We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to the reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for $5 More
Ranked #43 of 138 Hotels in Washington DC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lived up to the reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We booked the Carlyle based largely on the overwhelming reviews here, and it did not disappoint. The hospitality is phenomenal. We rolled in very late and were worried about finding parking at 1 am. Chris went out of his way to direct my husband to their sister hotel for their parking garage, and Jordan at that hotel helped my husband park and sent him back to Carlyle in a cab. That was a huge relief after a long day of traveling!

Our room had a sitting area with sofa bed and two chairs and a small kitchen. The dressing area outside the bathroom was a nice touch. The windows and extra room were wonderful! While some might not like the proximity to the other residences nearby (we could see directly into the neighbor's apartment), our children thought it was cool.

The neighborhood was fabulous! The walk to Dupont Circle was filled with beautiful buildings, many serving as embassies. Had we stayed closer to Dupont, we probably would not have ventured out into the neighborhood as much, and we would have missed these lovely streets. The walk to the metro was not bad at all.

David greeted us in the evenings with "Welcome home," and he even went out of his way to show us around one evening. All in all, our stay was fabulous. From parking our car in the middle of the night to fetching a cab our morning of departure, the staff went out of their way to help and make our stay comfortable. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcgmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Good afternoon Pcgmom! We are humbled by all of your kind words! From Jordan, Mr Chris, our housekeepers and all of us we simply strive to take care of you and every guest just like you are one of our family members. Thank you for the full five circles and we would love to have you stay with us again! Our sincerest regards, David Trezevant, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Carlyle is located in a great part of town to allow you a local experience with good access to transportation. The staff was friendly and helpful. However, this amenties of the Carlyle were not the same you´d find in a well-regarded hotel chain. As a business traveller my room did not have a desk from which I could work from and printing needed to be emailed to the front desk. Also, the bar/ restaurant were nothing special. I believe this is not an ideal business hotel but better for travellers. I would still recommend it but would seek another place next time I come for business.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arbol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Arbol1 - Thank you for being a part of the TripAdvisor community. We're sorry that we didn't suit your needs, but we do review all of your comments in an effort to constantly improve our guest experience so thank you for sharing your experience with us! Best Wishes David Trezevant, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I came to the Carlyle for a five day vacation trip from Florida. Having researched hotels that had kitchenettes and sitting areas, this one seemed moderately priced for the DC area. It turned out to be a real "gem!" The neighborhood is very residential and safe, comprised of architecturally beautiful old mansions many of which have been converted to foreign Embassies. You are within walking distance of many restaurants, stores and bars in this Dupont Circle neighborhood. Adams Morgan is within walking distance. You can purchase a Metro pass (we bought a seven day as it allowed unlimited travel and was overall cheaper than using a daily one) and travel around to all the sights; the Metro stop is about a five minute walk and even Arlington Cemetary is easily accessible by subway.
Our room was 136 on the first floor rear. It had a small kitchenette that was fully equipped (sink, stove, small refrigerator, microwave, dishes, etc) in a separate room with a small table and chairs just outside it. In the larger room area was a king sized bed with nightstands, a full sofa with coffee table, desk, flat screen TV and cabinet (this was the minus as there were only these three small drawers for folded clothes). There is a small area off the bathroom with a built-in vanity and stool. The bathroom itself is small with an oversized shower.When selecting a room, keep in mind that the building is surrounded by a small parking lot bordered by residences and the rooms have very large windows ( a miracle! A hotel where you can open the windows rather than use air conditioning all the time in warmer weather!) so it is not as "private" as those on a high floor. Also some rooms have regular windows while some have those opaque glass squares that are not actually windows at all. So ask questions before you book if that matters.
There is a small restaurant area inside the bar if you are too tired to go outside exploring. Have a drink with bartender Tag (pronounced "Taj") and watch the TV news after a long day touring.
Do not waste your time going elsewhere for breakfast. You will pay $15 for al a carte French toast! There is a daily breakfast hot/cold buffet for $14.95 that includes literally everything and is in a charming large room decorated to resemble an outdoor rustic country courtyard. A special Sunday brunch occurs each week at a higher cost. You can pick up your free copy of the Washington Post there to begin your day.
There is very limited seating in the small lobby but if you are arriving early or leaving past check in/out, the staff will check your luggage for you so you can begin exploring the neighborhood if they cannot accommodate your early check in or late check out. Give a "shout" for me to Resident Manager David C.J. Trezevant who is a real asset to the entire hotel staff. He will be greeting you with a "Welcome Home' every time you return for the evening. If you are not looking for absolute elegance at a daily rate of probably over $600/night, you will not find a better place to stay guaranteed. It is clean, modern, reasonably priced for the DC area, has excellent service and staff and is in a great location. It is also designed for handicapped access.

Room Tip: Rooms are not all the same. State your preferences to the staff when you book. Keep in mind the nume...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavlonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello Pavlonia ! We are very fortunate to be situated in the historic DuPont Circle neighborhood with the metro station just 3 1/2 blocks! room 136 is one of our grand view king rooms and they are one of our most requested types! Taj at the bar and the TWIST team from breakfast wanted say hello and they can't wait until you come back! Our deepest regards, All of us here in the Carlyle Suites family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Nice hotel. Very clean in one of D.C.'s best neighborhoods. No riffraff to be seen. Stayed in Room 734 which was very quiet. Kind of pricey. Metro is an easy walk as well as some restaurants. Parking was my biggest concern but lucked out that a space opened up exactly when we needed one. There are no handicapped spots and only 20 spaces total. Staff was great. Large hunk of hair left in the shower was a negative. Would stay again for a lower price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NyWillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello NyWillie, Thank you sharing your experience with us! I apologize we did not meet our normal high standards of service during your stay. We have shared your comments with our team. When you return to DC we would love the opportunity to serve you again. please contact me directly to make your reservation. Best regards, David Trezevant, Resident Manager 202.234.3200 ext 4901
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I came to stay at the Carlyle Hotel for the President's annual Easter Egg Roll, which I was covering for my media company. I brought my two kids and hubby, and we ended up having a delightful time in this establishment. Even though we arrived when the weather was terrible, the hotel staff greeted us warmly. Cleanliness is key, and the Carlyle is meticulous about their upkeep. We also found the architecture and design, which is a striking balance between traditional and modern, to be tasteful and pleasing to the eye. The location is also ideal. We were in walking distance of all the locations that mattered, i.e., the White House and Dupont Circle. We will definitely be staying here again because it is cozy, clean, and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FisherTravels4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Good afternoon FisherTravels4, Thank you for your four full circles. Easter is a always a beautiful time here in Washington DC. Thank you for choosing us & we look forward to seeing you again!
Our warm regards, David Trezevant, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My family and I spent Easter Weekend at the Carlyle Suites for a stay-cation. We live in DC not too far from the Carlyle but it was a blast being in a different neighborhood and exploring it for 3 solid days. The hotel staff is probably the friendliest I've come across and they went out of their way to welcome us and to give the kids Easter chocolates. Our room was large with a kitchenette and huge closet. We really enjoyed our time at this hotel and have plans to come back again for another mini-escape in our hometown!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DistrictFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello DistrictFamily, We were genuinely thank you for choosing us! We look forward to "Welcoming You Home" ... again! It was simply our pleasure to have you with us. David Trezevant, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Arrived quite late after being royally screwed by Air France all day. Room was excellent, a real haven after a dreadful long day travelling. Two double beds and really comfortable, with windows that actually open. We really enjoyed he facilities in the room , particularly the small kitchenette and the little breakfast table.
Location of the hotel is brilliant for sightseeing and getting to some of Washington's better and more affordable restaurants. Try the Italian at the end of the street.
We stayed for three nights and cannot fault anything about his hotel. If we ever find ourselves back in DC it will be our first choice.
Well done.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santiagowalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Good evening Santiagowalking, It was a pleasure to have you with us! Thank you for choosing us! It was an honor to have you with us! Our best regards, David Trezevant, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 138 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,232 reviews
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 138 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The George, a Kimpton Hotel
#13 of 138 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,807 reviews
U Street Corridor
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#31 of 138 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 4,749 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 138 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, The Carlyle Hotel in Washington DC offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. The Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing