We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Place!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #51 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
“The Perfect Place!!!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed for six nights. The hotel is pristine and our room was spacious and well appointed. This boutique hotel is located in a beautiful section of Dupont Circle, set amidst beautiful homes and embassies. The hotel is conveniently located to the Metro, many great local restaurants, bakeries, drug stores, etc.The staff was extremely accommodating, granting our every wish. Returning after a full day of sight-seeing was like coming home as the staff greeted us on our return. The front desk even provided complimentary bottled water as we headed out in the morning. We've traveled around the world and stayed at 5-star hotels, and our stay at Carlyle Suites is at the top of our list.

Room Tip: We traveled with our adult daughter and son, so we selected the 2 double bed suite with sofa bed. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimRN78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
HELLO KimRN78 !! SIMPLY THANK YOU for choosing us for your "Home away from Home" !

Everyone of us from the housekeepers, engineers, reservations and the front of the house teams all wish you and your family the very best of summers this year!!! Our best of thoughts & wishes, David Trezevant, Resident Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,220
    630
    154
    50
    38
See reviews for
606
532
129
486
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Very good hotel Near Dupont Circle Had supper in the hotel's restaurant due to rain, very good food. Also laundry facilities in basement. The staff couldn't do too much for you. Room furnishings getting a little worn. Bath room is very small. Don't expect facilities of a big hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanapepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Good afternoon Hanapepe,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. As a "Senior Contributor" it was a pleasure to have you with us! We have shared your comments with all of our team members. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in DC! sincerely David Trezevant, Resident Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

If you would like to get away from the big, intimidating brand names for a while, check out the Carlyle Suites, in the heart of Dupont Circle-Embassy Row in Washington. It will take you back to the art deco days when the world was a little slower, the folks more civil, the surroundings as you want them. Not luxury, but clean, comfortable—great king-sized bed!—and combined with the amazing people, perfect for our three nights in town. Walks through this historic neighbourhood are lovely, with unexpected retail and restaurants that pop up all over the place around the Dupont Fountain. And the buffet breakfast at around $14 was over-the-top.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor at the back of the hotel. Just a courtyard view, but we hadn't expec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleDunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hello UncleDunc! I am so genuinely pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful time with us! Our team members work so hard to take care of each and every guest everyday! Thank you for sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community and we look forward to seeing you again!
Sincerely, David Trezevant, Resident Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights in Feb, 2013. Loved the size of the room, the awesome bed, and the eat-in area in the room! Was perfect for us with our newborn son! Just enough room! The kitchen was great and had everything we needed! Safeway was just around the corner - 5 minute walk. We had lunch or snacks in the restaurant a few times...great burgers and fries! The basement self-serve laundry was perfect since we were washing baby clothes daily! The staff was awesome! The room was clean and the bathroom was updated and very nice for the modest size!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Congratulations Amy on your newborn son ! ! !

It was a JOY to see the entire family every day! Thank you for choosing us during your vacation to Washington DC ! We all hope you have a great SUMMER & we look forward to seeing you again! Our best regards, David Trezevant, Resident Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

What a great stay we had at Carlyle Suites with my two kids (16 & 19yrs.). Thanks and kudos to front desk people Bernadette and Mediombo! I work for a major cruise company where customer service is the name of the game and this property has it down pat. From quick easy check-in, to advice about how to get around D.C. with the Metro, all delivered with a sincere smile - you guys were awesome. The bellmen were excellent, loading my car in the pouring rain ... and the bartenders, quick and pleasant. I saw a 3.5 star rating on the type of property this was so was expecting an older but decent room. Really surpried with our suite which seemed to have been recently renovated with great art deco furnishing. Personality + ... even the elevators were cool. View from numerous windows was gorgeous. Close to numerous great restaurants (favorite was Hanks' Oyster Bar); couldn't have asked for anything more. Thanks, and keep up the great work!

Room Tip: Top floor had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Good morning J C !! Simply WOW !! Thank you for sharing your kind words with the TripAdvisor community! Mediombo and Bernadette both send their BIG BON JOUR'S also !!!

Our sincerest regards, David Trezevant, Resident Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
2 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Squeaky clean gem in Dupont Circle. Art-deco décor, super comfortable beds, quiet spacious rooms, great little kitchen to boot. Incredible staff, super convenient bar and restaurant. Superb customer service to boot. Just loved this place!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Good morning Dkspector,

We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay with us! ! !
We hope you have a an incredible summer! Our best regards, The Carlyle Suites Hotel Family !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This property is situated on what is an otherwise residential street. We drove right by it when we first arrived. The property is from 1930's heyday and does have some character. In some senses, it is a little awkward because it is not quite historic, not quite luxury, not quite a business hotel...etc. It is pretty well situated and is close to the metro (clearly a selling point for the property). There is a nice bar and a passable brunch restaurant (not quite good). Our rooms were clean (but in an "older room clean" kind of way. The decor was nice and updated, but the structure itself was a bit dated (like with doorways with doors removed years ago). Our rooms had kitchenettes and a small make-up application area...but were not useful to us (I could see someone who wanted to stay in and cook liking this place).

The staff was friendly and nice. Not always helpful, but they tried, and we got all our needs met in the end. I would call the service at this property "quite good" for the price.

The biggest problem of this property (for me) -- and the reason I will never stay here again -- is the parking, Like I'd mentioned, I first drove right by the property...one reason was that there is nothing at all at the front of the property that would separate it from a residential townhouse. This means there was no valet and no obvious parking. There is a 15-minute side-of-the-street slice of curb, but even that was full (so I never noticed it).

There is a non-descript alley that leads to a small parking area in the back that has a number of spots at strange angles (trying to maximize the space). The parking is complimentary which I am guessing is abnormal for the area. However, if I am staying at a hotel (whether business or pleasure) and spending $250+ a night, I do not expect to have to troll the area looking for street parking (and then having to wake up before I get a ticket in the morning). It was raining hard for most of my stay, and it was miserable trying to find parking each time I got back to the hotel. There is a public parking garage close by, but they charge $43 to park overnight (if you pick your car up after 9:00AM). I couldn't do that just out of principal.

Over the few days I was here, I ended up eating at several other area hotels. Each sported a modern feel and had a valet (or other parking), and a clear drop-off area for patrons. Thinking about my return to the Carlyle and my inevitable search for area parking soured my trip. I am not used to looking at all the other hotels in the areas and feeling like I would be more comfortable at them.

I don't want to sound too negative. If you are not driving and will take the metro everywhere and are looking exactly for a 3-star hotel with kitchenette, this one may be for you. It sounds like this is a very convenient property for the metro. And again, the staff was nice and friendly, and operationally it was fine (not luxury, but fine). I would not give this property a fail in any category except in parking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cool_Capybara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Good morning Cool_Capybara, My deepest apologies that we simply did not give you our very best of service. Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We have come up with a parking solution with attendants at the front door 24 hrs a day! This will take effect by the end of this month! When you return to Washington DC we hope that you give us another opportunity to show you our best.

Please feel free to contact me directly at 202-735-8915 or at dtrezevant@carlylesuites.com so I may make all of your arrangements personally! My sincere regards, David Trezevant, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#27 of 141 in Washington DC
3,124 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#60 of 141 in Washington DC
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,650 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
2,163 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#76 of 141 in Washington DC
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Property: Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing