We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Awesome Customer Service / Fabulous Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #38 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Customer Service / Fabulous Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

What a great stay we had at Carlyle Suites with my two kids (16 & 19yrs.). Thanks and kudos to front desk people Bernadette and Mediombo! I work for a major cruise company where customer service is the name of the game and this property has it down pat. From quick easy check-in, to advice about how to get around D.C. with the Metro, all delivered with a sincere smile - you guys were awesome. The bellmen were excellent, loading my car in the pouring rain ... and the bartenders, quick and pleasant. I saw a 3.5 star rating on the type of property this was so was expecting an older but decent room. Really surpried with our suite which seemed to have been recently renovated with great art deco furnishing. Personality + ... even the elevators were cool. View from numerous windows was gorgeous. Close to numerous great restaurants (favorite was Hanks' Oyster Bar); couldn't have asked for anything more. Thanks, and keep up the great work!

Room Tip: Top floor had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Good morning J C !! Simply WOW !! Thank you for sharing your kind words with the TripAdvisor community! Mediombo and Bernadette both send their BIG BON JOUR'S also !!!

Our sincerest regards, David Trezevant, Resident Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,072
    536
    133
    38
    31
See reviews for
537
451
109
411
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Squeaky clean gem in Dupont Circle. Art-deco décor, super comfortable beds, quiet spacious rooms, great little kitchen to boot. Incredible staff, super convenient bar and restaurant. Superb customer service to boot. Just loved this place!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dkspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Good morning Dkspector,

We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay with us! ! !
We hope you have a an incredible summer! Our best regards, The Carlyle Suites Hotel Family !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This property is situated on what is an otherwise residential street. We drove right by it when we first arrived. The property is from 1930's heyday and does have some character. In some senses, it is a little awkward because it is not quite historic, not quite luxury, not quite a business hotel...etc. It is pretty well situated and is close to the metro (clearly a selling point for the property). There is a nice bar and a passable brunch restaurant (not quite good). Our rooms were clean (but in an "older room clean" kind of way. The decor was nice and updated, but the structure itself was a bit dated (like with doorways with doors removed years ago). Our rooms had kitchenettes and a small make-up application area...but were not useful to us (I could see someone who wanted to stay in and cook liking this place).

The staff was friendly and nice. Not always helpful, but they tried, and we got all our needs met in the end. I would call the service at this property "quite good" for the price.

The biggest problem of this property (for me) -- and the reason I will never stay here again -- is the parking, Like I'd mentioned, I first drove right by the property...one reason was that there is nothing at all at the front of the property that would separate it from a residential townhouse. This means there was no valet and no obvious parking. There is a 15-minute side-of-the-street slice of curb, but even that was full (so I never noticed it).

There is a non-descript alley that leads to a small parking area in the back that has a number of spots at strange angles (trying to maximize the space). The parking is complimentary which I am guessing is abnormal for the area. However, if I am staying at a hotel (whether business or pleasure) and spending $250+ a night, I do not expect to have to troll the area looking for street parking (and then having to wake up before I get a ticket in the morning). It was raining hard for most of my stay, and it was miserable trying to find parking each time I got back to the hotel. There is a public parking garage close by, but they charge $43 to park overnight (if you pick your car up after 9:00AM). I couldn't do that just out of principal.

Over the few days I was here, I ended up eating at several other area hotels. Each sported a modern feel and had a valet (or other parking), and a clear drop-off area for patrons. Thinking about my return to the Carlyle and my inevitable search for area parking soured my trip. I am not used to looking at all the other hotels in the areas and feeling like I would be more comfortable at them.

I don't want to sound too negative. If you are not driving and will take the metro everywhere and are looking exactly for a 3-star hotel with kitchenette, this one may be for you. It sounds like this is a very convenient property for the metro. And again, the staff was nice and friendly, and operationally it was fine (not luxury, but fine). I would not give this property a fail in any category except in parking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cool_Capybara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Good morning Cool_Capybara, My deepest apologies that we simply did not give you our very best of service. Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We have come up with a parking solution with attendants at the front door 24 hrs a day! This will take effect by the end of this month! When you return to Washington DC we hope that you give us another opportunity to show you our best.

Please feel free to contact me directly at 202-735-8915 or at dtrezevant@carlylesuites.com so I may make all of your arrangements personally! My sincere regards, David Trezevant, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akld
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Really nice Hotel in a great location with an easy walk to Dupont Circle & restaurants.
Nice Art deco furnishings & atmosphere with a very well laid out room , very comfortable bed and with a good size kitchenette.
Very good price compared to others in the area. I would definitely stay here again.
Parking is "first come first served" so we had to park on the street but this was free on the weekend anyway.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fussytripper99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Fussytripper99, It was a pleasure to have you with us! We shared all of your comments with each of our team members. Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community! We hope you have a great summer ! ! ! David Trezevant, Resident Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardyville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Carlyle Suites Hotel was a recommendation of the 9:30 Club and we are so glad it was! The hotel was spotless and the staff was friendly and accommodating without being overbearing. Their bar was superb! The bartender made our drinks from scratch with NO POWDERED MIX! Woohoo! We ordered appetizers in the bar as well, which were fresh, beautifully prepared and delicious. The location of the hotel was perfect...we parked our car and walked everywhere we needed to go the entire weekend. The Carlyle is located in a beautiful and safe part of the city, with bars and restaurants galore.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sayersman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Sayersman !! We LOVE our friends at the 9:30 Club! THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing your experience with us! Mouhcine is truly one of our best bartenders! We are so glad you had such a great time!! We look forward to seeing you again the next time your are in Washington DC. Our best regards, David Trezevant, Resident Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I really like this hotel. It is within a short walk to the Dupont Circle Metro. The surrounding neighborhood is charming. The hotel has interesting art deco features. The room was clean, had comfortable beds, and a little kitchenette. It suited our needs just perfectly. The room was a little on the small side, but it did not bother us at all since we were only there to sleep. They have a very friendly staff with helpful amenities as an on-site laundry and bar. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Good morning Patricia, We are thrilled that you had such a great stay with us! DuPont Circle is simply a great neighborhood to be in! We thank you for choosing us! Sincerely, the Carlyle Suites Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has everything ... Friendly & helpful staff; large rooms with separate dressing area, sofa/sleeper sitting area; large tv that swivels from seating area to bedroom area; a kitchenette w/ Keurig coffee maker, dishware, fridge, microwave, and stovetop; and it close to restaurants, metro, and grocery store.

Our group of 5 stayed here very comfortably for 7 days! It has a cool Gatsby style in exterior and lobby with all modern in room style.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calgal405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hello calgal405 ! ! !

Our entire team were humbled by your kind words in your review! THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH! It is not often we have a chance to serve such a seasoned traveler. We look forward to seeing you next time you are Washington DC - from all of US at the Carlyle Suites Hotel - our deepest regards, David Trezevant, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#30 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,445 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,099 reviews
The George, a Kimpton Hotel
#13 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,935 reviews
Upper Northwest
The Donovan, a Kimpton Hotel
The Donovan, a Kimpton Hotel
#27 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel

Property: The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, The Carlyle Hotel in Washington DC offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. The Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing