We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Windsor Inn(Washington DC)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
The Embassy Inn(Washington DC)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Washington Hilton(Washington DC)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Embassy Row Hotel(Washington DC)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kimpton Rouge Hotel(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tabard Inn(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kimpton Topaz Hotel(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (2,263)
Filter reviews
2,263 results
Traveler rating
1,319
674
171
56
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,319
674
171
56
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdupont circledog parkmemory foamnew hampshiresmall kitchenettekeurig coffee makeru streetcorner roomnice neighborhoodwine hourstreet parkingsafe neighborhoodfew blocksfront desk staffembassy rowsitting areabeds were very comfortable
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,314 - 1,319 of 2,263 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My family and I spent Easter Weekend at the Carlyle Suites for a stay-cation. We live in DC not too far from the Carlyle but it was a blast being in a different neighborhood and exploring it for 3 solid days. The hotel staff is probably the friendliest I've come across and they went out of their way to welcome us and to give the kids Easter chocolates. Our room was large with a kitchenette and huge closet. We really enjoyed our time at this hotel and have plans to come back again for another mini-escape in our hometown!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DistrictFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Hello DistrictFamily, We were genuinely thank you for choosing us! We look forward to "Welcoming You Home" ... again! It was simply our pleasure to have you with us. David Trezevant, Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Arrived quite late after being royally screwed by Air France all day. Room was excellent, a real haven after a dreadful long day travelling. Two double beds and really comfortable, with windows that actually open. We really enjoyed he facilities in the room , particularly the small kitchenette and the little breakfast table.
Location of the hotel is brilliant for sightseeing and getting to some of Washington's better and more affordable restaurants. Try the Italian at the end of the street.
We stayed for three nights and cannot fault anything about his hotel. If we ever find ourselves back in DC it will be our first choice.
Well done.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank santiagowalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Good evening Santiagowalking, It was a pleasure to have you with us! Thank you for choosing us! It was an honor to have you with us! Our best regards, David Trezevant, Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had none of the problems that other guests described. The room was large, overlooking rooftops of Dupont Circle. Super comfortable bed and bedding, small but modern bathroom, and a kitchenette that I never used. The location is perfect---five blocks or so from the shops and restaurants and Metro at Dupont Circle. The hotel restaurant is disappointing, but wonderful restaurants are very close by. I consider it an excellent value for DC.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking New Hampshire Avenue have the view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinglazed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Tinglazed, Thank you for being a big part of the TripAdvisor community. Thank you for sharing your experience & for the four full circles. We look forward to your next visit! Best regards, David Trezevant, Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent four days at the hotel in early April 2013 and had a room with two queen beds and a sofa bed which was surprisingly difficult to find in a DC hotel. As I was traveling with two other family members that didn't want to sleep together it worked really well. The tempurpedic (sp?) mattresses were comfortable. Our suite had a small kitchen that had a microwave and a fridge, along with dishes and a Keurig coffee maker, so would be good for a longer stay. The bathroom was tiny but efficient - and there was a sort of adjacent dressing area where we put on makeup while someone else was using the bathroom.
The first challenge was the hotel parking which is very limited, and not really designed for large vehicles. We were met at the front door by a gentlemen who turned out to be the hotel manager who assisted us in unloading and finding a place. We were fortunate to get a parking place and left our car there for our entire stay, using public transit to get around the city. As the parking was free, it was a nice perk and made up for the challenge in getting into the lot.
The hotel staff were all very welcoming and eager to serve us. We always got a welcome home when we came into the hotel which is a nice touch. We were able to get some recommendations about restaurants and tours from the front desk staff which all worked out well. We only ate in the hotel for the last day breakfast, which was a shame because it was a good buffet that was reasonably priced ($12?).
All in all it was a good stay and I would return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cdntraveller060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Hello Cdntraveller060 from the Carlyle Suites Hotel! It was simply our pleasure to have all of you stay with us! We are delighted that you, a seasoned traveler had a wonderful stay with us! Thank you for your glowing review and look forward to meeting all of you again real soon! Sincerely, David Trezevant Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

After having to cancel my previous hotel reservation we ended up needing a hotel fast. This hotel had a great kitchenette and was convenient to the metro, sightseeing tours, people watching in DuPont circle, lots of food options. The hotel restaurant left us a little disappointed as they were out of crab cakes but was otherwise good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErinS486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtrezevant, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Good afternoon Erin S, We are glad that you found us even at the last minute! Thank you for sharing your experience and we will see you the next time your are in DC ! Our best wishes, the Carlyle Suites Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews