you soon!
Best Regards! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Entering the Carlyle Suites is like walking straight into a film noir movie set. The piped-in muzak, the full-length mirrors, dim lighting, extravagant marble accents, and shady bartender are all present and waiting for you to solve a murder-mystery.

After twenty minutes in line after complaining customer after complaining customer, however, you start to notice other factors. The heat, the smell, the crumbling wallpapers. Just to snap out of it as you are called up to the front desk.

Now it's important here to explain why this review is so low. And there are only two reasons:

1) Parking bait-and-switch
When I booked this hotel, the website said that there was free parking. As a matter of fact, hotwire.com still says "free parking" for this hotel. This played a big role in my booking of this hotel. However, when I arrived, I was told that there was nearly a $40 parking fee, and that the hotel was valet only. For a three-night stay, that's over $120 difference - plus tips. I was told that they had informed the website of the issue, but given that it's still up, I'm starting to think that they have no problem driving customers towards their hotel with services that they don't actually provide.

2) Room bait-and-switch
Although I had a guaranteed room, I was told that they were "sold out" of that room. The only option was to pay them more to upgrade to a slightly better room. This is a problem, especially when you prepay for your hotel. In order to avoid this, shouldn't they just avoid giving away your room in the first place? I travel a lot - just read my reviews - and this is completely unheard of for any hotel. The young lady at the front desk was very insistent until another gentleman walked up, "he can explain it better," and told me that it wasn't a problem.

The literal misdirection, utter lack of interest in resolving resolvable issues, and the attempted and successful extortion of money are the reasons this hotel gets the lowest ranking from me.

So there you have it. The hotel is cool, and the room itself was surprisingly clean and renovated. Showers were nice, and a kitchenette was a nice bonus. Again, lots of potential. However, operational mismanagement and lack of training and professionalism are the areas of improvement for this property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Albert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Mr. Albert L,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. For us, it’s a big tool to work on our weaknesses and improve our customer service level to better serve you in the future.
We shared your review with our team, and we learned from it. We would like you to give us a second chance. Please contact me directly at sattagba@carlylesuites.com next time you plan to come back to Washington, DC so I can personally make your reservation.
Again, thank you for choosing the Carlyle Suites hotel for your accommodation in Washington, DC.

Sincerely! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
341 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Placement is good for a trip to Washington, wifi works fine, service is good.
Actually had 2 stays at the hotel for 2 and 2 nights.
Large and good bed, nice room size.
Fairly quiet area.
Had room 706 and 806 I think.
Not so much to complain about, soundproofing could have been better - but it was acceptable.

Room Tip: High floors I guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svharkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear svharkes,
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Please let us know in advance when you are coming back to Washington, DC so we can make sure to reserve one of your favorite rooms (706, 806) for you.
Thank you so much for choosing the Carlyle Suites Hotel, and see you soon!

Sincerely! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is an old renovated building. It might have been efficiency apartments before. Some of the updates were a little cheesy (i.e. gray paint and shower half glass wall). The area was okay for walking (with a buddy of course), it was in more of a residential area. Plenty of cabs passing by, near the bus line and rental bikes a couple of blocks away. Our room had a small kitchen area with dishes. There was a Grocery and a 7-Eleven within walking distance (best brownies ever). The hotel had a bar and restaurant but it was pricey, so we didnt partake. There was also a nice patio area. The hotel was quiet and the sofa bed wasnt too bad.

Negatives: they didnt advise there was a $50 per person per night security deposit. I had2rooms and 5 people so they tied up $3000 on my credit cards for a bill that was under 2000 total!They also acted weird about towels. In a room for 3 they would only leave 2 towel sets and the only wayto get more, you had to bring the dirty ones down to the front desk. To get ice you had to go to the front desk. And lastly the shower had a half glass wall so water gor everywhere!!

Room Tip: Dont get the rooms on the very end of the hall. The a/c vent is blocked by a wall so the room staysa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyaEl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Good morning Ms. Tonya,

I would like to first say, I deeply personally apologize that we did not give you and your guests our very best service during your stay! It was a great pleasure to be one of the host hotel during the Delta Sigma Theta Sorority 51st National Convention for this last week here in DC. We certainly strive to do our very best with every guest and we have shared your experience with both our Front Office & Housekeeping teams.

Your comments are very valuable and will help us to continuously improve. THANK YOU again for taking the time to give us your candid feedback. The next time you visit Washington DC please feel free to contact me or Scott Dawson our Regional Managing Director directly to make your reservation and give us another opportunity to show you a WOW experience.

My sincerest regards, David Trezevant, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We were a party of 3 male adults, travelling to watch NFL and MLB sports fixtures for the weekend. We chose not to hire a car, instead walking everywhere. The centre of Du Pont circle was nice and close yet far enough for the hotel to be situated in a pleasant, quiet location. We walked into the City in order to eat & see the sights and found this very easy but then we do enjoy walking. The hotel staff were very nice, helpful and accommodating. One criticism, our 'suite' had one toilet. Fine for a couple but 3 male adults would have benefitted from an additional wc. The bathroom was small but we did not live in there. The main room was spacious, the kitchen area more than adequate.
Being the location of my favourite NFL team, it is highly likely that I will return. This hotel would definitely be my first choice again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quiet_n_Warm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Good afternoon Quiet_n_Warm,
Thank you so much for your five stars review, and the mention of our friendly staff.
We are happy you enjoyed your sports time in Washington, DC.
We look forward to seeing soon!
Best Regards! Simon Attagba, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Carlyle is a very nice place for 3 stars. I would think it was more than 3 stars. Very nice and clean. Staff is very friendly. David one of the Managers was very helpful in giving us details of restaurants and places to go around town. Staff was also very helpful with parking although it was very limited. This hotel is in walking distance to the Big Bus Tour stop and walking distance to restaurants. Check in/out was very fast and easy. We booked a double queen bed room because it was cheaper, but they kindly upgraded us for free to the King Bed suite. It had a tempur-pedic bed! I loved our suite, it was perfect! This was definitely a great price for what we received. You'd think it would be more expensive for the quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
3,044 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#58 of 141 in Washington DC
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,611 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#77 of 141 in Washington DC
1,815 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#37 of 141 in Washington DC
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Property: Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing