We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best bed, bathroom and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #50 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best bed, bathroom and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

OK, I have to start with the memory foam bed. Loved it! Would love to get one for my bedroom. I thought the bathroom was very clean and again, loved the shower. We had a corner suite so it was very light and bright. The staff was very helpful!! We were there for the Inauguration and the price, although inflated, was still reasonable. Also loved the neighborhood but bring comfortable shoes because you can walk to the metro, shopping, U Street and monuments but it's quite a walk.
Would definitely stay here again. I think breakfast was included in our stay. Oh, and free parking!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeyBz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
ZoeyBz - Thank you for taking the time to post!! Please don't wait until the next Inauguration to visit us again....the Cherry Blossoms will be bursting soon...come back to see us soon! Team Carlyle Suites!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,164
    596
    145
    46
    37
See reviews for
582
504
119
453
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I traveled with my two children over Spring Break to DC. We have never been so selecting a hotel was based on price and location. What a wonderful surprise this hotel was! Loved everything about it. The staff was incredible; genuinely welcoming and very helpful. I would like to give a big "shout out" to Abou Kamalia. After a long day of sightseeing we all were parched for Diet Coke. I wanted a 12 pack to put in the fridge in the room but the little shops we passed on the way back "home" only had single bottles. When I inquired where might I get a 12 pack of Coke Abou INSISTED on going to the store to get it for us!! The store had to be a few blocks away but he arrived at our door within 20 minutes with our Cokes!! The room was clean, beds very comfortable, and the kitchenette was perfect for our needs. We had a lovely time. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sparkmol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Sparkmol - Abou knows that when you NEED a DietbCoke, you really NEED a Diet Coke! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your first visit to DC and we appreciate you taking the time to post. Hope to see you again soon! JoAnn & Abou, Service Specialist-Extrodinaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a very reasonably priced hotel in Washington DC. Overall, it was a very good experience. My only complaint would be that the room was a bit dark. The room overall was spacious, with a kitchen. The staff was friendly. Overall it was a good no-frills place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Booklust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Booklust- Thanks for the post! On your your next visit, speak to your reservationist about the location of your room, they will be able to direct you to one of our front-facing Classic Doubles or our corner Grande Double Doubles where the light is spectacular! Hope to see you again soon! JoAnn Dana, Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Illinois
Level Contributor
309 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at the Carlyle Suites for five nights. There is a lot of very positive attributes about this property. The staff is very friendly and courteous; the beds are memory foam and super comfortable along with the pillows and bedding; we had a corner room that was a nice size with a small fridge, microwave, Keurig, two burners, small sink and dining table; the hotel is spotless; the neighborhood is lovely near Embassies, restaurants and shopping. I did not give the hotel a 5 rating for the following reasons: First, they offer a prepaid breakfast deal which we did. However, not only is the breakfast basically what you would get at other moderately priced hotels for free but often they ran out of hot food or other items and did not replenish the items. So, you are paying about $12 a person for some cold cereal, yogurt and a danish. Given the overall quality of the hotel, this should not be the case. Also, the bathroom was really small and the shower was only half shielded by glass so water got all over the floor. Although, the magnified mirror was appreciated. Further, they say that they are only 2.5 blocks from the Metro. Not the case. It is a conservative 4 blocks. While this doesn't sound like a big deal, after walking 8-10 miles (yes there's an App for that!) sightseeing, you are exhausted and the extra blocks at up. Walking it in a downpour was also pleasant. Lastly, while the Metro is wonderful, from the Dupont Circle station you have to change trains to get to just about anywhere. And, if you afraid of heights, the escalator down to the trains at Dupont Circle is heart stopping. Just something to be aware of. Overall, this is a very nice hotel and warrants consideration in any trip to D.C.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoGrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post! We hope to see you again in DC again soon! Best wishes, JoAnn Dana, Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed there for a week.

The beds were comfortable, and I was upgraded for a very low price! It's a few minutes walk from Resturants, the subway, and in the middle of a beautiful neighborhood to just walk around!

The concierge was DEVINE!!!! Every time I walked in he said "welcome home" which made me smile every time! He explained how the subway works (I'm from mn and have never been on one)! He had endless recommendations for food, sites and transport and never seemed bothered by my constant questions!

This is truly an amazing hotel!! If you're in Washington, D.C., GO HERE!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mercy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Mercy S - we ABSOLUTELY loved your full-5-circle review and congratulate you on mastering the METRO! It can be a bit daunting if you're not used to travelling underground but, once you get the hang of it, it's the best way to travel around our city! Thank you for your post and for encouraging others to COME AND SEE US! Best wishes, JoAnn, David & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, IL
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is a nice hotel in a quiet location not too far from DuPont Circle. It is an older place that has been nicely refurbished. The really great thing about it is that the rooms have a small kitchenette with a sink, frig, microwave and dishes. The rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable. The only drawback was when other guests would close the doors to their rooms it boomed. The restaurant had good food too and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodasart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear FoodAsArt - (what a delicious name!) Thank you for sharing your comments - we'll look forward to seeing you again! Best wishes - Team Carlyle Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Booked the Carlyle Suites based on many positive TripAdvisor reviews, and we were not disappointed. The hotel is in a lovely area of town, a 5 minute walk from the Dupont Circle Metro stop and close to a grocery store and other conveniences. The folks at the front desk couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. The building is a converted Art Deco apartment building from the 1930s, I'm guessing, but the rooms have been recently renovated and are spotless, particularly the bathroom and kitchenette areas. We had a 4-person room - 2 double beds and a pull out couch; the room was a decent size but not huge. We did not try the restaurant because we self-catered our breakfasts. On our last day they stored our luggage after check out while we roamed DC, and everything was in order when we returned to claim our bags. My daughter didn't love the memory-foam mattresses. The hotel was a great value for a family of tourists visiting DC for 5 days.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the parking lot. Not a great view, but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CambridgeMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Cabridge Mike - Thank you for taking the time to post! We're certainly glad to know that we met your needs. Smart move on in-room breakfasts....our in-room kitchens are are perfect for that and with kids it makes for a smoother start to the day! Good luck with the storm up there today! JoAnn & Team Carlyle Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,924 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#77 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Property: Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing