We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$217
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Omni Shoreham Hotel(Washington DC)
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)
$359
$323
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Washington Court Hotel(Washington DC)
$409
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown(Washington DC)
$383
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)
$404
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$293
$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$399
$389
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$362
$332
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,274)
Filter reviews
2,274 results
Traveler rating
1,327
676
172
56
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,327
676
172
56
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdupont circledog parkmemory foamnew hampshiresmall kitchenettekeurig coffee makeru streetcorner roomnice neighborhoodwine hourstreet parkingsafe neighborhoodfew blocksfront desk staffembassy rowsitting areabeds were very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
1,355 - 1,360 of 2,274 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

I feel bad writing this review, as the staff was very attentive (aside from the waitress in the breakfast room, who was very rude).
The room has a good size, and had a kitchen, which is always a plus. But the lobby, the restaurant, lounge and the rooms are terribly decorated. This place needs a makeover ASAP! The whole place just looks sad... The room is dark, unless you open the courtains, which can be uncomfortable if you are in your PJs. Location is good, but not perfect. If I ever visit DC again I would probably choose to be in Penn Quarter, where are the best restaurants

1  Thank MaGiannini
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

And we feel badly reading it....We're so sorry that we didn't meet your expectations! Washington DC is a great city, and while we would love to have you back, the Penn Quarter is also a great neighborhood to visit! All the best in your future travels - JoAnn & Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here as a couple with one of us working and out at meetings all day and other dependent on working at a desk. At first we were disappointed with the lack of light and views at the back of the hotel but we quickly grew to appreciate the working space and the very helpful staff. And it was very quiet - not something to be taken for granted in Washington. We are great fans of the Dupont Circle area and so the location of the Carlyle Suites was very good for us. The stay-at-home member of the couple appreciated the good-value breakfasts in the hotel restaurant and we both liked visiting neighborhood restaurants for dinner. WiFi was fine but it is annoying to have to keep logging in from the hotel website every time. The hotel arranged a very good car service to Dulles Airport - at $75 it was well worth it for the comfort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up to get light and views.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DalkeyIsland30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Hi Dalkey Island - Thank you for taking the time to post. We hope that you think of us again when you're on our side of the pond! Best Wishes - Team Carlyle Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at the Carlyle Suites for 18 days while in business in DC. Free internet, free parking and an incredibly friendly staff are hard to beat. Dante, Simon and Abou at the front desk are like family! My room had a kitchenette so I was able to save lots o money by not having to eat out but the hotel has a chic and fun bar and restaurant. I will definitely come back and will certainly recommend to my colleagues. Great value, great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back (facing the alley) that way you never have to hear the sporadic traffic on New Hampshire Ave.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CristinaMittermeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Cristina - COME HOME SOON!! We miss you....Dante, Abou & Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We (my wife, daughter, and myself) had the privilege to stay here for two nights while visiting family for a wedding. Being a person accustomed to large chain hotels, it was absolutely refreshing to have such refined accommodations for our stay. The staff is friendly and helpful, the building is classic and gorgeous, and the community (Dupont Circle) is aesthetic and inviting. I have to make reference to the hotel's manager, David, for his dedication to the hotel's culture of truly magnificent hospitality towards its guests. Well done. If you get the chance to meet David during your stay, be sure to say hello, as he is a really nice guy and genuinely cares about your experience. Oh, and if you have anything you need to accomplish during your stay, steer clear of the beds as they are extremely comfortable and will prevent you from ever leaving.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colby_Challenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Colby Challenger - I assure you that the privilege was all ours! Thank you for taking the time to post and we're sooooo sorry if you couldn't get out of bed....on the other hand, what are vacations for??!!

For those of you trying to track down David, I assure you that you can't miss his ever-present "WELCOM HOME" in our lobby! Best wishes, JoAnn and David's Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights on a long holiday weekend. We got a king-bed room.

The hotel is about a 12-15 minute walk from the Dupont Circle subway stop on a pleasant street. The lobby and public spaces were all rather clean and kept to the theme of the hotel which was a 1930s vibe (or 40s or 20s or something)...

The room we got was on the 2nd floor and had a sort of non-window made of non-transparent glass blocks that made the room extremely dark. I normally don't care about a view (especially in a hotel with only 8 floors), but this situation made the room like a cave. We switched rooms.

The second room we got was on the 5th floor and had a proper window. While the view was into an airshaft of sorts, it was still an improvement. If you want "outside-facing" rooms, you need to book a different type of room than we got (again, a king bed room).

The room comes with a kitchenette which would be nice for some guests I imagine. It had pots and pans etc., but no cutlery or glasses. The bathroom was nicely appointed, but cold (the shower is euro-style with a half-door exposing the showering person to the drafts). The bed was very comfortable.

Everyone working at the hotel was courteous, including the housekeepers who had to deal with the fact that they use the same elevators as the guests (and thus had a lot of waiting around to do as they switched between floors).

I'd recommend this hotel if you don't want to spend a lot of money and want a nice, clean, basic hotel that's not overly spartan.

Room Tip: You'll need to request an outside facing room; otherwise the room will be on the drearier side. Not sure all types of rooms have outside-facing options.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelMfromNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Hi Michael, thanks for posting a room tip! Our Grand Double/Doubles and our Grand Kings with Sofa Beds are all outside facing. Most of our Classic Doubles and Grand Double Doubles with Sofa Beds are as well....All of our rooms offer kitchenettes, complete with pots, pans, cutlery, plates, glasses and coffee mugs for our Keurig Coffee Makers (with complimentary K Cups). Our Tempurpedic beds are always very popular and provide an excellent night's sleep and are standard in each room. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews