We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Started out badly, but ended on a high note!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #52 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Started out badly, but ended on a high note!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at the Carlyle Suites this month. As a frequent traveler, and frequent reviewer, I often write and read reviews here at Trip Advisor. This time, I was in a hurry and read reviews quickly but didn't bother to read individual reviews by visitors to this hotel. I was surprised to find out, after an 8 hour drive to get there, that they had no more parking. I found out that parking was on a first come/first serve basis. We arrived in the evening and found out there was no parking. I went in and told them I would have to cancel. A surly employee at the front desk notified me that I had a non-refundable hotel (which I had paid in full on Hotels.com). After a few minutes of arguing about wether or not I could really cancel my reservation, the manager Simon came over and said he would solve the problem. He moved his car and gave us his parking space! The second issue was that the king bed we had paid for was no longer available and they only had doubles. After another cranky moment (remember, I had been in a car for 8 hours) along came Simon and waving his magic wand, we got our king bed. After these two incidents, our stay was wonderful. The hotel is really wonderful. Our room was large and light and well appointed. The neighborhood was great and the hotel is a short walk to many restaurants and a nearby metro stop. I would highly recommend staying here. I know that I will go back.

Room Tip: We had a large room with a kitchenette which is great if you're going to eat some meals in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sympatica_RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,201
    624
    152
    49
    38
See reviews for
597
525
127
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a great treat to stay at such a warm inviting hotel with such great style. The rooms are clean and inviting as well as the staff. The staff is extremely helpful and a great place to look forward to returning due to being such a pleasure.

Room Tip: The rooms were a great value great family vacation, equipped with a kitchen and family friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyMemories27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Very good hotel with very kind workers especially front desk men david and abbu. Very clean and great service with a affordable price. Placing a smile on your face when entering the hotel. They give u passes to a gym up the street that is outstanding. Very professional. A overall great hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratboy124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We found this dog friendly hotel through Bringfido.com which gave it a high review rating. This hotel is very clean and the staff is extremely friendly. They welcome medium to small sized dogs, most of the rooms on our floor seemed to have a dog yet it was very quiet. I even had room service clean the room while our dog was in the room; I left my cell phone number in case of any problems and surprisingly received no call. They have a great restaurant which also is in charge of the buffet breakfast and was the best that I have ever tasted. This hotel is right within walking distance to the DuPont Circle and the DuPont Historical District. We will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel a few years ago while visiting DC and was very pleased with the room and the wonderful staff. We went again over the 4th of July holiday and had another wonderful stay. The room was kept very nice (the kitchen is a plus), the staff was all very friendly, and it is very close to many restaurants and the subway. Only downfall is the parking, but you will find that anywhere in DC.....we was lucky to find street parking and did not have to park in a garage for a fee.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkey125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

First off, just to get it out there, the hotel itself was very nice overall.

Room:

The room was clean and well lit. Small kitchenette with fridge and sink was a nice touch, esp with kids. Bed was very roomy (king), and couch rolled out into a bed. TV did not work upon arrival, but it was fixed promptly. Some lights did not work, but we were out on the town mainly, so it was not a huge deal for us. Bathroom was very modern, and clean. Service desk staff was attentive to our needs.

Area:

Proximity was somewhat close to the city. It's located in the heart of a residential area. You can drive or take a train (or bus) to the city. I don't recommend walking in the summer (it was about 95-98 degrees when we visited). It's not a long walk, but in the heat.......eh. It's very close (or just about within) Dupont Circle, which is very cool esp early evening! There are parks for the kids, etc, as well as the usual restaurants and bars.

Parking:

Good luck!! Parking was horrendous! The hotel offers a handful of parking spots (8-10 MAYBE, shared with another building). Good luck with street parking too. Spent a few hours driving around the area to find a spot. Finally found one here or there, but between the meters and tickets, etc....again- good luck! Once you get a good spot, you may want to leave your vehicle there for the duration of your trip. Seriously.

Since I am not rating DC and only the hotel itself, this should suffice. Bottom line, hotel was very nice for the $$ - just need to think about your parking strategy before planning your trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GBPlusPCRepair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Excellent stay in DC, very friendly hotel staff, room was large enough to fit family of 4, kitchenette had everything including a Keurig coffee machine with K-cups, bathroom was well appointed and featured a small vanity/dressing area. Last but not least, the TempurPedic mattress was heavenly! Hotel is in a wonderful area, within walking distance to Metro, stores and restaurants. Definitely best hotel choice in Dupont Circle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livehappy365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
3,089 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#59 of 141 in Washington DC
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,632 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
2,155 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#77 of 141 in Washington DC
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Property: Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing